Re: Game Day - R1 Western Bulldogs v Brisbane Lions

Originally posted by HairyMidget
    What were people's thoughts on Voss' coaching today? He didn't seem to make the changes early to combat the bleeding. Then everytime the cameras were on him he seemed to have a sarcastic smile on his face.
    Not saying he was the only one to blame for their performance, but a Lions supporter couldn't be happy with him today either.
    I think he had the look of a man who shows how pissed off he is a certain way, differently from others.

It wouldn't surprise me if his instructions weren't being followed by a team of players not switched on. I'd carry myself in a similar fashion if that was happening to me, though others would scowl or keep a straight face.

Personally, I wouldn't read a lot into it.

I think he had the look of a man who shows how pissed off he is a certain way, differently from others.

It wouldn't surprise me if his instructions weren't being followed by a team of players not switched on. I'd carry myself in a similar fashion if that was happening to me, though others would scowl or keep a straight face.

Personally, I wouldn't read a lot into it.
      You're probably right. Just saying I didn't see him coach the whole game. Wasn't talking, wasn't on the phone, wasn't pointing and waving like most coaches do. Etc. etc. Just leaning back smiling or shaking his head.
      If you get to 50pts down in the 3rd qtr try Merritt in the Forward line or something?

What a great day at the footy. Really enjoyed that. This performance has been one of our best in a while. Lets keep it up next week against Freo. One downside for me is I forgot to bring my glasses but ill make sure ill have them next week.

I've had the same run at work and brutal describes it perfectly.

I think we had a good run with the ball nearly all day which helped with our the goal scoring power but we have to give credit to the midfield today who kept at the task.

Brisbane missed some very gettable goals that might have put some doubts in our mind but we were a mile better than them today. Did all the travel through the NAB cup slow them down or did we just recruit well with the likes of Lower, Stevens, Young and Goodes?
          I remember being laughed at for suggesting that Goodes would be a good pick tough has skills and time . What do you say now GVGjr .

• Bulldog Revolution

Some interesting comments. Like the game against Richmond we were first to the ball for most of the game, were clearly on top in the centre square and created any luck we might have had.

I see scope for lots of further improvement.

The backline was basically a whole new group on what we fielded in 2012, with Roughie, Johannisen and Picken playing their a little, but Goodes, Morris, and Young obviously never played back for us in 2012.

Lower and Stevens looked good additions midfield, for the hard edge they offer the group. The forward line looked lively and dynamic. Dickson and Dalhaus buzzed about. Higgins, Gia and Murphy showed their class. Cordy and Jones mostly presented well without setting the world on fire I was pleased with both of their workrates.

• Dog54

No doubt Boyd is a very good player although I think he needs to work on being more patient with the footy. He seems to always hurry it on the boot forwards. Today we were more patient on the footy and he has to buy in to this. He is a great leader and I'm sure he will work on that part of his game. Biggest thing to come out of the preseason is the midfield depth we now have. We will beat many teams if they don't come to play.

The all Australian selectors and those who vote on the B&F don't think so

Originally posted by EJ Smith
                  The all Australian selectors and those who vote on the B&F don't think so
                  Case closed then!

Ryan Griffen's our best player. Over the last two or so years he's been the only Bulldogs player worth tagging on a consistent basis, and his output has been strong. If he was given the lattitude Boyd gets he'd get 35 penetrating touches a game.

I know it seems I'm taking away credit for Boyd's strong performances, but I'm not.

• Dry Rot

Out this afternoon and missed the game. Don't have Foxtel so copped the dull "Battle of the Bridge" here in Sydney and then Saints' embarrassment up north.

Fabulous result.

Saw some limited highlights. Hanley is a grub. Hope he gets weeks.

How did our our experienced recruits go?

What did we differently to win from last year?

Originally posted by Dry Rot
                      Out this afternoon and missed the game. Don't have Foxtel so copped the dull "Battle of the Bridge" here in Sydney and then Saints' embarrassment up north.

