• The Coon Dog

Re: Schadenfreude anyone?

Originally posted by Dantè Hicks
    I would throw a banana at him if I had a chance.
    Why waste a good banana? Be different if it was a brown bruised one!
    [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

• Ozza

Whatever you think about Rawlings' playing career with us and the whatever went on there - is pretty irrelevant.

What is relevant, is that it is well documented that he is a footy nut and he has a very good football brain. From what I have seen and heard - Rawlings will make a very good senior coach down the track. I hope he gets a chance.

• Dancin' Douggy

Originally posted by mighty_west
        I'm sure Rocket couldn't give a stuff whats going on with Richmond, his ex team mate, why would he feel great about Wallace being sacked? Thay are team mates from way back!
        OK.... When Terry walked out on the dogs he had the Sydney job signed sealed and delivered. This is generally accepted as fact. Yes, even within AFL ranks.
        That's why his public reasons for leaving the dogs never really made much sense.

Eade was the senior coach of Sydney at the time and the deal was done mid-season, with a contracted coach from another club, completely behind his back.

When the wise people of Sydney found out Wallace was heading their way they protested loudly and publicly for Roos.
        Neither the club nor Wallace could admit a deal had been done.
        The Swans members got their way (and a flag for their trouble).
        Wallace was suddenly out of a job.

Name one (respected at the time) senior coach who has walked away from a lucrative position like that, when the club still wanted him, in the history of the game.
        NONE.

Wallace misjudged the situation badly.
        He didn't get the hero's send off he envisaged,
        as the players told him to $%#@&%$ off, and he didn't get the Sydney job either.

He was effectively unemployed until all the fanfare of joining Richmond (he he he he ho ho ha ha ha haaaaaaaa)

I'm not saying Rocket will be jumping up and down screaming
        "YEAH COP THAT YOU C%#$T".
        But a little sense of smugness just may creep in now and again.
        It's sweetly ironic that Eade happens to be in Charge of the Dogs now and Wallets career seems well and truly over.

• The Coon Dog

^^^^^^^^^^^

Well surmised there DD!
          [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

• BulldogBelle

Originally posted by Dancin' Douggy
            OK.... When Terry walked out on the dogs he had the Sydney job signed sealed and delivered. This is generally accepted as fact. Yes, even within AFL ranks.
            Not only that I remember at the time I had bought John Elliot's book and there was a reference in the book that Wallet presented himself to Carlton also (who was coach hunting at the time I think) and said he would bring along a sponsor with him and then a year later a player...no guessing who that might have been. Then again, John Elliot....who knows if what he wrote is correct.

Originally posted by Ozza
              Whatever you think about Rawlings' playing career with us and the whatever went on there - is pretty irrelevant.

What is relevant, is that it is well documented that he is a footy nut and he has a very good football brain. From what I have seen and heard - Rawlings will make a very good senior coach down the track. I hope he gets a chance.
              Wallace had a pretty good football brain as well.

• BulldogBelle

Well Well.....

Wallace revealed for the first time his pain over his acrimonious departure from the Western Bulldogs

In 2002 Wallace was happy to coach out the season after telling the club of his decision to leave, but was eventually pushed aside for Round 22 by president David Smorgon.

Wallace told 3AW he was determined not to play out that scenario again.

"I had a really unfortunate finish at the Western Bulldogs and it cut a lot of Bulldogs people deeply and it cut me very deeply," he said.

"If I did it again I would do if very differently. If you don't learn from mistakes, you are going down a bad path."

Click HERE for rest of article....

Is Wallace the prodical son? Far out, who gives a stuff.
                  He made his own bed there, only he at the time couldn't tell he made a mistake. 6 years later when at his lowest point he realises he burnt his bridges. Its more comical than sympathetic.

• Desipura

I was told indirectly by a well known (some will say champion) ex player that when Wallace was assistant to Joyce, he met the players at a local pub and told them he could take the team to where they "wanted to go" in other words to a premiership.

He made commments to the senior players that to do this they would have to protest against the current coach continuing.
                    Years later we found out that a certain champion player did not see eye to eye with Wallace, I wonder why?

Yesterday on 3AW Sheahan asked Wallace why the playing list is not in the best shape, he replied that they do not have enough 23 to 28yo players hence why they have had to retain the 30+year olds on their list.Well hello? You were there 5 years, 18yo + 5 years = 23yo, why did he not recruit talented enough players that would still be playing in that age bracket?
                    Loves to divert attention when it suits him. Also he refused to comment on why Schultz, Morton, Adam Thomson who they recruited as a 22yo for memory were not playing seniors. He replied that he never spoke about individual players, absolute crap!

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
                      ^^^^^^^^^^^

Well surmised there DD!

Summarised Baz. DD'd be guessing if he were surmising...

Dancin' Dougie summed it up perfectly. I think there might have been an issue re- both leaving the Hawks.Funnily enough Richmond were involved.

Originally posted by BulldogBelle
                          Well Well.....

Wallace revealed for the first time his pain over his acrimonious departure from the Western Bulldogs

In 2002 Wallace was happy to coach out the season after telling the club of his decision to leave, but was eventually pushed aside for Round 22 by president David Smorgon.

Wallace told 3AW he was determined not to play out that scenario again.

"I had a really unfortunate finish at the Western Bulldogs and it cut a lot of Bulldogs people deeply and it cut me very deeply," he said.

"If I did it again I would do if very differently. If you don't learn from mistakes, you are going down a bad path."

Click HERE for rest of article....
                          Well f*** me he finally admits he made a mistake with his departure!! Some hankering for an olive branch after his time with the tigers?

Call me a bleeding heart but I reckon we can now all let the judas brown, wallace stuff go eh?
                            Facts are: he almost won us a flag, he made a few career move bloopers, seems like an okay sort of a guy, and he walked into a footy club culture at Richmond which was gothic, reactionary and incestuous- where Genghis Khan, the Dalai Lama, Che Guevarra, Ho Chi Minh, Richard Nixon even John Kennedy, with Barack Obama as assistant coach, could not hope to reform. Further evidence= Tiger's supporters, and their inclination towards a sort of collective form of rabies.
                            So lets not start frothing at the mouth...Take a deep breath and let it all go...

Originally posted by timbo
                              Take a deep breath and let it all go...
                              Yeah OK.

Will send him some flowers while I'm at it.

Poor Terry.

Sure, go ahead...
                                As long as the flowers are a coupla days old, and were price reduced at Woolies.
                                Don't want him back at the doggies.....