• Aidan7557
    • Jan 2025

I hope Brambles game tonight gives him a bit of latitude with our supporters
    Like Naughton he needed that one, had been going ok but nowhere near his 2024 season. Hopefully gives him confidence. Still our defense is iffy. Coffield was poor and hard to watch and still feels we are one elite kicker short. That was Freijah but he was moved forward and dominated. JJ, Coffield, Cleary, Duyrea that last one or two small back spot is a weak point. We could try a third tall but MC doesn't seem to like that set up

Originally posted by weltschmerz

Hynes seems like a fierce competitor who won't ever hesitate to fend someone off or go for the hard ball. I'm really excited to see how he develops, I think we've really found something here.
      Liked how he went tonight and in general his first season in the games he has played. Looks like we got a good one here.

• mighty_west
        • Feb 2008

Was just a great game of footy and a bloody gutsy win, so many times it's been us who have cost games in front of goals, we won it as much as Sydney lost it tonight and absolutely one of our best wins for the season!!!!

Aaaannnd what does Fox do ?
          Brings up JUH would be good at Sydney ..
          ffs leave it alone it has nothing to do with the great game that just happened.

Originally posted by mighty_west
            Was just a great game of footy and a bloody gutsy win, so many times it's been us who have cost games in front of goals, we won it as much as Sydney lost it tonight and absolutely one of our best wins for the season!!!!
            Bevo said in his presser the game was similar to other games we lost but this time we ground out a win.

Great move by Bevo to change Freijah's role in the 3rd quarter.

Freijah didn't come off the ground in the 3rd and hardly at all in the last.

Originally posted by comrade
              How good was Hynes at times. Throw in Sanders and Freijah and the kids are alright.
              That hold of release and small step to let the pressure run by him gave me shivers. Then to follow it up with two smothers in three seconds to retain the footy forward half gave me whatever is next up from shivers.

Originally posted by Aidan7557

Like Naughton he needed that one, had been going ok but nowhere near his 2024 season. Hopefully gives him confidence. Still our defense is iffy. Coffield was poor and hard to watch and still feels we are one elite kicker short. That was Freijah but he was moved forward and dominated. JJ, Coffield, Cleary, Duyrea that last one or two small back spot is a weak point. We could try a third tall but MC doesn't seem to like that set up
                Reckon Coffield had second game back blues. Massive jump up in pressure and didn't cope.

I'm prepared to persevere with him given he's played barely any games the last few years.

Originally posted by ledge
                  Can't help themselves. My living room is full of red and white jizz from the commentary and now it's closer to St Kilda due to the shit coming out of the TV post game.

Originally posted by ledge
                    Morons that is for sure

Just like to say Papley and his goal celebrations can **** right off and take that ugly moosh with him .

• angelopetraglia

The word flog is overused. But it’s still the appropriate word to describe Papley. Seriously. What a flog.

• BornInDroopSt'54

Originally posted by merantau
                          That was the toughest game I have ever watched. 76 years old, and I cannot ever remember feeling so emotionally exhausted - yet so elated - after a home and away game. I kept saying to my wife: "This game is killing me!"
                          The tension went off the scale in the last quarter and it increased as the minutes went by.

What a victory! So much on the line. A win for the ages. Self belief builder. They threw everything at us but we answered every challenge. So proud of this team. GO DOGS!
                          I had to make Chinese dumplings to cope, too intense when Sydney got a run on and the game was fiercely competed, our midfield handicapped by poor surface, umpires crazily favouring the crowd and Swans.
                          At 71 it can be edgy, don't want a stroke or heart attack.
                          So I had faith and Bulldogs rewarded the faithful.
                          It was great to hear our fans chanting hope late.
                          Footscray Football Republic.

Originally posted by angelopetraglia
                            The word flog is overused. But it’s still the appropriate word to describe Papley. Seriously. What a flog.
                            He gambled hard on a narrative and for the most part his team mates backed him up. They really took it up to us in terms of pressure, but were let down by inefficiency and looseness in the contest to give Tim a couple of early breaks.

What I don't understand is why someone like him (a flog if you will) is so celebrated by the commentariat. I personally like the quiet guy who goes at the ball and man hard, but fairly, and just brushes off others who do the same, and or put the Papley's in their place. Kids watch Papley not get his face smashed in on the field after being a wanker, and get beaten up by groups of other kids and slashed with machetes and wonder why!

He's almost the perfect "back in my day" player. Every single generation could think of different ways in which they would hurt him.

• BornInDroopSt'54

Joel Freijah's last goal was outrageous, given he chose to run straight ahead instead of towards goal, and turned the ball to snap it. Outrageous.
                              His balance is elite and so smooth, a star.
                              Footscray Football Republic.

We have some great kids coming through.

Freijah has been great since starting with us. Sanders has come on well he will be a very good player. Hynes has looked very good when he has played this season for a first year player. JOD still on the younger side and been very good down back. Darcy we all know about.