Re: Early Trade Rumours 2023

Add the Hurley money to this and we should be big spenders!
    In somewhat seriousness, I’m a little surprised the media haven’t picked up on this yet (our spending power if we want to be aggressive this year). Or maybe it doesn’t sell or they don’t care?

Naughton to me is a must keep as is Tim

Originally posted by Mantis
        There isn't too many holes in the team to get us up at the pointy of the ladder and from the players mentioned, or the type of player mentioned it seems we know where those gaps are.

If only there was a fix for shoddy goal-kicking!
        I hope the club is right that we are on the cusp of contending, and as always the challenge is convincing players not to go to Richmond or Geelong... But if we could get good enough and young enough players to fill the gaps then maybe the list management team is right. To your latter point, add 5 goals to our tally each week including capitalising on momentum and that’s a fair start.

If we really believe we are contending, then forget my call of rebuild, then it needs to be all out aggression come trade time. We have picks and as much cash as any other club to wave around. We need to be brave enough to make some big calls, while knowing Croft is still ours for points and who knows about any NGAs slipping.

I wonder if we are so sure we are contending, why not find the cash to hire a specialist goal kicking coach. That probably makes more difference than most individual players.

Originally posted by mjp
          Thoughts on Bergman?
          Talented player but whats his best position or where would he play for us?

Ruck.

• Scraggers
              Premiership Moderator

Originally posted by Mantis
              There isn't too many holes in the team to get us up at the pointy of the ladder and from the players mentioned, or the type of player mentioned it seems we know where those gaps are.

If only there was a fix for shoddy goal-kicking!
              Why do we refuse to get a goal kicking coach? I just don't get it?? There were two teams with their most accurate goal kickers in the 50% range ... us with Weightman and Hawthorn. Every other team had their most accurate goal kicker in the 60-70% range.

• Axe Man

Add the Hurley money to this and we should be big spenders!
                I think we have some money stashed in the banana stand too.

Originally posted by Axe Man
                  I think we have some money stashed in the banana stand too.
                  Well I burned it down to the ground.

• Rocco Jones

In somewhat seriousness, I’m a little surprised the media haven’t picked up on this yet (our spending power if we want to be aggressive this year). Or maybe it doesn’t sell or they don’t care?
                    Yeah I don't think we sell nor does applying logic and reasoning, so it really doesn't matter too much if something might actually happen. Also, Power doesn't give much. Easier to just go big clubs will get guys, probably happens anyway, but better sell. Pies to get 'insert big name here'. By the time it is right or wrong, heaps of clicks.

• Rocket Science

More over I find the ?we are still in our window? most interesting. I think it?s time for a rebuild, but clearly (if true) the club thinks we are a few tweaks and a few new players off a flag. I?m not so sure.
                      You'd reckon the 'window' talk is rather more related to the Bont turning 28 next birthday (and offering Naughton/English more incentive to hang around) than the present list oozing legit premiership energy.

Irrespective, if we're going for it, Power's got some gaping holes to plug.

• mjp

Where would he play?

Well - I think he would slide between half-back and wing for the next 12-18 months then become a bit of a defend first mid as he moves into his mid-20's. He played on Jeremy Cameron last week (who isn't in great form I admit) but seemed to control that matchup and was strong and decisive in his movements to either win the footy or control Cameron's leading patterns.

Honestly? I see him as a Hargrave type defender who can play on smalls if he has too, talls if he needs too and essentially be a back 7 (if you count 1x winger as a defender in the way we seem to be lately) 'cover all' who can 'fix any problem'. I would say I see Morris qualities in him ('cos I do) but he seems to be better on the soft skills than Dale (UM, ball movement) and not quite as good at simply understanding that there are times when you simply need to get a hand in there and disrupt 'stuff' - but that is a very hard to define skill and not too many other players have EVER had it.

Originally posted by mjp
                          Where would he play?

Well - I think he would slide between half-back and wing for the next 12-18 months then become a bit of a defend first mid as he moves into his mid-20's. He played on Jeremy Cameron last week (who isn't in great form I admit) but seemed to control that matchup and was strong and decisive in his movements to either win the footy or control Cameron's leading patterns.

Honestly? I see him as a Hargrave type defender who can play on smalls if he has too, talls if he needs too and essentially be a back 7 (if you count 1x winger as a defender in the way we seem to be lately) 'cover all' who can 'fix any problem'. I would say I see Morris qualities in him ('cos I do) but he seems to be better on the soft skills than Dale (UM, ball movement) and not quite as good at simply understanding that there are times when you simply need to get a hand in there and disrupt 'stuff' - but that is a very hard to define skill and not too many other players have EVER had it.
                          Terrific recommendation so thanks. I thought he was suitable to both a wing and a back flank role but given we have both Dale and Richards and probably JJ for another year it was likely that we would need him more as a winger.
                          The next question might be what sort of draft range pick would be needed to get him?

Terrific recommendation so thanks. I thought he was suitable to both a wing and a back flank role but given we have both Dale and Richards and probably JJ for another year it was likely that we would need him more as a winger.
                            The next question might be what sort of draft range pick would be needed to get him?
                            For me, Brisbane’s First Rounder is about it in a strong draft abc him out of contract. We could sweeten it with a draft points trade that benefits us but pushed them up the order, picks permitting.

He'd take an intercept marking role ahead of a rebounding defender role.

Originally posted by Mofra
                                He'd take an intercept marking role ahead of a rebounding defender role.
                                So a role similar to what Doedee offers?