Re: Tom Liberatore and Mitch Wallis push for Dogs' debut

Please don't post rubbish.

When do I continually talk about our three prelims with pride. Your the one that brings up players that play well during the season and you don't rate them unless they play well against the other top teams then they are no good. As far as I am concerned, other than Ryan Griffen, Cal Ward, Ryan Hargrave and Gilbee in one final (Qualifying v Geelong), no one else has played to the standard required, maybe Lake. Anyway, its got to be a team performance and we haven't had the team with no injuries and a little luck to be able to get into the GF.

Show me one post where I have pride in mediocrity? That is a crap statement.
    Talk about crap posting. If you think Gilbee and Hargrave have been two of our best players (and ahead of Lake) in BIG finals, then I'm not even going to reply to any of your posts on the subject. You must be scratching your head at our 0-6 record. FFS!!

Can't you read, Gilbee played well in one final, and no they were not in any particluar order and Lake virtually lost us a spot in the GF with his stupid push of Riewoldt that changed the game. Last year Riewoldt kicked four on Lake after half time and thats what we lost by. Show me a game where Lake dominated in the finals agaisnt the so called non pretenders you talk about?
      Lake 2008 PF- the most dominate big final I can remember from a Bulldog player.

I've got nothing more to add, I think your view on the subject is as detached from reality as anyone I speak to- with the possible exception of an elderly relative who claims we've been the most successful team of the past 5 years. I've rebuked you numerous on the issue (including prior to last years finals), so I'll just ignore going forward.

Originally posted by mjp
        If making the prelim every year is accepting mediocrity then I accept it.
        But as you know, no team does every year, the cyclical nature of AFL means you're up for a time before the inevitable fall back down the ladder. Patting yourself on the back for having an up period and not achieving anything is accepting mediocrity.

I think Libba will play this week but not Wallis.

As do I

• Dazza
              • Mar 2009

Libba Snr was interviewed on triple m yesterday about Libba Jnr making his debut. Snr wasn't even sure if he was being selected.

Lake virtually lost us a spot in the GF with his stupid push of Riewoldt that changed the game.
                I'll never blame Lake for this - the blame can be laid solely at the ego of Shane McInerney for plucking this free kick out of his arse to involve himself in a big moment of the PF. Whilst they have been paid since, these frees were never paid before the Lake one - it was a wretched decision at the time and it has not aged any better.
                Last year Riewoldt kicked four on Lake after half time and thats what we lost by. Show me a game where Lake dominated in the finals agaisnt the so called non pretenders you talk about?
                I think you'll find Tommy-gun was playing on Riewoldt in the 3rd qtr when he cut loose (or more accurately got it on a platter from Hayes). IMO Lake has been our best finals performer outside of Griffen in the last 3 years. His games were massive in both the 2008 and 2009 PF's, and he wasn't half bad in the 2010 finals series on one leg and with a dodgy hip/knee.

I'll never blame Lake for this - the blame can be laid solely at the ego of Shane McInerney for plucking this free kick out of his arse to involve himself in a big moment of the PF. Whilst they have been paid since, these frees were never paid before the Lake one - it was a wretched decision at the time and it has not aged any better.

I think you'll find Tommy-gun was playing on Riewoldt in the 3rd qtr when he cut loose (or more accurately got it on a platter from Hayes). Reckon you're being a tad harsh on Lake - he has been our best finals performer outside of Griffen in the last 3 years IMO. His games were massive in both the 08 and 09 PF's.
                  Agree, I love Lake.

I was just trying to show that you can pick one or two moments in a game and turn that around and say the player is not good. Members and so called supporters love to pick on guys like Gia and Shaggy because they make a mistake in a game and judge the whole game on it. Often these guys are set a role to play by the coach but supporters want them all to be super stars. Many times I sit in the stand and hear the abuse towards both these guys after one silly mistake and i just shake my head. Its all a matter of perception.

• mjp

Originally posted by Greystache
                    But as you know, no team does every year, the cyclical nature of AFL means you're up for a time before the inevitable fall back down the ladder. Patting yourself on the back for having an up period and not achieving anything is accepting mediocrity.
                    Agreed, but I can't stand all the criticism of the side when we are playing in the second last week of the year. I remember too well (and it was not that long ago) not even wanting to check the score because I KNEW I would again be disappointed. At least when I read season previews at the moment I see us mentioned as potential premiers, not potential spooners...

The fall is inevitable? Well, maybe it is and maybe it isn't. If you recruit well, top up when necessary and have good coaching then you absolutely can contend year in, year out. I simply don't subscribe to the idea that you have to bottom out to climb the ladder...but you do have to make tough calls on players who are on the downside of their careers. Has our recruiting and willingness to make 'tough calls' been exemplary? Maybe not and that is my worry - but it is not a worry for 2011.

Originally posted by mjp
                      Agreed, but I can't stand all the criticism of the side when we are playing in the second last week of the year. I remember too well (and it was not that long ago) not even wanting to check the score because I KNEW I would again be disappointed. At least when I read season previews at the moment I see us mentioned as potential premiers, not potential spooners...

The fall is inevitable? Well, maybe it is and maybe it isn't. If you recruit well, top up when necessary and have good coaching then you absolutely can contend year in, year out. I simply don't subscribe to the idea that you have to bottom out to climb the ladder...but you do have to make tough calls on players who are on the downside of their careers. Has our recruiting and willingness to make 'tough calls' been exemplary? Maybe not and that is my worry - but it is not a worry for 2011.
                      Recruitment will be vital in the next few years as guys like Gia, Shaggy, Gilbee, Lake, Hall, Huddo, Hahn, are all either hitting 30 or over. Hopefully the three father sons and the others we have recruited this year can play at the level required to keep us as a contender in future years

When one of your primary roles in the team is providing defensive rebound (we have manipulated the match ups to give him the weakest forward) and you're bombing wildly then you have played poorly. Too many of our supposed senior players have proven they cannot handle the additional pressure top teams apply in big finals, we will never win a premiership (or even beat a good team at our current rate) until that changes. Hargrave, along with Johnson, Eagleton, Gilbee, Gia, and until last year Murphy are all/were senior players and all have poor finals records. Cooney has also never lifted for a final but I excuse him at this stage because he's never had a decent run with injury.

I'm talking about you as a supporter. You continually refer to our consolation finals win each year as proof certain players are proven finals players, you always exclude the fact they are poor against the actual contenders. You have spoken of the great pride you have in our 3 consecutive prelim finals, yet exclude the fact we're 0-6 against actual premiership contenders. That says to me you're happy with mediocrity- Just being there is good enough.

I don't want to accept that, and I don't want to accept players continually failing us when it matters most.
                        If you're that beat up about mediocrity mate, piss off.

I'm happier than my Richmond-supporting mates…

• Bumper Bulldogs
                          • Apr 2008

Guys it looks & feels like we are all ready for the footy to start!
                          BB.

Looking forward - Naughton, Darcy and JUH. It will be the envy of everyone.

• Ghost Dog
                            • May 2010

Originally posted by mjp

I think anyone that comes out with the accepting mediocrity line should pee off back to BF.

• Maddog37
                                • Nov 2010

If the old "culture" chestnut comes out I will fair dinkum spew up!