The official Sam Reid/Daniel Currie Memorial Eker Thread
[COLOR="#FF0000"][B]Western Bulldogs:[/B][/COLOR] [COLOR="#0000CD"][B]We exist to win premierships[/B][/COLOR]Comment
Re: Ekers
Ron Deiulio was another Carlton player from their 90's era who knocked up playing in the twos but could not consistently stay in the ones. If there was a league between VFL and AFL standard he would have dominated."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
Can I nominate Michael Klinger? Or do I have to wait if goes to Tassie for a year to ice the cake?Rocket Science: the epitaph for the Beveridge era - whenever it ends - reading 'Here lies a team that could beat anyone on its day, but seldom did when it mattered most'. 15/7/2023Comment
[URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]
"It's not about the destination - it's about the trip."Comment
Footnote re "Rhino" O. Jim Main's Encyclopedia of AFL Footballers notes that "his chunky thighs and charging style prompted the nickname "Rhino". Who would have thought![URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]
I don't think either of these BFL country footy legends played that many reserve games and in the case of Best I don't think he played in the VFL at all. I think Best might have done part of a pre-season for Geelong. Massive man
Oliver's AFL career was pretty short. 3 seasons.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
No, Stephen Oliver, got homesick for Castlemaine after a brief stint in the big smoke. Ron Best preferred being a big fish in the Bendigo League. I don't think he even went down to the big smoke. He piggybacked on his football prowess to become a National Party Upper House rep. Damian Drum has since replaced him.[URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]