Re: The bolter and the slider of the 2010 Season

Keannelly is a huge gain for them but Mumford is only just a player and the Swans overpaid drastically for him, as a first ruck I I dont reckon he adds much value. Kennedy and McGlynn give them two more 'Swan type' midfielders, McGlynn especially should play the SCG well and Bradshaw will add a bit to them.
    You'd be interested to know that the Swans are absolutely stoked that they got Mumford to the club. Their coaching staff think he has the raw tools to perfectly compliment their stoppage-laden game plan and are very confident he will become a vitally important part of their ruck and stoppage set-up for many years to come.

I mentioned it on a thread in the 'AFL Talk' board, but I believe Brisbane will slide out of the 8 this season. It's difficult enough to get elite talent from far and wide to gel immediately (just ask Man City) let alone when so many nomads of decidedly average talent levels arrive at a club. Because of their complete inability to improve their glaring weaknesses in the midfield, Fevola will be lucky to replace Bradshaw's quality output of recent seasons. Their awfully thin midfield rotations stood out like dog's balls during the 2 finals they played and their best midfielders are not getting any younger - they are also slow as treacle in the middle and sadly lack both gut-runners and line-breakers. It all starts in the middle these days and I'm afraid they are a mile behind the deep midfield rotations of the condenders.

Originally posted by gogriff
      I know what you are saying, there is a stat that goes something like every year since the final 8 was introduced one the sides who missed finals one year makes the top 4 the next year.
      That stat finished this year.

Their awfully thin midfield rotations stood out like dog's balls during the 2 finals they played and their best midfielders are not getting any younger - they are also slow as treacle in the middle and sadly lack both gut-runners and line-breakers. It all starts in the middle these days and I'm afraid they are a mile behind the deep midfield rotations of the condenders.
        Yep, we gave their midfield a complete battering in the finals and abit for some poor finishing we would have beaten them by 15 goals.

Black and Power have been fantastic players for their team, but with both getting on in years one can't see them performing as well next year as they have in the past. Rich was shown up against us in the final and one would think he would have to drop a fair amount of bulk next year to improve his running ability to improve his game.

They will get a boost in the ruck division with the return of Charman and Leuenberger, but will this negate the development of Mitch Clark who played out of his skin in the second half of the 09 season? And with both Brown & Fevola up forward you can't really see them being able to add one of these talls to the mix.

I too can't see them being an improver and it will be interesting to watch for any fall-out when their losses start to mount.

• Dazza
          • Mar 2009

Originally posted by always right
          I think we'll see the most pronounced divide between the top eight and bottom eight this year. The fight for the top four is going to be a ripper.
          In order;

Top Eight:
          Bulldogs
          Geelong
          Saints
          Adelaide
          Collingwood
          Hawks
          Essendon
          Brisbane

Bottom Eight:
          Westcoast
          Carlton
          Sydney
          North Melbourne
          Fremantle
          Port Power
          Melbourne
          Richmond
          Sounds about right though I can't see Essendon making it into the 8 next year but I can't pick who will take their spot maybe Sydney/West Coast/North Melbourne

• mjp

I am with DR in that I think Sydney will be the bolter.

Jetta and Dennis-Lane are ready to go – both will kick goals and create match-up problems. O’Loughlin retiring helps – White and Bradshaw will form a strong forward tandem. Any qualms about their speed midfield can be pushed aside – they will have Malceski, Kenneally and Shaw all providing that ball carrying option from half-back…I agree that Jolly will be missed but Mumford will be adequate in the square with Seaby able to provide 20 goals resting up forward. Between the two of them, they will cover Jolly – the team will be one ‘runner’ short most weeks but given the

I also think that Brisbane will fall completely apart. I admire what Voss has done – made tough calls on players who he doesn’t think are up to it – but they have cut away at the fabric of the place by moving on Bradshaw and McDonald, let alone cutting loose Harding (injured) and Hooper (various issues)…players don’t like that sort of thing. And then add in someone who is the antithesis of team – I mean, if Hooper is such a bad egg who the player leadership cant control, then what for a second makes them think they can cope with Fevola? If things start going bad, I think they could go historically bad up in Brisbane.

• bringbackVFLpark

Tough to pick at this time of the year – so much of it depends on injuries (who would have picked Hawthorn to be the slider of 2009?) and how kind the draw is to clubs (bolters having easier draws with fewer games against the Top 4-6 of the previous year).

Potential sliders
              - Hard to see St Kilda sliding out of the top four, but repeating 20 wins could be a challenge given everything that could go right for them did in 2009, well ... up until the last 15 minutes of the GF anyway
              - Carlton won’t kick enough goals, won’t make the finals ... much to the delight of footy fans everywhere

Bolters
              - Adelaide to go from strength to strength, with their good young side and Neil Craig
              - WCE will climb with wins at home, but hard to see them winning enough games away from home (and against the good sides in Perth) to sneak into the eight

Not a snowballs hope in hell of Sydney making the eight. That midfield is well past it's use buy date and the loss of Jolly is signficant. Mumford is very young and extremely raw,the backline has lost a lot of experience. Lewis Roberts Thompson [Blimey] Craig Bolton good player but has one hell of a burden in the back half. Sydney at least have finally used the draft and done quite well by all reports

• mjp

Originally posted by Remi Moses
                  Not a snowballs hope in hell of Sydney making the eight.
                  Betcha they do! What odds are you giving me???

I've thought about it some more and after a longer look at their list I've got the Swans as finalists too.

That's really only because 8 teams have make it though-basically I can see at least 8 lists that are worse than theirs.

I'd happily play Sydney in a final - they used to beat up on us but we're too strong and polished for them now.

Having Bazza on our side wouldn't hurt either. If they make the eight, they'll be out early.

The bolter appears to me to be usually the result of innovative coaching i.e. Hawthorn's cluster, the Saints defensive structure the Swans negating, defensive side. My money is on North Melbourne, they were crippled by injuries in 2009, and have been drafting well - new coach out to make his mark early.

Originally posted by dogs_r_barking
                          The bolter appears to me to be usually the result of innovative coaching i.e. Hawthorn's cluster, the Saints defensive structure the Swans negating, defensive side. My money is on North Melbourne, they were crippled by injuries in 2009, and have been drafting well - new coach out to make his mark early.
                          Good point - it'll be interesting to see what Scott has in his bag of tricks.

Originally posted by dogs_r_barking
                            There was news yesterday that Petrie would be settled in as a key forward rather than as the Mr Fix it he has been in the last few seasons. They are stacked for good talls so if they have a good season with injuries they could be in for a vastly better season.

• alwaysadog

Originally posted by ErnieSigley
                              Seaby is crap compared to Jolly.
                              Ernie, Ernie, Ernie, I know you wrote this some time ago and I waited for someone to pull you up, but how can you expect us to accept a senior member of this board advancing such crap in the place of argument.

So treat us with some respect and give us your reasons. I assume you have some.
                              [I]I believe there's nothing on this earth that we own. All we do is look after it for our children - Terry Wheeler[/I]

Originally posted by alwaysadog
                                Ernie, Ernie, Ernie, I know you wrote this some time ago and I waited for someone to pull you up, but how can you expect us to accept a senior member of this board advancing such crap in the place of argument.

So treat us with some respect and give us your reasons. I assume you have some.
                                No one pulled me up cos its probably true, though MJP does like Seaby.
                                The simple logic is Jolly was unlucky not to be named All Australian whereas Seaby wasn't a regular at WC. Jolly went for pick 14 and Seaby for pick 22 when the Swans lately have been paying overs and selling under.

Seaby might do better at the Swans but he isn't in Jolly's league.