If this is your first visit, be sure to
check out the FAQ by clicking the
link above. You may have to register
before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages,
select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
Footscray v Coburg - Saturday 24th May at Coburg Oval
Re: Footscray v Coburg - Saturday 24th May at Coburg Oval
Originally posted by neddie
Thats amazing, seeing he hasn't been mentioned in the previous threads!!
What do you mean Neddie? If you're having a pot shot at Howard I feel it's unfair. Played some solid footy today. Missed some
kicks he shouldn't of but all in all he was a very solid contributor.
"Loves a scrap....oh yeah & he's a pretty handy footballer as well"
Howard looks to be playing some good footy,and I'd prefer him in the side than Goodes .
Coburg have done extremely well and there running on the smell of an oily rag.
It's all good winning , but the main objective is the development and playing the style of our senior team.
Originally posted by Remi Moses
Howard looks to be playing some good footy,and I'd prefer him in the side than Goodes .
Coburg have done extremely well and there running on the smell of an oily rag.
It's all good winning , but the main objective is the development and playing the style of our senior team.
I don't quite understand this, shouldn't we just pick the best side? If it's Howard or Goodes, I don't really care
Went to the game today. Howard was alright but geez, prefer him over Goodes? Goodes dominates pretty much every VFL game he plays. If Howard was at a stand alone VFL club he''d just be getting a game and certainly no one would be putting him up for being drafted.
I'm talking at an age perspective . If Goodes fails again we can't go back there again.
Gotta find someone else off half back, and if Howard plays some more good football he deserves a shot .
Originally posted by Rocco Jones
Went to the game today. Howard was alright but geez, prefer him over Goodes? Goodes dominates pretty much every VFL game he plays. If Howard was at a stand alone VFL club he''d just be getting a game and certainly no one would be putting him up for being drafted.
This is an interesting hypothetical.
A quick snapshot from the game today. By the way these two sides have never played each other before.
By my calculations 15 Bulldogs listed players (including rookies) played today. Hunter might have traveled with the senior team.
Grant - Started off slowly and looked a bit lost at times. Perhaps some more rust that he needed to get out of his system. Things started to click for him mid 2nd quarter. He applied plenty of defensive pressure as a forward and ended up kicking 3 goals. Some hits and misses as you would expect but I believe he is ready for a spot in the senior side.
Wallis - Got plenty of the ball but once again his disposal isn't clean. At times he is just too fast with a handball to a team mate. Solid 4 quarter effort and he kicked a goal.
Honeychurch - Started off quickly but had a couple of quiet patches. Completes hard and doesn't get distracted by the physical stuff. He's an impressive youngster and he will be a good player going forward.
Hrovat - Another good game by Hrovat who was rotating on and off the half forward flank and was busy. Strong 2nd and 3rd quarters before fading just a bit later in the game. He's smart player and can't be far away from senior selection.
Howard - He got caught out of position a couple of times today by his opponents but kept at his tasks. He seemed to often get caught on his wrong foot by poor kicks by his team mates but I thought that overall he used the ball well. He cops a lot of criticism but I don't think too many would complain about his effort today. In the best 5 on the day.
Young - Got involved in a lot of play including one passage where he created and received 4 handball passes as he raced the ball down field. He lacks a bit of athleticism and composure to ever be great player at the senior level but I think he is still a good player to have on the list. Kicked a goal.
Talia - I'll bow to others views on Talia but he was very quiet in the first half but a fair bit better after that. In the last quarter he was very solid. We just don't get a lot of drive from him and while he is pretty good in a one on one contest he needs to be more creative. Young isn't as strong in the one on one duels but he can add more to the side.
Darley - I thought he was disappointing today. He got a bit of the ball especially in the 2nd half but I didn't think he did much at all.
Greenwood - Spent a lot of time in the midfield and was solid without being spectacular. He's a steady player.
Redpath - I've been a critic of Redpath but he has put together some good performances this year and today was a good one.
He took a huge mark against 3 opponents who crashed into him and went back and kicked accurately. I still don't know if he offers us much if he were to be promoted to the seniors but he is going about things the right way.
Johannisen - Very good game from JJ. Started up forward but was all over the ground. Ran well and used the ball with a fair bit of poise. He lost his footing a couple of times but hard to fault his game at all. Kicked a goal and was lively. Could return to the seniors without a doubt.
Campbell - Had an easy time of it in the ruck but really wasn't a factor when resting up forward. Perhaps I'm expecting too much from him. Must have got 40 plus hit outs. Good game without being much better.
Jong - Battled away but I don't think he was a huge contributor.
Austin - Solid game and was a good contributor.
Cordy - A bit like Campbell in that he had a easy time of it when in the ruck but should have performed better when he was up forward. Not a great game but not a bad one.
I'm talking at an age perspective . If Goodes fails again we can't go back there again.
Gotta find someone else off half back, and if Howard plays some more good football he deserves a shot .
We simply have to reward players who are performing at Footscray. We also have a number of half back options.
Thanks G. Not too much too love about reading that, except Grant of course !
The standouts for me today for senior selection were Campbell Hrovat Grant and JJ. I reckon that the first three mentioned would all be in my best senior line up. Campbell's ruck work was outstanding today and highlighted how he is under utilized in this department. Minson has had a poor year and yet we continue to play one recognized ruckman. Hrovat's disposal is better than most at the Club and is good enough to be a regular senior player. Grant has been sorely missed this year in an attack that continues to struggle. JJ has been down on confidence and form this year but showed today that his pace and run are needed at senior level.
We simply have to reward players who are performing at Footscray. We also have a number of half back options.
I agree with rewarding players playing well. But if you have two players performing well and one is 22 and the other is 30, you pick the 22 year old .
Particularly if a club is playing the long game. If Goodes doesn't perform this should be it .
I agree with rewarding players playing well. But if you have two players performing well and one is 22 and the other is 30, you pick the 22 year old .
Particularly if a club is playing the long game. If Goodes doesn't perform this should be it .
At the risk of moving focus, I agree on Goodes, so why elevate him??
Does Redpath continue to learn his craft in the VFL, or has he earned the chance to be elevated to AFL footy? He's proven his form and I'd have no problem giving him a game if it was any other player, my only concern is that he seems to have come from almost nothing to suddenly being in good form and we certainly don't want to shatter his confidence whilst he's riding that high. Thoughts?