The one thing stopping us winning the flag?

• Sockeye Salmon

Re: The one thing stopping us winning the flag?

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
    Yup, Dimma got 2 weeks for striking Rayden Tallis.
    Was that not the game where Daniel Southern got 2 weeks for wrestling?

Originally posted by Chops
      I remember in the last round game in 1997 Hawthorn played the same way. We had a number of players that flew the flag. Hawthorn had nothing to lose yet we copped the key suspensions for the finals. Could say Southern being outted(not sure if Dimma did too) and Kolynuik rubbed out a few weeks earlier, cost us the premiership that year cos we did fly the flag.
      The chief protagonist for the hawks that day is the curent coach of NM - no surprises there. Even the big fish got ugly that day and conceded two 50m penalties against Wynd to start the match.

Whilst the AFL had us in the gun in 1997 for Libba evading sanctions and a few other misdemeanours and royally screwed us in the aftermath of that R22 match, it is proof that flying the flag and retaliating is rather a stupid thing to do, even more so in today's hyper-sensitive climate.

• BulldogBelle

It was very disappointing to see only Stack to assist Hall when attacked by Norf. We have had poor retaliatory aggression that goes back to players like Rohan Smith and his ilk who never seemed to stick up for a team mate who was under fire. Its piss poor, shameful.

Players should be coached on how to defend their mates who have been decked or are in a melee. They should be able to demonstrate their abhorrence at an opposition's detestable play without breaking the rules. The players have to be taught to take the right option and be trained in it.

One way would be to get to the scene of the crime and shout loudly in the face of the perpetrator.
        Chesting the perpetrator would also work. But they should at least rush to the scene. Surely the coaches should be able to think up some procedures.

I don't like seeing our champs get decked and the rats get away with it. I don't like the do nothing method.

Originally posted by James Cuming
          It was very disappointing to see only Stack to assist Hall when attacked by Norf. We have had poor retaliatory aggression that goes back to players like Rohan Smith and his ilk who never seemed to stick up for a team mate who was under fire. Its piss poor, shameful.

Players should be coached on how to defend their mates who have been decked or are in a melee. They should be able to demonstrate their abhorrence at an opposition's detestable play without breaking the rules. The players have to be taught to take the right option and be trained in it.

One way would be to get to the scene of the crime and shout loudly in the face of the perpetrator.
          Chesting the perpetrator would also work. But they should at least rush to the scene. Surely the coaches should be able to think up some procedures

I don't like seeing our champs get decked and the rats get away with it. I don't like the do nothing method.
          I would rather our players stick to the task at hand, then leave their man just to try to look macho. Times have changed and the best way to hurt the opposition is to kick a goal.

Originally posted by James Cuming
            Sorry, but that is garbage.

The ball was in play in OUR forward line. It might just be me, but I'd prefer they didn't stop mid play and run up the other end of the ground for some argy bargy.

More importantly, it wasn't just Stack. Once our players realised what was happening Cooney got involved, others assisted as Barry tried to run off the ground and big Brian ran frm full back to push his weight around. To say that Stack was the only one flying the flag is blatantly wrong. It was just that he was the only player in the vicinity when those Norf flogs first took Barry on.

It's easy to latch on to one thing like 'flying the flag' and say "yep, this is why we haven't won a flag". The real reason is harder to admit; we haven't been good enough, plain and simple.

Originally posted by comrade

The ball was in play in OUR forward line. It might just be me, but I'd prefer they didn't stop mid play and run up the other end of the ground for some argy bargy.

More importantly, it wasn't just Stack. Once our players realised what was happening Cooney got involved, others assisted as Barry tried to run off the ground and big Brian ran frm full back to push his weight around. To say that Stack was the only one flying the flag is blatantly wrong. It was just that he was the only player in the vicinity when those Norf flogs first took Barry on.

It's easy to latch on to one thing like 'flying the flag' and say "yep, this is why we haven't won a flag". The real reason is harder to admit; we haven't been good enough, plain and simple.
              The ball was actually in their forward line.

Originally posted by Mantis
                The ball was actually in their forward line.
                Duh.

Of course, why would Bazza be at full back?

You could have just PM'd me so I could stealth edit my post and save me the embarrassment

The one thing stopping us from winning a flag is that we can't win a preliminary final.

Originally posted by Suz 32
                    The one thing stopping us from winning a flag is that we can't win a preliminary final.
                    Haha this. Absolutely.

We played North in a nothing game that we won by 1000 points. It's not like we have a cultural problem that stops us from winning winnable games, we just can't win the really tough ones at the business end, where no one bothers to 'fly the flag' because the on-the-ball action is plenty tough enough.

• Hotdog60

My thoughts on flying the flag is more like when Johnno gave Barnes a spray at the end of the game against Essendon in 2000, when you win of course.

Just to let the opposition know you won't take that kind of stuff, but like others have said this day and age you can't even the score otherwise you let the team down being rubbed out for a couple of weeks.

More importantly, it wasn't even Stack. Once our players realised what was happening Cooney got involved, others assisted as Barry tried to run off the ground and big Brian ran frm full back to push his weight around. To say that Stack was the only one flying the flag is blatantly wrong. It was just that he was the only player in the vicinity when those Norf flogs first took Barry on.

You made a mistake in your post Comrade. I fixed it for you. Being there does not necessarily constitute doing anything.

Duh.

Of course, why would Bazza be at full back?

You could have just PM'd me so I could stealth edit my post and save me the embarrassment
                        Where's the fun in that?

Originally posted by Hotdog60
                        My thoughts on flying the flag is more like when Johnno gave Barnes a spray at the end of the game against Essendon in 2000, when you win of course.
                        From a safe distance, also of course.

And really why does Bazza need help, he could take them all by himself.

• Ghost Dog
                            • May 2010

Originally posted by Dry Rot
                            I got into footy and the Dogs in 1998.

Our players can get decked, and no-one flies the flag. Who really helped Hall when North went birko this season?

Coon Dog was into it. Seem to remember Adam barging in and throwing some player on his head, then ending up with his head under another blokes crotch in some wierd twister event.

North off with the fairies in that game and the results spoke for themselves.

Watching Lake stream from full back to throw his weight around was enough for me. My love for the man grew that day.

As others have said, our problem is beating the best sides. We haven't been good enough, particularly last season, but I'm confident we can begin to turn that around.

• Ghost Dog
                                • May 2010

The one thing stopping us winning the flag? Money. Lack of it.
                                Clubs with deep pockets / better stadium arrangements and powerful backing win premierships more often. Footy departments need cash, pure and simple.

Western growth corridor is swelling, and the dogs day in the sun will come.