Re: Players On The Market 2016

Originally posted by anfo27
    I see this as a fail for SOS. They lose Tuohy for a pick upgrade & Smedts who has done nothing in his career thus far. Their list needs a lot of work so i would have thought they need as many decent picks as they can get their hands on. Would be pissed if I was a blues fan.
    They desperately need mids - Cripps will be doing the heavy lifting on his own next year if Gibbs is traded. The reigning premiership midfield has about 10 quality players that rotate through the middle, so I'm very happy to see other clubs continue to fall behind us in this area.

• boydogs
      • Apr 2009

Originally posted by comrade
      What's the penalty if you don't?
      AFL.com.au confirmed with the AFL that as long as a club has two first-round picks in a four-year period, they comply with the rules surrounding future first-round draft picks that were introduced ahead of last year's trading period.

Those rules introduced last season state that clubs must make at least two first-round selections in each four-year period or face restrictions from trading any further first-round draft picks and that clubs can trade one year in the future only.

Typical of this mob, just policy on the run

The deals that could be made today: I've removed Stevens and Hrovat from this list.

This from the HUN

Jaeger O’Meara (Gold Coast): Standoff continues. Hawks battling to satisfy Gold Coast, who say they won’t blink.

Bryce Gibbs (Carlton): Will the Zach Tuohy deal unlock everything? Insiders say 50-50.

Brett Deledio (Richmond): Giants or Dogs, but he won’t be a Tiger or Cat.

Josh Caddy (Geelong): Ball’s in his court. Does he want to play with mate Dion Prestia at Richmond?

Caleb Marchbank (Giants): Perhaps Geelong’s first-round pick for Tuohy gets him in navy blue

Will Hoskin-Elliott (Giant): Wants Collingwood, but will stay if it can’t be done.

Travis Cloke (Collingwood): Magpies want a pick of value to help pay for father-sons. Dogs offering packet of chips.

Jack Frost (Collingwood): Brisbane Lions. Lock it in.

Jarrod Witts (Collingwood): Gold Coast. Lock it in.

Shane Kersten (Geelong): Off to Fremantle.

Nathan Vardy (Geelong): Nic Nat out injured. Vardy in.

Marley Williams (Collingwood): Happy to leave. North Melbourne sniffing around.

James Stewart (Giants): Will co-pilot Joe Daniher in a refreshed Bombers attack.

HSun now reporting there was an agreement between Dogs and Deledio, but Bevo went cold on the deal. Yesterday we did an about face and re-entered the race, with Deledio doing a medical with us.

• Ozza

Hoping we hold our ground with the 'packet of chips'.

Originally posted by PeanutsPeanuts
                HSun now reporting there was an agreement between Dogs and Deledio, but Bevo went cold on the deal. Yesterday we did an about face and re-entered the race, with Deledio doing a medical with us.
                Well understandably he went elsewhere if true. If Bevo held any uncertainty, better we missed out. He's been in footy long enough to trust your first instinct, and we shouldn't have re-entered it in such circumstances.

Yep. If we made a late re-offer, suggests other deals may have been attempted that didn't eventuate. Lot going on beneath the surface. Today should be fun.

Every trade period ends chaotically with a shortened day. Why do they do this? Should be several days shorter, with the final day lengthened.

Originally posted by PeanutsPeanuts
                    Yep. If we made a late re-offer, suggests other deals may have been attempted that didn't eventuate. Lot going on beneath the surface. Today should be fun.

Every trade period ends chaotically with a shortened day. Why do they do this? Should be several days shorter, with the final day lengthened.
                    Confusing. Lids would have left us thinking we didn't really believe in him. He sees Leon Cameron & GWS Tuesday arvo and they say we do believe in you and want you. Pretty big contrast.

Maybe with Lids GWS can part with Kelly today...

Apparently no interest in Xavier Richards. Like no interest in Talia last year. With the good will we have, how about we give them the 74 Talia pick back for Richards.

Need a list spot, meaning Prudden gets delisted, we trade another player or we don't take Cloke.

Geelong may pick up Aaron Black

He's been in the system a while and seems to be versatile and mobile. He may not be the most creative of players but he could be worth a talk to.

Aaron Black to Geelong is in play for a late pick. Given the players they are losing it's a reasonable back up position for them

Originally posted by comrade
                                Need a list spot, meaning Prudden gets delisted, we trade another player or we don't take Cloke.
                                We have a signed heads of agreement with Colingwood they said today. So Cloke is coming, just the pick being finalised after Koby.

I'd cut Prudden.