Re: Pubs and Bars

Originally posted by Axe Man
    Spent the arvo at Moon Dog, good place, busy. Walked down to courthouse hotel, lucky to get out alive, big mistake. Finally made it to Mona castle, much better.
    I heard it was a GWS stronghold but didn't believe it.

• merantau
      • May 2015

Originally posted by 1eyedog
      Grand View Hotel on Pearson St Brunswick West. Good-sized screen and bugger all competition for it. The owner loves the footy and has a screen with one game on one side of the pub and another game on the other side. I recommend it, good meals too and craft beer on tap which I personally like. I sometimes meet up with WOOF posters there.
      Went to the Grandview once in the late 70s. The licensee was Stephen Parsons of the "Battle of Windy Hill" fame

A Melbourne radio personality called Ron Cadee was billed as some former of entertainer but we left before his turn. Maybe dodged a bullet
      [URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]

• merantau
        • May 2015

Pubs I've drunk in - some more than others: the Derrimut in Sunshine, the Braybrook, the Ashley, the Deer Park, the Powell, the Albert, the Tottenham, the Oval, the Plough, the Royal, the Barkly, Con Curtain's (the Belvedere?), the Footscray Hotel, the Exchange, the Terminus, the Steam Packet, the Guiding Star, the Rising Sun, Healy's Point, the Carron Tavern, the City Court, Hosies, the Mitre Tavern, the Case of Bananas (La Casa Manana), the Kilkenny Inn - to name a few.

Witnessed a few nasty blues. One at the Ashley saw a bloke on a stretcher get attacked which was beyond the pale, even for the Ashley. Saw pool cues being swung around and balls thrown - I was just having a quiet ale!

These events happened a long time ago - early 80s. Pubs aren't as rough these days, are they? I mostly drink at home now.
        Last edited by merantau; 17-11-2024, 07:55 PM.
        [URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]

• merantau
          • May 2015

For those with an interest in history, a good mate of mine, ex-Port Melbourne face, swears that he was in a pub in Port Melbourne when a collection was taken up for Faye Nicholls, the widow of Painters and Dockers Secretary Jack "Putty Nose" Nicholls who supposedly committed suicide. The only problem was his body had not yet been discovered.

Jack was due to give evidence to the Costigan Royal Commission. His body was found in his car. He died from a gunshot wound.

Here is his purported suicide note.

“To my members and executive, I tried very hard but the rotten Fraser government did not want me to survive. Do not think I have taken the easy way out but the rotten system has cut me life short. I had big ideas for advancement but these were chopped short. Farewell Comrades. Jack Nicholls XX.”
          Last edited by merantau; 16-12-2024, 08:21 PM.

• merantau
            • May 2015

During my student days,, I was a habituae of a number of Carlton pubs. First and foremost was the Prince Alfred in Grattan St. The University Hotel was another I frequented, as was the Albion, the Astor, the Lemon Tree, the Clyde, the Clare Castle, the Canada, the Holyford, the Dan O'Connell, the Polaris Inn and Poynton's.
            "Those were the days, my friend
            We thought they'd never end
            ​​​​We'd sing and dance
            Forever and a day
            We'd live the life we choose
            We'd fight and never lose
            For We were young
            And sure to have our way."

Have booked a table in the dining area at the Steam Packet Hotel in Williamstown next Saturday night with the family for my birthday.

Should be a good night.

My actual birthday is 3 days later on Tuesday 4th March.

Originally posted by Eastdog
                Have booked a table in the dining area at the Steam Packet Hotel in Williamstown next Saturday night with the family for my birthday.

Should be a good night.

Happy birthday EASTY!

Originally posted by Grantysghost

Happy birthday EASTY!
                  Thanks Granty!

Easty, how was the meal? What did you have?

• HOSE B ROMERO
                      • Mar 2012

Originally posted by Eastdog

Should be a good night.

What was your review of the Steampacket?

A mate and i drop into there for a meal a couple of times a year.

I think there's been a pub on that site since 1861.

• josie
                        • Oct 2012

Originally posted by merantau
                        During my student days,, I was a habituae of a number of Carlton pubs. First and foremost was the Prince Alfred in Grattan St. The University Hotel was another I frequented, as was the Albion, the Astor, the Lemon Tree, the Clyde, the Clare Castle, the Canada, the Holyford, the Dan O'Connell, the Polaris Inn and Poynton's.
                        "Those were the days, my friend
                        We thought they'd never end
                        ​​​​We'd sing and dance
                        Forever and a day
                        We'd live the life we choose
                        We'd fight and never lose
                        For We were young
                        And sure to have our way."
                        Did you squeeze in some lectures too?

what was your fave pub?

Mlb Uni purchased Prince Alfred 5 or so years ago. Think they still own it.
                        Josie :)

Our day will come
                        And we'll have everything.
                        We'll share the joy
                        Just like '54 again.

• HOSE B ROMERO
                          • Mar 2012

Not a pub or a bar but has anyone ever dropped into The Red Triangle in Fitzroy?

It's an old fashioned pool hall just off Brunswick street.

I've dropped in there now and then for the last 35 years. Took my kids there when they were little as well.

Quite nondescript on the outside. You then walk up about 8 flights of timber steps. The place has barely changed since i first walked in. Old lounges and theatre seats. Dim lighting. Music. Hot chocolates and snacks available. Lots of board games, Nooks and crannies.
                          About thirty tables of 3 different sizes.
                          Perfect way to finish an evening.

• josie
                            • Oct 2012

Originally posted by HOSE B ROMERO
                            Not a pub or a bar but has anyone ever dropped into The Red Triangle in Fitzroy?

It's an old fashioned pool hall just off Brunswick street.

I've dropped in there now and then for the last 35 years. Took my kids there when they were little as well.

Quite nondescript on the outside. You then walk up about 8 flights of timber steps. The place has barely changed since i first walked in. Old lounges and theatre seats. Dim lighting. Music. Hot chocolates and snacks available. Lots of board games, Nooks and crannies.
                            About thirty tables of 3 different sizes.
                            Perfect way to finish an evening.
                            Yep. We did decades ago a few times. We also took our son when he was a little tacker and played pool with some friends a few times whilst he crawled around in the carpet. One of the visits the person at reception raised a kiddie’s soft ball from behind the front desk and shook it (it had a bell inside it) and asked us “Is this yours?”. Indeed it was. Suppose they didn’t have many (then young) parents with baby in tow visiting them (apart from Hose!).

Good to hear it’s still going.
                            Josie :)

Our day will come
                            And we'll have everything.
                            We'll share the joy
                            Just like '54 again.

Originally posted by azabob
                              Easty, how was the meal? What did you have?
                              We had the steaks Eye Fillet/Porterhouse. I had the Porterhouse myself.

Was very good.

Originally posted by HOSE B ROMERO

What was your review of the Steampacket?

A mate and i drop into there for a meal a couple of times a year.

I think there's been a pub on that site since 1861.
                                Decent food HOSE.

The service was very good as well.

Established 1863 the Steam Packet although I think the history dates back to 1839 - https://www.thesphotel.com.au/our-history