• Rocco Jones

Re: Match Committee- Round 5 vs Geelong

I know this sounds a contradiction but I am both happy to see Ayce out and also unsure what we will do with our 2nd ruck role.

I get the patience thing but Ayce is nowhere near it IMO. I am with Greystache on him. Yeah sure he does the ground level stuff pretty well for a tall man but what is the point when he is awful at the tall man stuff? Ayce is 202cm and Morris is 190cm but I am sure of who I would back in a marking contest.

I am obviously obsessed with the 2nd ruck role. I actually see it as a role suited to journeymen/more mature players and am not a fan of developing players being used as 2nd rucks. It's a mutated role. The Big Q suits it perfectly.

• Nuggety Back Pocket
      • Oct 2009

Originally posted by The Pie Man
      Roughead 2nd ruck?
      Could happen but a slight risk given the two talls in attack for the Cats plus Taylor drifting down together with Hawkins and Pods.
      Austin could replace Roughy should Minson need a spell. This would be a better option than using Jones in the ruck.

• JohnGentStand
        • Feb 2011

Liam Jones can count himself lucky to get a game this week. Happy with the ins, though I would have dropped JJ or Stevens instead of Cordy. Blicavs of the cats can seriously run and expose Will around the ground so I hope the big guys gets his knees in some nice spots early!
        I'm paying money, the girl's happy, she's got no money, I got my rocks off, how good is this...

Like the changes.

Cordy actually looked okay in the ruck last week but was nowhere near it in the fwd line. Neither was Gia. Those two outs help the forward line immensely.

Interesting that Jones is the only player left of our first picked forward line, 4 rounds in with Murph, Dickson, Higgins, Gia and Cordy all out.

Originally posted by Hotdog60
            I think Jones will do the relief ruck duties
            Look I hope that's not the case. He should be concentrating on learning his craft in the forward half and not about relief ruck duties. With the Austin in I reckon Roughead is going to do a bit of work in the ruck but then see above it's the same situation. I'd rather him concentrate on becoming a better defender.

• Rocco Jones

Originally posted by JohnGentStand
              Blicavs of the cats can seriously run and expose Will around the ground so I hope the big guys gets his knees in some nice spots early!
              Bilcavs sure can run but I am not sure he has shown he can transfer it onto the footy ground yet.

• JohnGentStand
                • Feb 2011

I hear you Rocco....I just hope Will can dictate where the running is done.
                I'm paying money, the girl's happy, she's got no money, I got my rocks off, how good is this...

• Ghost Dog
                  • May 2010

Well Brendan must read woof.net . Picken in the forward line. Cordy to find some form. Austin and Vezper in.

Originally posted by G-Mo77
                    Look I hope that's not the case. He should be concentrating on learning his craft in the forward half and not about relief ruck duties. With the Austin in I reckon Roughead is going to do a bit of work in the ruck but then see above it's the same situation. I'd rather him concentrate on becoming a better defender.
                    Completely agree with this, Roughead just has the better skillset to ruck than Jones, the downside of playing either ruck is the same.

Just have to hope Cordy gets some confidence and can come back and the play the role. No other options this year.

Jake Stringer named at CHF in the team.

• josie
                        • Oct 2012

I trust the coaching staff to make right decision with Stringer in starting line up rather than VFL. I'm going to match and looking forward to see glimpses of our future with Macrae & Stringer.

Seems like coaching staff are trying to give reward for repeated good performance in VFL. Crossing fingers Vespremi will grab his chance and kick a few.

Great to hear Austin has been elevated from rookie list and getting a game too. When he has played in AFL for us I thought his held his own and has a lot more mobility than Markovic.

Hoping Clay starts on ground rather than as sub again as his the type we need against Cats and his disposal seems to have improved heaps.

I think they've got team selection right this week, and my last wish as they let tough as nails Picken play in forward or midfield as he has looked lost and turned over the ball a bit in backline IMO. Then again maybe he is just taking time to settle in. Anyone else have thoughts on where Picken should play?

Thanks too to all the posters for insightful comments regarding Ayce. I think he has good attitude and I think I’ve been too quick to pass negative judgement based on 17 games. I’ll be more patient.

Unlike my avatar would intimate....Go Dogs !!
                        Josie :)

Our day will come
                        And we'll have everything.
                        We'll share the joy
                        Just like '54 again.

Very disappointed Cordy has been dropped this week. 2nd ruck role will be interesting as Jones is the only one tall enough unless Austin has a good leap at 193cm.

Josie, nice post.

Probably don't think Ayce should be playing at Willi but it is what it is and I'm really hoping he can clunk a few and kick some goals.

My thoughts on Picken are that he should be played as a tagger only. Having him play in the forward half of the ground is the lesser of two evils, as I don't see him as a viable back pocket. He's too limited with decision making and disposal. The guy always gives 100% though.

Glad Vesz is getting a run, let's hope he works his butt off and not waste his opportunity with a lacklustre effort.

Looking forward to seeing Stringer and MacRae up close this week as well.

• Bulldog4life

Originally posted by bulldogsthru&thru
                              Official team:

In: Vez, Smith, Austin
                              Out: Gia, Griffen, Cordy

Cordy omitted and Gia injured apparently
                              I know there will be numerous people happy that Cordy is dropped but I'm not one of them. Bad move in my opinion.

• Cyberdoggie

Very disappointed Cordy has been dropped this week. 2nd ruck role will be interesting as Jones is the only one tall enough unless Austin has a good leap at 193cm.

Roughead is the only one capable but i guess there will be 3-4 Geelong talls operating at times.
                                Hawkins, Pods, West/Blicavs, Taylor.

Going to have to be Jones i guess