Re: Koby Stevens

Originally posted by theimmortalmike
    I loved his game on the weekend but does anyone feel he won't be elite unless he learns to one grab the ball. Some of his fumbles were pretty costly, and it seems to happen weekly.
    We probably wouldn't have landed him if he had an elite game. Consistency is the key but his best is very good.

I agree with your assessment.

Originally posted by theimmortalmike
      I loved his game on the weekend but does anyone feel he won't be elite unless he learns to one grab the ball. Some of his fumbles were pretty costly, and it seems to happen weekly.
      We probably wouldn't have landed him if he had an elite game. Consistency is the key but his best is very good.

I agree with your assessment.
      There's not many elite players in the game as it is, let alone those available for mid draft range trades.

He doesn't have to be elite to contribute on a regular basis. In time, as the team builds he'll be another contributor who's weekly efforts will be supplemented by those of very good players and work horses.

Best game of his career . A few on BF WC fans, said he didn't train as hard as he could.
        Maybe the penny has dropped for Kobe.

• MrMahatma

Confidence might see him step up again. I wouldn't put a real cap on a guy who is getting a first prolonged crack at seniors. Has some flaws, sure, but reckon they aren't terminal and can be improved. Is a good mix of inside and out. Not quick but not a one trick pony either.

• Bulldog4life

Originally posted by Remi Moses
            Best game of his career . A few on BF WC fans, said he didn't train as hard as he could.
            Maybe the penny has dropped for Kobe.
            Koby Stevens said that this was his first pre-season that he wasn't injured. It certainly made a difference.

• Raw Toast

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
              Koby Stevens said that this was his first pre-season that he wasn't injured. It certainly made a difference.
              Yes, hampered by injuries at West Coast and not until late last season that he was able to start running with power again.

As I mentioned when we recruited him, a mate of mine who helps out recruiting for another team told me that the Stevens trade was the best deal of the trade period. I must confess, I was starting to doubt a little, but the game he had this week was super-impressive, and he's still got lots of improvement in him as well.
              [SIZE="1"][B][CENTER][I]Although it broke our hearts it did not break our will[/I][/CENTER][/B][/SIZE]

• Ghost Dog
                • May 2010

Originally posted by Raw Toast
                Yes, hampered by injuries at West Coast and not until late last season that he was able to start running with power again.

As I mentioned when we recruited him, a mate of mine who helps out recruiting for another team told me that the Stevens trade was the best deal of the trade period. I must confess, I was starting to doubt a little, but the game he had this week was super-impressive, and he's still got lots of improvement in him as well.
                The fact he wanted to come here speaks volumes. A lot of teams would have had him.

• boydogs
                  • Apr 2009

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
                  The fact he wanted to come here speaks volumes. A lot of teams would have had him.
                  It's the fact a lot of teams would have had him that speaks volumes.

• stefoid

Only 21 - same age as libba and wallis. Plenty of improvement left.

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
                      His family and Clay Smiths are friends, plus the boys played junior footy for the same club.

• Dancin' Douggy

If that game is a sign of things to come.......WOW.

Only 21 but plays with the physicality, poise and aggression of a hardened veteran.

Maybe we should be feeding all our lads Pattie's Pies.

Originally posted by Dancin' Douggy
                          If that game is a sign of things to come.......WOW.

Only 21 but plays with the physicality, poise and aggression of a hardened veteran.

Maybe we should be feeding all our lads Pattie's Pies.
                          22 in a few weeks time, but still young. We recruited pretty well with Koby and Tom Young (21 yrs old) and Nick Lower is still 25. These guys should be around for a long time.

• Hotdog60

Koby has signed on until the end of 2016.

For those who are not fans you will have to endure for a couple more years.

Congrates on 50 games today Koby.

Originally posted by Hotdog60
                              Koby has signed on until the end of 2016.

For those who are not fans you will have to endure for a couple more years.

Congrates on 50 games today Koby.
                              Decision making and disposal still a big worry. Still young and a replacement for Boyd.

• Hotdog60

Decision making and disposal still a big worry. Still young and a replacement for Boyd.
                                True, I like that he's hard at it. The downside is his disposal at times. I wonder when the side improves so will Koby.