Re: VFL Grand Final - Port v Willy

#16 is Rampe, right? He's a really, really ordinary footballer. Absolutely smashed in any/every contest, terrible decision making, slow, turned the ball over, kicked into the man on the mark etc. Rose must have felt like he was in paradise - how come a change wasn't made? Everybody around us were practically laughing. That kid is horrible.

Mulligan is right next to Rampe. Absolutely terrible. Not even VFL standard, let alone AFL.

Wallis looks a hundred miles off resembling an AFL footballer. I haven't seen any qualities to suggest he can be a good AFL player yet. From the times I've seen him, he's even struggled at VFL level. I'd be worried.

Thought Howard and DJ showed some OK signs. Panos was very good - he's ready to play AFL.

Roughead was extremely disappointing, as was Tutt.

Hill and Stack were awful.

Pleased with Port winning
      Massive disapointment some of our players
      Minson- to much between his best and worst, I don't think he's good enough to be a number one ruck
      Roughy- He was ordinary and needs to clunk hismarks
      Hill - He has to go
      Stack - he was okay, might be safe
      Addison - to many mistakes
      Hooper - not going to make it
      Tutt - poor today, but has shown enough
      Wallis- ordinary after quarter time, looks cooked
      Panos - Shining light
      Mulligan- absolutely pantsed, looks out of his depth at VFL level!
      Reid - Has a go, but he'll be joining his mate up at GWS
      Heard we'd offered an upgraded pick for him
      Where do We Sign

Originally posted by Remi Moses

Looks cooked? Can you elaborate?

Looks tired.

• anfo27

Originally posted by Remi Moses
            Pleased with Port winning
            Massive disapointment some of our players
            Minson- to much between his best and worst, I don't think he's good enough to be a number one ruck
            Roughy- He was ordinary and needs to clunk hismarks
            Hill - He has to go
            Stack - he was okay, might be safe
            Addison - to many mistakes
            Hooper - not going to make it
            Tutt - poor today, but has shown enough
            Panos - Shining light
            Mulligan- absolutely pantsed, looks out of his depth at VFL level!
            Reid - Has a go, but he'll be joining his mate up at GWS
            Heard we'd offered an upgraded pick for him
            Where do We Sign
            Quick before they change their mind. They can have Mulligan for free. Is he out of contract?

• jazzadogs
              • Oct 2008

Stack showed his not able to cope with the pressure in a VFL grand final. Don't want that kind of deficiency in a player, pressure in an AFL grand final would likely be much higher.

Wallis was disappointing. Behind his opponent all day. Couple of moments where he showed some quick hands, but spews and endurance seemed to be problems. Didn't see him kick too much.

Disappointing that Hopper has another year on his contract.

Addison and Hill were next to useless. Would like to keep Hill and see what BMac can do with him. Addison can leave with Reid and Mulligan.

Howard and Tutt didn't do a heap, but they didn't seem out of their depth, just a bit inexperienced.

Panos was very pleasing. Will be happy with him, Jones and hopefully Grant in the forward line for years to come.

DJ didn't show anything we haven't already seen as far as I was concerned. Few good touches, but lots of 'classic DJ' moves which didn't result in anything. Certainly kept trying though.

Best thing about the day was having a kick on the ground after. Took security a little while to give in, but was good fun once they had.

Pretty much the same views from my end. Most of the Bulldogs listed players really lowered their colors which was disappointing.

Rather than going through all I'll just do the good, bad and ugly.

The Good

Panos. What a beautiful kick of the footy. I was really interested to see how he went after last week and he didn't disappoint. I wouldn't hesitate and I'd elevate him right now!

Howard. Had a terrific first quarter, faded a little but came back into it.

DJ. Hard at it and lifted his intenisty more when Port stepped up.

The Bad

Minson. Really thought he would be one of the differences for Willy taking this one. He was pretty poor today.

Roughead. Like Minson pretty ordinary. Our rucks stocks aren't looking to flash. It's a fairly big concern IMO

Tutt. Another who I thought had an X factor about him on the big stage and didn't deliver.

The Ugly

Mulligan. Wow! I thought he was ordinary last week in a game will won easily he was even worse today. To quote The Bulldogs Bite "Absolutely terrible. Not even VFL standard, let alone AFL."

Hill. I started to believe again, he really put some good games together and he serves this up. Sorry he's not worth it and will continue to disappoint if we keep him on the list.

Sam Reid. Dreadful! Probably to busy thinking about hows he going to get his stuff to GWS.

Other notes.

Goodes was good again. I really love watching him play football I wish he was a year or two younger I could easily find a place for him on our list.

Frost showed some mongrel today. Clipped number #20 in the second and taking out another in the third.

• The Underdog

Absolutely appalling effort after 1/4 time. Of the Dogs listed players only Djerkurra, Panos and possibly Addison can hold their heads up. Minson kept competing but he should be more than that at the level. I didn't think this season could get more frustrating but there you have it. I've been in a shit of a mood since about 3 o'clock.

Oh and if Panos doesn't get upgraded after Hooper and Mulligan getting a chance on much less then something is seriously wrong.

• KT31
                    • Jul 2008

Load up The Strand cannons and start firing !!

Originally posted by jazzadogs
                      Stack showed his not able to cope with the pressure in a VFL grand final. Don't want that kind of deficiency in a player, pressure in an AFL grand final would likely be much higher.
                      He wasn't alone there were quite a few that couldn't handle the intensity of a final. I left today with very little promise as to what is coming through. Grand Final, new coach and some players playing for their careers and they looked like they just went for a kick in the park. Our new coach has a ton of work to do with the general attitude and application of some of these players.

• kruder

Originally posted by Maddog37
                        I think Wallis will be fine. A big bodied midfielder like Kelly.

His endeavor is very good. Obviously not a tagger though.
                        Wallis= potential Kelly? They have 0 similar traights in my book. Ill give you 100-1

• Maddog37
                          • Nov 2010

Originally posted by kruder
                          Wallis= potential Kelly? They have 0 similar traights in my book. Ill give you 100-1
                          No worries. I will have 100 on it. Just book mark it and get back to me in five years time.

• kruder

deal.

Originally posted by kruder
                              What do people think of Wallis so far?
                              He is a long, long way off AFL football. He'll need to make dramatic improvements over the next couple of years if he's to make it.

Finding a yard of pace, improving his decision making to hurt the opposition with the ball, and learning to get to more dangerous positions on the ground should be the starting point. Also perhaps changing his body shape could be helpful too.

Problem with Wallis is he fed off Tom as a bit of an outside pack receiver, at the moment Tom isnt there so he finds himself getting drawn in and lost in the pack.
                                To me he should be keeping out of the packs and letting the more experienced insiders get it out, maybe he is trying too hard , maybe its under coaches instructions I dont know.
                                But I think he is more an outside player anyway.
                                I have rarely seen him one on one, would like to see his skills that way.