Re: Game Day - R1 Western Bulldogs vs Collingwood

Originally posted by EJ Smith
    That is the whole issue

"Not going" when it is your turn is undefendable and many clubs would dispense with a player who dared to do it on two occasions.
    A lot of guys who have/are playing a lot of AFL have a habit of doing this though, and it's certainly an aspect of Hill's game that will improve with more strength and confidence in his bodies ability to withstand the hard hitting contests.

I do agree with your sentiments, although not entirely.

• Nuggety Back Pocket
      • Oct 2009

Originally posted by Mantis
      Having finally watched the game here are my thoughts:

* We were better than I expected us to be. Going on some of the comments around the traps I thought we stunk it up big time. We actually showed some good signs for large parts of the game.

* We have to be able to stop run-ons. The 5 goals conceeded at the end of the 1st qtr & another 3 before 3/4 time killed us. We are getting in a habit of busting a nut to get back into the contest only to see it washed away with 5 minutes of sloppy footy. We did the same in the QF against Geelong last year.

* Our conversion rate was poor and it cost us dearly. On the Gilbee miss I thought it was poor play by Higgins in the lead up. He either had to pass the ball straight away or kick the goal himself. By the time he passed it off to Gilbs the clear area around had been closed forcing Gilbs to kick under pressure.

* Our defenders were off their game. They must have been crook because to a man they are better than that.

* Cross has to tag. He is courageous as they come and works as hard as anyone else, but in these 'offensive roles' he just doesn't hurt the opposition with the ball. He needs to become our Cameron Ling.

* Our mid-sized forwards (bar Murf) were poor to very poor. Aker, Gia, Hahn, Johnson, Higgins & Hill didn't do enough and need to extract the digit.

-----

It's always a shit feeling to lose a 'big' game, but there was enough in that game to suggest we are in for another good year. We battled hard for large parts of the game, but let ourseleves down with some poor finishing and silly errors which we normally don't make.

We can't let ourselves fall into the trap of playing catch-up footy. We are able to pile on the pressure when we are behind and can run down any team, but you waste alot of energy doing so and are then liable to a lapse in concentration in which a good team can pile on quick goals. (which has happened on more than one occassion)

The Richmond game shapes up as a walk in the park (hope the players don't treat it that way), but we are than faced with 4 games in a row against other potential finalists which we need to be 'up' for. In these games we need to show the defensive pressure we are becoming renowned for, for extended periods rather than just in spurts.
      I agree with most of these comments in particular your reference to both the back and forward lines. As most good sides do it might be time to inject some new blood into the side. Players like Roughead, Moles and perhaps Wood need to be seriously looked at otherwise some of our regulars get into a comfort zone knowing their positions are not in danger. The loss of hard bodied players like Morris and Ward left us vulnerable with a lack of determination and endeavour by some of our highly skilled players. Playing Collingwood first up was not a bad thing as it showed if we are 15-20% off the boil then good sides will crunch us every time.

Looks like Moles will be playing his first game along with the return of Morris.

Eagleton is right but will go through the VFL first.

I think Addison and Everitt will receive the chop.

Originally posted by G-Mo77
          Looks like Moles will be playing his first game along with the return of Morris.

Eagleton is right but will go through the VFL first.

I think Addison and Everitt will receive the chop.
          It could pan out like that. Bit rough on Everitt, but that's the way it goes.

Originally posted by dfa4pm
            It could pan out like that. Bit rough on Everitt, but that's the way it goes.
            Does it?

Everitt works his butt off all pre-season to ensure he plays in rd 1 and then on the back of a pretty solid game he gets dropped. I reckon he would be a little peeved.

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
              Hill gets a lot of stick for what is a very laconic playing style.

He's only young and his defensive efforts are improving. Currently he offers more in this department than Johnson, Akermanis, Murphy, Higgins and Giansiracusa.
              Sockeye's 20 game rule.

Originally posted by AndrewP6
                He's listed as 186cm, not sure this makes him a tall...
                Tall in the sense that he can reach tall for a mark and his body seems to react like a tall thin in that he sometimes seems to struggle at ground level and doesn't always make physical contact a priority. I don't think he plays like a small or mid. The best ones are well balanced and very good below the knees. He loses contact and doesn't always neutralise a situation with physical presence. Yet we know he can be an excellent touch player. To me, it's a bit hit and miss with him...get the ball and we look good; don't get the ball and the opposition can set up. The missing element is what position is he putting himself in when he doesn't get the ball. Can he recover quickly enough and is he in a position to effect a neutral situation? I actually think some of his defensive efforts have been better this year. I'm sure he would be coached in these areas.

Does it?

Everitt works his butt off all pre-season to ensure he plays in rd 1 and then on the back of a pretty solid game he gets dropped. I reckon he would be a little peeved.
                  Well, yeah, sometimes that is the way it goes. But I agree with you, it is rough on Everitt if that happens. I too thought (and have mentioned elsewhere, including my preview) that he did alright . I do think they'll put Moles in (and Morris for DFA is a lock), so somebody's gotta make way.

Who do you think Mantis? I must admit I forgot about Hill when I responded to that first email. Other than him and Andrejs, I don't know who else it could be.

• Before I Die
                    • Jul 2008

Does it?

In which case he would need to harden up. But he hasn't yet been dropped and this is your take on his response if he was, which may be very different to his actual response if the axe falls.

Rocket hinted at the need to bring in more mid-field run, the question for the match committee is what can we afford to have less of in exchange. Whether it is Everitt, Hill or Hahn or whoever, if a player gets dropped they need to go back to the twos and and earn their spot again or be next in line if injuries occur. If the match committee starts taking into account possible feelings of hurt or disappointment then I think we would be in trouble.
                    The Angels have the phone box. [SIZE="2"]Don't blink![/SIZE]