Link

DOUG Hawkins has lashed out at the Western Bulldogs' leadership group, claiming they have "turned their back" on young midfielder Tom Liberatore.
The Bulldogs legend supported the decision to ban Liberatore for the rest of the season after he was found intoxicated and in possession of an ecstasy tablet early last Sunday.
But Hawkins is furious the 20-year-old has been banished from the Whitten Oval, leaving him unable to train with his teammates.
"I'm absolutely filthy with the way they have handled young 'Libba'," he said yesterday. "I don't mind the four-week ban and not playing again for the rest of the season. The kid was in the wrong and he made a very bad mistake.
"But what I am angry about is how the Bulldogs' leadership group and the club have told him he cannot train with his teammates."
Hawkins said not letting Liberatore train was "totally wrong" and could leave him feeling isolated.
"He is only 20, he's had a ripper year, he could be a 250-game player of the club like his dad was, and he could possibly be a captain one day," he said.
"But when your mate does something wrong, you put your arms around them and say, 'We are going to help you get through this'.
"You don't burn them. You don't turn your back on them when they really need you. He can't train with them; he can't be with them. He can't get near the joint.
"He's an intelligent kid who made a bad mistake. He is hurting and the thing he needs most is to have his mates - his 'brothers' - around him.
"I just think he should have been better supported."
Hawkins was annoyed by Bulldog defender Robert Murphy's comments on Fox Footy that Liberatore was "in a dark place".
Hawkins said the youngster deserved better, with the highly-rated Bulldog being instructed to undergo counselling as well as work in a different occupation for the next six weeks.
"I know people are going say, 'You are being old-fashioned, Dougie', but I would rather be old-fashioned if it means sticking by your mates," he said.
"Don't say this has to happen because it worked for Geelong with Steve Johnson a few years ago.
"It's a completely different kettle of fish.
"This kid needed the help and support of his mates.
"That's more important than getting him to go out and spend six weeks working somewhere else."
Hawkins said he felt for Liberatore's father, Tony, who played 283 games for the Bulldogs between 1988-2002, winning a Brownlow Medal in 1990.
"If I was Tony, I would be filthy," Hawkins said. "He is like a brother to me.
"I loved playing footy with him because of his passion and love of the club and his teammates.
"You knew he would go to war with you if he had to.
"And that's why it makes me so mad that this leadership group has turned their back on one of their own."

DOUG Hawkins has lashed out at the Western Bulldogs' leadership group, claiming they have "turned their back" on young midfielder Tom Liberatore.
The Bulldogs legend supported the decision to ban Liberatore for the rest of the season after he was found intoxicated and in possession of an ecstasy tablet early last Sunday.
But Hawkins is furious the 20-year-old has been banished from the Whitten Oval, leaving him unable to train with his teammates.
"I'm absolutely filthy with the way they have handled young 'Libba'," he said yesterday. "I don't mind the four-week ban and not playing again for the rest of the season. The kid was in the wrong and he made a very bad mistake.
"But what I am angry about is how the Bulldogs' leadership group and the club have told him he cannot train with his teammates."
Hawkins said not letting Liberatore train was "totally wrong" and could leave him feeling isolated.
"He is only 20, he's had a ripper year, he could be a 250-game player of the club like his dad was, and he could possibly be a captain one day," he said.
"But when your mate does something wrong, you put your arms around them and say, 'We are going to help you get through this'.
"You don't burn them. You don't turn your back on them when they really need you. He can't train with them; he can't be with them. He can't get near the joint.
"He's an intelligent kid who made a bad mistake. He is hurting and the thing he needs most is to have his mates - his 'brothers' - around him.
"I just think he should have been better supported."
Hawkins was annoyed by Bulldog defender Robert Murphy's comments on Fox Footy that Liberatore was "in a dark place".
Hawkins said the youngster deserved better, with the highly-rated Bulldog being instructed to undergo counselling as well as work in a different occupation for the next six weeks.
"I know people are going say, 'You are being old-fashioned, Dougie', but I would rather be old-fashioned if it means sticking by your mates," he said.
"Don't say this has to happen because it worked for Geelong with Steve Johnson a few years ago.
"It's a completely different kettle of fish.
"This kid needed the help and support of his mates.
"That's more important than getting him to go out and spend six weeks working somewhere else."
Hawkins said he felt for Liberatore's father, Tony, who played 283 games for the Bulldogs between 1988-2002, winning a Brownlow Medal in 1990.
"If I was Tony, I would be filthy," Hawkins said. "He is like a brother to me.
"I loved playing footy with him because of his passion and love of the club and his teammates.
"You knew he would go to war with you if he had to.
"And that's why it makes me so mad that this leadership group has turned their back on one of their own."