Fabulous result.

Saw some limited highlights. Hanley is a grub. Hope he gets weeks.

How did our our experienced recruits go?

What did we differently to win from last year?
                      All of Goodes (dominated half back), Lower (shut down Rich), Stevens and Young (each played a solid role in their positions well) contributed today.

We seemed to be more organised with how we moved the ball, and we used it much better by foot than we have in the past.

Our handballing skills, which are actually a strength of our list seem to have consolidated as well. We also pressured Brisbane very well and were ruthless when Brisbane had possession save for a few pieces of play.

Senior players in Higgins, Morris, Murphy, Griffen, Cross, Minson and Giansiracusa all played their roles with intent and class.

Younger players like Roughead, Liberatore, Dahlhaus and Wallis showed why our core is going to be strong going forward.

• KT31
                        • Jul 2008

Mate if you want to rub it in fine, because I know you are trying to stir me up.

I will stick with what I said all along, I have nothing against Goodes and wrapped he is playing so well, but pre-season, I would have gone for another young player as part of the rebuild. Please don't bring this up every time he plays well.
                        Would have been more inspired if we had of picked him up five years ago.
                        I'm on record with you BAD, but great win today and whatever is said won't upset me.

• stefoid

This is the thing that really shocked me today. Ball use, decision making, structure, ball movement, all the best shown by us since 2010. The big question is how much of this was caused by us and how much were we allowed to dictate terms due to the insipid opposition on the day? I reckon Brisbane played like millionaires today and were not interested in working hard for the 4 points.
                          Across the board our disposal efficiency was good. Some of that was natural improvement of our younger guys with the ball in hand and I thought we ran very hard to spread and generate disposal options which also helps.

The rest was Brisbane letting us do as we please and we wont get too many more opponents who like that.

I am really liking Stevens, he might be a dark horse for a high finish in the B&F. He is running very hard and uses the ball well. Fantastic pickup.

Libbas best game for the club?

I've had the same run at work and brutal describes it perfectly.

I think we had a good run with the ball nearly all day which helped with our the goal scoring power but we have to give credit to the midfield today who kept at the task.

Brisbane missed some very gettable goals that might have put some doubts in our mind but we were a mile better than them today. Did all the travel through the NAB cup slow them down or did we just recruit well with the likes of Lower, Stevens, Young and Goodes?
                            I tend to agree we had an opponent that wasn't ready for us tonight, but as you say, credit where credit is due. We were fierce today, focused on our roles and our defensive work rate was A grade. Our new guys were all great and I'm confident they can deliver for 22 weeks.

It's still going to be a long season, no doubt in my mind, but the positives were there to be seen and I have a lot of faith our best, when we can deliver consistently, will be good enough.

• Dry Rot

All of Goodes (dominated half back), Lower (shut down Rich), Stevens and Young (each played a solid role in their positions well) contributed today.

We seemed to be more organised with how we moved the ball, and we used it much better by foot than we have in the past.

Our handballing skills, which are actually a strength of our list seem to have consolidated as well. We also pressured Brisbane very well and were ruthless when Brisbane had possession save for a few pieces of play.

Senior players in Higgins, Morris, Murphy, Griffen, Cross, Minson and Giansiracusa all played their roles with intent and class.

Younger players like Roughead, Liberatore, Dahlhaus and Wallis showed why our core is going to be strong going forward.
                              Thanks.

I only heard the tail end of the ABC radio online - they were banging on about our pressure on the opposition generally, and in particular, in our forward 50.

Originally posted by Dry Rot
                                Thanks.

I only heard the tail end of the ABC radio online - they were banging on about our pressure on the opposition generally, and in particular, in our forward 50.
                                The latter point was really lead by Dickson. His first two games for the club were pretty ordinary from that point, since then, he's been magnificent at pressuring the opposition.