Re: Season over

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
    Um, yeah...that's worked really well for Melbourne.
    It seems to be working ok for the team that just annihilated us.

• Ghost Dog
      • May 2010

Originally posted by comrade
      It seems to be working ok for the team that just annihilated us.
      My good Comrade
      Do you honestly, HONESTLY believe that they were 123 points better than us in terms of player quality on the day?

In addition, are you about to give an endorsment to tanking?
      Yes or No?

Sitting in bed in San Francisco (have been traveling the US for 4 weeks) and am wondering what on earth has happened to my football team? Can we turn this around? Can we afford a major re-build? Personally I thought the signs were there against the Dons to suggest that a lack of hunger and modern game plan were lacking. I also believe that our lack of pace and drop in skill level is leaving us extremely exposed.

• Dry Rot

It's a funny old world. I reckoned we were rubbish from Round 1, but got shouted down here.

No surprise to me that our season is over - IIRC I even reckoned we weren't too good against the two Qld teams, despite the scores. The signs were clear and waiting to be revealed against quality opponents, but again shouted down here.

The game v Pies was telling - we were only in it for a while due their inaccuracy, and then they ran over us just like WCE.

Re the WCE game, I thought we'd get belted but not something like 19 goals to one in a bit over a quarter.

Dunno what the problems are or how to fix them, but I reckon it's a bit rich the way some here and on BF put it all at the feet of Eade. He wasn't out there playing in the last quarter on Sunday.

Originally posted by BILLY THE KID
            Eade has to go he has lost the players .With G.W.S coming in i would trade Higgins and try and get get one of their 16 year old picks .
            They get 5 and the will all be guns. Higgins is an injury or accident away from not playing get him out and at least get something while he still has currency STACK AND HILL have to go both a waste trade them for what every you can get.
            Play all the the kids that might make it and i would even offer up Lake he obviously does not respect the dogs with the shape he has turned up this year get something while we still can i'm a very disappointed life long doggies supporter enough is enough .
            WE NEED TO MAKE TOUGH DECISION SAKE THE COACH
            WHAT you are blaming Lake with the shape he has turned up in this year,bloody hell mate you have THREE MAJOR OPS.and not be managed well.and see what shape you would be in.And then you say Lake dos'nt respect the dogs.WHY because he could'nt get a good pre season in because of his injuries.that he played with last season and earnt AA Fullback. and your saying offer up Lake for trade while we still can.All this is DONT GET HURT LAKE we will have to trade you.LAKE HAS NO RESPECT so he wont play injured any more and hold the backline together.

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
              My good Comrade
              Do you honestly, HONESTLY believe that they were 123 points better than us in terms of player quality on the day?

In addition, are you about to give an endorsment to tanking?
              Yes or No?
              Maybe not 123 points, but they are now a better side because they have better players and are better coached.

If we are not going to make the finals I hope we can finish as low as possible.

Originally posted by chef
                Maybe not 123 points, but they are now a better side because they have better players and are better coached.

That is a very weak position to want the club to go down and certainly would be a disaster for memberships.

• Ghost Dog
                  • May 2010

Unbelievable

That is a very weak position to want the club to go down and certainly would be a disaster for memberships.
                    Could also be the difference in getting a Franklin or a Williams(yes I know it's a compromised draft).

• cinder

Plus, all the good draft picks go straight to GWS don't they? There would be absolutely no benefit. And finishing low would just mean even less members. People don't even sign up when we make the prelims!!

• BulldogBelle

Originally posted by cinder
                        Plus, all the good draft picks go straight to GWS don't they? There would be absolutely no benefit. And finishing low would just mean even less members. People don't even sign up when we make the prelims!!

GWS will have picks 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13 and 15 in the 2011 NAB AFL Draft.

So I'm assuming we would have to finish in the bottom 5 to get a pick int he top 10...

Tanking is stupid given the above and the fact that it will put us in an even worse position with less revenue from memberships and attendances.

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by Dog House
                          GWS will have picks 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13 and 15 in the 2011 NAB AFL Draft.

So I'm assuming we would have to finish in the bottom 5 to get a pick int he top 10...

Tanking is stupid given the above and the fact that it will put us in an even worse position with less revenue from memberships and attendances.
                          Who gets pick 1?
                          [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

• cinder

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
                            Who gets pick 1?
                            GC??

Originally posted by Dry Rot
                              No surprise to me that our season is over - IIRC I even reckoned we weren't too good against the two Qld teams, despite the scores. The signs were clear and waiting to be revealed against quality opponents, but again shouted down here.
                              I don't think our season is over, but have to agree with this -- my major concern was around the contested ball/clearance stats that we LOST against the GC, but was told in no uncertain terms by various posters that, because we won by 70 points, it's a meaningless stat and it was silly to criticise a team after a score like that (even though it was only against the Sunnybeach Moneygrubbers Under-12s).

Clearance stats may well be meaningless in a team with brilliant defenders or some magical forwardline, but in an even team like ours with very few superstar game-breakers, especially without an in-form Lake to basically cut 5-10 opposition goal scoring chances off every game and Hall to clunk a mark or Johnno and Aker to manufacture magical goals out of their butt, lose the clearance stats against a well-functioning team (and Essendon and WC this year are simply that, no more) and they'll run up a score.

• mjp

West Coast finished dead last in 2010 you know? They only won 4 games. And spent more money on their footy department than all but ONE other team (Pies). I am happy to credit Worsfold with the turnaround, but if you want to do that you also have to debit the failures of the last couple of years, the handling of the Cousins affair etc etc.

I have no doubt if we win only 4 games for the season that Eade will not be reappointed - Worsfold somehow survived that same scenario.