Re: 2014 Rising Star Nominations

It was clear the fix was in about a week and a half ago, maybe two weeks. All of a sudden the Taylor talk started and more and more the commentariate jumped on board as they got wind of what was going on.
    Spot on.

Disappointing outcome, and I hope we make a bit of noise about it in the media. Bont played a challenging role, turned matches and despite playing less games, was the more consistent player. I'm also a bit disappointed the Club didn't push the agenda as others clubs do when pumping up their prospects. I know it doesn't fit in with our mantra, but why should we sit back and accept our lot without making any noise or promoting our Club, our brand and our players.

• boydogs
      • Apr 2009

Going to be interesting to watch how they stop Bonti getting goal of the year now

• kruder

Do we ever win anything? I also support Aston Villa dam it gets hard sometimes!

What I'm more surprised about is the lack of media on Stringer. There isnt a young forward in the game that has got anywhere near his form post the second bye.

'

Originally posted by kruder
          Do we ever win anything? I also support Aston Villa dam it gets hard sometimes!

What I'm more surprised about is the lack of media on Stringer. There isnt a young forward in the game that has got anywhere near his form post the second bye.

'
          Adam White of 774 and 927 put both Bont and Stringer in his top five.

Makes me sick. What an absolute fix. Nobody gave two hoots about Taylor prior to a week or two ago, when suddenly everybody started beating his drum. The media love for him in the last week or so has been ridiculous. He's not a bad player at all and had a good first year, but I wouldn't mention him in the same breath as Bonti.

I'm disappointed in Macca and the club as a whole. He said a few times "either boy will be deserving" ... stop playing universal good guy and voice support for your own player, like all the Brisbane players and officials who started the noise for Taylor.

I swear we're so spineless compared to other clubs.

And how does Stringer not get a single vote?

Crock of BS. Makes you further disillusioned with the game of AFL footy.

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
                Makes me sick. What an absolute fix. Nobody gave two hoots about Taylor prior to a week or two ago, when suddenly everybody started beating his drum. The media love for him in the last week or so has been ridiculous. He's not a bad player at all and had a good first year, but I wouldn't mention him in the same breath as Bonti.

I'm disappointed in Macca and the club as a whole. He said a few times "either boy will be deserving" ... stop playing universal good guy and voice support for your own player, like all the Brisbane players and officials who started the noise for Taylor.

Both Wallace and Eade were very good at promoting the club, but that has really died in the last three years,

Aside from teaching young players and speaking well at functions I can't think of anything Macca excels at.

Safe to say I am not a fan three years in.

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite

Spot on.

We're so desperate to fly under the radar and avoid offending anyone that we're just a door mat. Get some *!*!*!*!ing spine.

Who gives a shit if people don't like us, it's not like we could get shafted any worse.

I remember Macca hosing down a reporter for referring to Bonts as a poster boy for the club, I would have rather he embraced the excitement the public hasd for one of our players rather than completely dismiss it. I think it was the same week he decided it'd be a good idea to bag the Charlie Sutton runner up in public. Bonts would be all over my membership campaign for 2015! Hopefully Macca has no influence on that.

We're all very lucky to have him, Macrae and Stringer. All 3 of these guys would be taken over Taylor in a draft now and all will be better players. We should celebrate that rather than some meaningless award.

Sidenote - https://twitter.com/ralphyheraldsun/...28099653849088

Jon Ralph is a haughty dickhead.

• boydogs
                          • Apr 2009

Originally posted by kruder
                          What I'm more surprised about is the lack of media on Stringer. There isnt a young forward in the game that has got anywhere near his form post the second bye.'
                          Stringer beat Bonts in our B&F

• Topdog

When Gerald Healy (who likes a punt btw) first announced that Taylor was a big chance he was paying $34

• Ozza

There was definitely a reaction in the room to Cameron Ling's votes yesterday.

Apart from that, all i'd say is that its disappointing that Bonti didn't win, I don't agree with the judges - but saying its an AFL conspiracy is a bit hysterical. As is having a sook about McCartney not grandstanding enough about Bonti winning it, prior to the day. If an opposition coach banged on about how his player should win a rising star or brownlow or whatever, we'd be calling him a flog.

Met both Bonti and Lewis Taylor briefly yesterday - both seemed to be excellent young men.

Originally posted by Ozza
                                There was definitely a reaction in the room to Cameron Ling's votes yesterday.

Apart from that, all i'd say is that its disappointing that Bonti didn't win, I don't agree with the judges - but saying its an AFL conspiracy is a bit hysterical. As is having a sook about McCartney not grandstanding enough about Bonti winning it, prior to the day. If an opposition coach banged on about how his player should win a rising star or brownlow or whatever, we'd be calling him a flog.

Met both Bonti and Lewis Taylor briefly yesterday - both seemed to be excellent young men.
                                It's not like that at all Ozza. More about promoting our club which our coach doesn't do one bit. Bonts is a very exciting young player why down play that?