• Cyberdoggie

Re: Rookie Draft

Originally posted by Lantern
    Heya guys, sorry I missed the entire thing, stupid question, who did we pick up in the PSD?
    Fletcher Roberts

Of course they're hit and miss: that's why (in most cases, not all) they fell through to the Rookie Draft.

• Cyberdoggie

Here's an interesting fact for you all:

This year we have added 10 new players to the combined lists:

Clay Smith
        Michael Talia
        Daniel Pearce
        Tory Dickson
        Fletcher Roberts
        Lin Jong
        Tom Campbell
        Alex Greenwood
        Jack Redpath
        Mark Austin

What do they all have in common?

I believe they are all from Victoria.
        Not one interstate player, I'm sure that has happened in the past when less players were picked up each year but with so many rookies as well?

Also 3 of those players have played for the Bendigo Bombers, so you would attribute their selection to the influence of the senior coach and/or shannon grant's input.
        Austin trained with us so he may of also been under the coaches radar before hand, Smith was almost requested by the coach, and Talia was an auto selection pretty much.

My point is how much work has Dalrymple had to do?
        Sure he has to do the research but all these players have been under our noses or recommended by new coaching additions.

Not so much a criticism but an observation of our recruitment and perhaps recruiting network or lack of.

Originally posted by BornAScragger
          Of course they're hit and miss: that's why (in most cases, not all) they fell through to the Rookie Draft.
          Which is exactly what I said.

I just don't get excited about rookie selection and the constant talking up that goes with them.....shoot me.

• Axe Man

Originally posted by Cyberdoggie
            I believe they are all from Victoria.
            Austin is originally from SA but obviously has been in Victoria for a few years now.

• Ghost Dog
              • May 2010

Originally posted by BornAScragger
              Interesting article on the life of a rookie

No Fev, Bevan or Davis. Especially no Schofield in the west.

Does anyone have a full list of the psd and rookie drafts?

Originally posted by chef
                    Does anyone have a full list of the psd and rookie drafts?

• Dazza
                      • Mar 2009

Good luck to Boumann and Malcolm now. Their replacements sounds every bit as exciting as they were when they first got red out as bulldog recruits. But all seems good, as it always does at this stage, lets who makes it and who took up a space. Bring on the footy - extra especially because the cricket is shit lately.
                      I've quite enjoyed the cricket lately.

• BulldogBelle

Is Redpath any relation to Ian (Bill's mate).

Good to see another Ky boy(Wearden got picked up by Brissie) in Mangan get picked up this year. For small town we certainly do produce a lot of sports stars.

• choconmientay

Originally posted by stefoid
                            What his background - viet, chinese?
                            Here is a report about him in TheAge... "born to Taiwanese and East Timorese parents"

I guess this is part of the plan to open up to "the Western Front". This may help to attract the Asian population to join and support our club.
                            It always seems impossible until it's done. Nelson Mandela

Originally posted by choconmientay
                              Here is a report about him in TheAge... "born to Taiwanese and East Timorese parents"

I guess this is part of the plan to open up to "the Western Front". This may help to attract the Asian population to join and support our club.
                              I doubt we recruited him because of his background, but yes, it's an added bonus. Much like Majak Daw I guess.

Originally posted by Cyberdoggie
                                My point is how much work has Dalrymple had to do?
                                Sure he has to do the research but all these players have been under our noses or recommended by new coaching additions.

Not so much a criticism but an observation of our recruitment and perhaps recruiting network or lack of.
                                Austin is originally from SA, but yes he has spent the past few years in Vic.

I have no doubt Dalrymple has done the hard yards - I'd expect B-Mac asked for the best contested ball winner at our pick rather than one player specifically.

If the 20% rule for rookie elevations over the past five years is taken into account, Dalrymple is batting above the league average.