The greatest cheats of all.

• The Adelaide Connection

So a 77K fine, 40K suspended for administrative errors.
      The AFL is having a laugh. Why not advise who made the error and how it was made ie was it deliberate?
      Why not?

Well, why not include Bailey Smith in the audit rather than say it looks fine and we are just going to concentrate on 2024 back?

Why? Well, transparency is the enemy here. They also don't want to look where they might find something.

images-2.jpg

• Aidan7557
        • Jan 2025

So a 77K fine, 40K suspended for administrative errors.
        The AFL is having a laugh. Why not advise who made the error and how it was made ie was it deliberate?
        Confidentially will be the reason but I agree. Release the errors so everyone knows what they were and if they were serious. Again just so dodgy.

Originally posted by Aidan7557

Confidentially will be the reason but I agree. Release the errors so everyone knows what they were and if they were serious. Again just so dodgy.
          WE have been fined several times for admin errors, but not as high as the Geelong one, and no names were named

I just think there is more to what Geelong players get outside of the club contract and they are getting away with it.

The only way anything would come to light is if there was a genuine whistle blower coming forward with more than anecdotal evidence on either the third party side or the club's side. Unfortunately though, the club's and its sponsor's (particularly Cotton On) employees have an almost cult like approach to their respective employers.

Plus, we don't exactly treat whistle blowers well in this country..............

So it's pretty easy for this type of stuff to be swept under the rug. The AFL only bares its teeth when it absolutely has to.

The only way anything would come to light is if there was a genuine whistle blower coming forward with more than anecdotal evidence on either the third party side or the club's side. Unfortunately though, the club's and its sponsor's (particularly Cotton On) employees have an almost cult like approach to their respective employers.

Plus, we don't exactly treat whistle blowers well in this country..............

So it's pretty easy for this type of stuff to be swept under the rug. The AFL only bares its teeth when it absolutely has to.
              Geelong must have Jeffrey Epstein levels of dirt on the AFEL Commission.

Did anyone hear Mark Robinson on SEN unload on Bailey Smith, the AFL and the Cats for not addressing Smith's antics?
                He didn't miss

• dukedog
                  • Dec 2014

Originally posted by Aidan7557

HAHAHAHHA those numbers for the fine is a crock of garbage. that would be in the petty cash drawer. Thats not even a slap on the wrist. Im sure we arn't talking 3rd party payments like...oh we didnt record that a player received a case of beer from a local boutique brewery when he visited because the owner was a cats fan. What was the value of the failed to report.... if i was 1 millions bucks. then 75k you would do that shit next season aswell.

• Axe Man

Did anyone hear Mark Robinson on SEN unload on Bailey Smith, the AFL and the Cats for not addressing Smith's antics?
                    He didn't miss
                    Media Street: Mark Robinson’s scathing AFL attack disappears from league’s Trade Radio platform

A scathing attack on the AFL's handling of player behaviour from former Herald Sun chief football writer Mark Robinson has vanished from Trade Radio's archives, sparking questions about league censorship.

It’s the mysterious case of the missing audio and AFL censorship.

Filling air time on the AFL’s Trade Radio product is a tough gig and the Thursday morning crew, hosted by Channel Nine’s Tom Morris and former Essendon great James Hird, decided to give an old friend a call.

They got former Herald Sun chief football writer Mark “Robbo” Robinson on the line to tell a few stories from the good old days of trade week like Chris Judd’s move from West Coast to Carlton.

The chat soon veered onto more recent topics and this is where things got interesting.

Robbo came off the long run and launched a stunning attack on the league over its mis-handling of Bailey Smith, citing the Geelong star’s recent poor behaviour towards women including an unsavoury Instagram post from Cats Mad Monday where teammate Max Holmes dressed up as reporter Caroline Wilson.

He said he was disappointed new AFL footy boss Greg Swann hadn’t come down hard on Smith while also criticising the original appointment of Laura Kane to that role saying it was “a wrong decision”.

At the end of the program Morris lauded the chat saying: “Mark Robinson was something else, Robbo. Have a listen on the podcast if you missed it. It was some sort of chat.”

For those who missed it, all of Trade Radio’s programs are available on the AFL website so you can catch up with what you’ve missed.

This is where Inspector Clouseau needs to be called in.

At the 41-minute mark of the podcast review of the show Morris throws to Robbo coming up next. But there is no Robbo on the other side of the break. In fact he is nowhere to be found.

Trade Radio is produced by Craig Hutchison’s Sports Entertainment Network for the AFL who run it live on the AFL App and their website. Hutchison came up with the original idea back in 2013 with this year’s starting even earlier than normal during Grand Final week.

It’s understood the AFL have control over content while they utilise SEN studios and talent for some of the Trade Radio shows.

For those who are wondering what all the fuss is about, this is a taste of Robbo on Trade Radio.

“Some of the players are really starting to s**t me,” he said.

“I want to talk about Bailey Smith and everyone is going to call me a woke, silly old fool, but for Bailey Smith to abuse the photographer is one thing, that’s really poor.

“For Bailey Smith to be a part of an Instagram photo with (Holmes dressed as) Caroline Wilson and put a (colloquially) semen emoji up there is one of the most disgusting things I’ve seen a player do.

“If it was my mother, or my sister, or my wife ... I can guarantee you myself and my three brothers would be going around to say hello to Bailey Smith.

“Who does he think he is to put a semen emoji on a photo of (Holmes dressed as) Caroline Wilson.

“It’s not woke to call it out. It’s decency. Be a decent person. And for the AFL to allow that to go unpunished is one of the most disgusting inactions by the AFL in my time in football.

“We can all laugh at Bailey Smith and say he’s just a young man, you can have fun without being a pig.

“I’m disappointed in Greg Swann and in Andrew Dillon for allowing that to go through to the keeper without punishment.”

Robbo said the league was letting players get away with too much, pointing at Clayton Oliver’s expletive-laden response to a TV reporter last week.

“I’ve been really disappointed. The Clayton Oliver stuff. Fair dinkum. Does the AFL understand that the whole country is watching their players act like absolute bozos and it’s a bad reflection on the AFL and the players where it’s f-n this and they drop c-bombs,” he said.

“And I’ll say it again. Bailey Smith doing that to Caroline Wilson, and I’m no good friend of Caroline Wilson, for him to do that to any woman is absolutely disgusting and the AFL did nothing. I cannot believe it.”
                    ​​

It was a ripper listen and for once I agree with Robbo. AFL are a joke, especially when it comes to Geelong

God I hate Geelong.

Originally posted by Go_Dogs
                          God I hate Geelong.
                          Yes they have gone past Essendon and Carlton as my most hated.

They've always been a top line shit stain to me

I see that serial narcissist could not shut up for even 24 hours and has returned fire against Slobbo.

He is so toxic he is going to single-handedly blow up their 2007-2025 dynasty. Of course when he does, he will whip out that break glass for emergency mental health card.

I see that serial narcissist could not shut up for even 24 hours and has returned fire against Slobbo.

He is so toxic he is going to single-handedly blow up their 2007-2025 dynasty. Of course when he does, he will whip out that break glass for emergency mental health card.
                                He posted a Sam Newman video attacking Caro too, well a screen shot of it and promptly removed. From yesteryear. He can't be challenged.
                                He's clearly not well.