Re: Darcy McPherson

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
    Agree Cyberdoggie. The most depth I personally have seen at the Club in any one year since the 1960's. So many players that could force their way into the team for the first match let alone during the year which is great news for our Club.
    It also presents a problem that I hope Bevo has experience in and worked towards with us. Blokes like Sphanger and half dozen other players come in and out and stay with the club to help build a dynasty. Last year Talia, and Jones the year before were throwing tantrums for not being selected despite shite personal form. I hope with them gone they're the end of that attitude and blokes 23-35 for next few years are in it for the club.

• divvydan
      • Oct 2009

Had a good NAB Cup game last week and with David Swallow moved onto the LTI list, Darcy might be a chance to earn an elevation and possibly play a few matches early in the season.

Originally posted by divvydan
        Had a good NAB Cup game last week and with David Swallow moved onto the LTI list, Darcy might be a chance to earn an elevation and possibly play a few matches early in the season.
        Wish him well. As he spent so much time around our group, any early success is further evidence of the quality of our player development programmes.

• F'scary
          • Dec 2011

It's just one of those things. If we didn't have Caleb, if Dahlhaus was just a defensive forward, if Hrovat and Honeychurch weren't pressing for senior spots, if Hunter & McLean didn't look like they could play, if Tory was just a VFL standard smaller forward...

We might miss out on a pocket rocket gem, but what could we have done? We have around 6 good ones already.
          Officially on the Bus-wagon

Originally posted by F'scary
            It's just one of those things. If we didn't have Caleb, if Dahlhaus was just a defensive forward, if Hrovat and Honeychurch weren't pressing for senior spots, if Hunter & McLean didn't look like they could play, if Tory was just a VFL standard smaller forward...

We might miss out on a pocket rocket gem, but what could we have done? We have around 6 good ones already.
            That was the issue and I imagine Clayton took him before our first pick to lock him away just in case we were bluffing. But we have more than enough of that type of player. His development from under 15's to 16's was enormous and he took a big step between his TAC years, and the romance of him following his dad is stronger for we members. Even if it was a choice between a project ruckman of which we have none and him, you have to occasion ply pick for positions. I wish him well.

• Cyberdoggie

Looks like Darcy is going to get his first game for the suns this weekend.

Good luck to him, hope he does well.... but not too well

Originally posted by Cyberdoggie
                Looks like Darcy is going to get his first game for the suns this weekend.

Good luck to him, hope he does well.... but not too well
                On SEN they played the phone call of him telling his mum he was playing this weekend. He was pretty stoked as was his mum and Steve. I love the story I read where he said that he didn't know his dad had even played footy until he found his trophys in the garage when he was 14. Good luck to the kid, I hope he burns it up against everyone but us.

• lemmon

Yep good luck to the boy. No qualms about him doing it for someone else

As someone old enough to remember Super I'm a bit disappointed he's not doing it for us.

Originally posted by chef
                      As someone old enough to remember Super I'm a bit disappointed he's not doing it for us.
                      Yes another favourite player - Good luck to Darcy

• FrediKanoute

Reckon we definitely missed a trick.....if he ias even a third of his dad's talent and attitude he will carve out a career.

• Dancin' Douggy

Yep, hope we haven't missed a little ripper here.

Originally posted by Dancin' Douggy
                            Yep, hope we haven't missed a little ripper here.

Cost benefit analysis isn't it? He went in the Rookie Draft I think. I'd gladly give back Jed Adcock on The Adelaide Crows hold no grudges against the Western Bulldogs, hat I have seen so far.

10 touches, 9 tackles and a goal. Not a bad start from Darcy considering they were spanked.

Good luck to the lad. A victim of a list with too many smaller players.