Re: Official 2008 Draft/Trade Thread

Originally posted by 42-C-3
    Lets WOOF work out the trade.

This is not the final. Picks to be added, feel free to play.

Ray - Freo
    Mundy - Hawks
    Thorpe - Dogs

What else do we or others have to add to mix to get this deal done?
    Freo would want a bit more. Perhaps trading our 2nd round pick for their 3rd round pick might get the job done. (They just move up a few spots)
    The Hawks should also add a bit to Freo as well.

What I find interesting about all the speculation with Thorp is that rather than chase Mundy, why hasn't Thorp been tried as a key defender by the Hawks?

I have seen Thorp a couple of times this year and he just doesn't look to be the answer as a key forward but I think he could be worth a try as a key defender. I wonder if his work rate isn't that flash.

• DOG GOD
      • Jul 2007

I know a couple of people that know him here in Tassie and they say that he's a LAZY footballer.

Freo would want a bit more. Perhaps trading our 2nd round pick for their 3rd round pick might get the job done. (They just move up a few spots)
        The Hawks should also add a bit to Freo as well.

What I find interesting about all the speculation with Thorp is that rather than chase Mundy, why hasn't Thorp been tried as a key defender by the Hawks?

I have seen Thorp a couple of times this year and he just doesn't look to be the answer as a key forward but I think he could be worth a try as a key defender. I wonder if his work rate isn't that flash.
        Ray and Picks 30 (wb), 47 (haw) (?) - Freo
        Mundy and Pick 51 (freo) - Hawks
        Thorp and Pick 35 (freo)- Dogs

=

Freo get Ray, upgrades: 3rd to second and fourth to 3rd
        Hawthorn Get Mundy and downgrade a third rounder
        Dogs get Thorp and lose Ray and down grade a second rounder

Hawthorn would probably ask for a little more in return, because as previously said, they've shopped Boyle around trying to attain a first round draft pick so one would assume Thorp would come at a bit of a cost too.

Has Mundy officially asked to be traded home?

If so, then perhaps a three way trade is possible, fairing something similar to the suggestions above.

• Scorlibo

When I saw Thorp play his first game I thought he would be the next big thing. Would love him at the dogs. Hawthorn would demand heaps though, and having resigned him earlier this year probably means he won't be on the trade table anyway.

Another few players who I would be interested in: Ben Reid (Collingwood), Beau Dowler (Hawthorn), Kozi
            'And the Western suburbs erupt!'

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
              Hawthorn would probably ask for a little more in return, because as previously said, they've shopped Boyle around trying to attain a first round draft pick so one would assume Thorp would come at a bit of a cost too.
              I think in this (unlikely) scenario they have admitted that Munday is worth more than Thorp. Actually getting no takers for Boyle last year will have them rethinking their approach for the almost untried Thorp.

• Bulldogs_6

Bulldogs, Freo, Melbourne, Hawks

Dogs Lose: Ray and 2nd/3rd Rounder
                Dogs Gain: Thorp

Freo Lose: Warnock, Mundy
                Freo Gain: Pick 17, Farren Ray, Dogs 2nd/3rd rounder

Melbourne Lose: Pick 17, 3rd rounder
                Melbourne Gain: Warnock

Hawks Lose: Thorp
                Hawks Gain: Mundy, 3rd rounder

Win/Win/Win/0-0 Draw for the 'Orks

• Scorlibo

Its never gonna happen, but yes all is seemingly even.
                  'And the Western suburbs erupt!'

• Desipura

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                    The Thorp quote was:

Brereton: I think the Dogs should target Thorp
                    Robinson: My mail is they're already all over him.
                    I heard it the other way around.

• Desipura

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                      We enquired about Boyle, they said "we want Higgins" we said "**** off".

If we get into Thorp's ear about opportunity and he asks to be traded we might be in a bit better position. If he cost us Higgins, so be it, I'd do it.

Boyle for Higgins? Surely they were taking the piss.
                      Totally agree about Higins for Thorp. Interesting after the draft Clayton rated Thorp the most natural CHF he has seen.

Originally posted by Desipura
                        Totally agree about Higins for Thorp. Interesting after the draft Clayton rated Thorp the most natural CHF he has seen.
                        Higgins will not be going, he is a 200 gamer, give em Ray instead

I know footballers aren't generally that smart, but Thorp should realise he will never crack into that Hawthorn forward line. In our forward line however, i'm sure he'd get a game or 200.

Originally posted by Esranit
                            Higgins will not be going, he is a 200 gamer, give em Ray instead
                            Farren Ray will probably end up playing 200 games too so I don't think how many games the individual will play should come into. More important is worth to the team of the individual and the quality of these games.

• Rocket Science

Altering tack slightly, any thoughts on the prospect of using Ray to pitch for Nick Dal Santo?

Got chatting with a devoted Saint supporting acquaintance over the weekend and he suggests they're getting fed up with him...he'd also just watched Ray gather 31 touches for the Gulls that arvo. and that admittedly combined with ample liquid refreshment had him eager to sign off on a Ray for Dal Santo trade pronto.

I suspect he's undersold his boy a bit value-wise, and if I was Ross Lyon I wouldn't be coughing up him up just yet, but Dal Santo has had a chequered year including a demotion to the VFL, and the number of Saints fans beying for his blood because he's 'soft' and hasn't come on quite as expected of late seems to growing...I personally think he's a pretty special player with considerable improvement and would make a quality addition to any midfield...he'd certainly be an upgrade over Ray in both the immediate and long term.

If his standing/value at Moorabbin has taken a hit over the past year or two, might it be worth sniffing around under the 'buy low' theory?

Originally posted by Rocket Science
                                Altering tack slightly, any thoughts on the prospect of using Ray to pitch for Nick Dal Santo?

Got chatting with a devoted Saint supporting acquaintance over the weekend and he suggests they're getting fed up with him...he'd also just watched Ray gather 31 touches for the Gulls that arvo. and that admittedly combined with ample liquid refreshment had him eager to sign off on a Ray for Dal Santo trade pronto.

I suspect he's undersold his boy a bit value-wise, and if I was Ross Lyon I wouldn't be coughing up him up just yet, but Dal Santo has had a chequered year including a demotion to the VFL, and the number of Saints fans beying for his blood because he's 'soft' and hasn't come on quite as expected of late seems to growing...I personally think he's a pretty special player with considerable improvement and would make a quality addition to any midfield...he'd certainly be an upgrade over Ray in both the immediate and long term.

If his standing/value at Moorabbin has taken a hit over the past year or two, might it be worth sniffing around under the 'buy low' theory?
                                I'd take him, but the cost would be more than Ray, perhaps even a second rounder.

Would not leave us room to go after a KPP such as a Thorp?