Re: Ekers

Originally posted by chef
      I was thinking Tom Campbell is ours.
      Tough one. I'm leaning towards Jack....

Redpath 7 seasons for 34 games
      Campbell 7 seasons for 42 games.

So many back up ruck Ekers. Harder to do it as a big old key forward.

Both taken at the same rookie draft (along with Jong!).

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
        I remember the day Majak Daw kicked so many goals v us I had to look away. He's been cashing in on that performance for years since.
        Originally posted by S Coast Simon
        I remember that day. Five goals from Daw I couldn't watch in the end. And as you say. Living off that performance ever since
        I remember being at the game watching my North supporting mate getting so excited "we've found a star!" he was saying. I had to tell him to calm down and relax because Majak would never get to play on opponents like Lukas Markovic and Mark Austen in an AFL game ever again.

• Ghost Dog
          • May 2010

I remember being at the game watching my North supporting mate getting so excited "we've found a star!" he was saying. I had to tell him to calm down and relax because Majak would never get to play on opponents like Lukas Markovic and Mark Austen in an AFL game ever again.
          Laughed when I Read that TwoD. I've counselled many a North fan in my time behind goals. Perhaps there is some reciprocal 'small club' kindred spirit there. You sort of let them have their fun for a bit, then when reality sinks in, try not to cheer too hard for your own boys. It's a complex task that requires sensitivity!

I felt so sorry for Marco at one point that season I wrote to the club to try and encourage him and I got a reply! haha.
          Brad Scott often used to say " On his day, Majak is unstoppable". Providing he had paddocks of space to run straight lines in and battler like Marco turtling behind him, that may have just been the case.

Cheesy was in the team at that point from memory. My favourite Bulldog eker of all time.

• Axe Man

Originally posted by Rocco Jones
            So many vacancies...

Crows- Kyle Cheney
            Lions- Josh Walker
            Blues-
            Pies-
            Dons- Shaun McKernan
            Freo-
            Cats-
            Suns- Daniel Currie
            GWS- Dawson Simpson
            Hawks-
            North- Majak Daw
            Dees-
            Port-
            Tigers- Shaun Hampson
            Saints- Sam Gilbert
            Swans-
            Eagles-
            Bulldogs-
            Apeness a candidate for Freo? 4 years for 7 games. Very injury affected but well on the way to following in the footsteps of big man eker royalty like Currie.

• merantau
              • May 2015

Daniel Currie usually manages to snag a goal here and there. This part of his skill set keeps him front and centre in the MC's deliberations whenever his name crops up.
              [URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]

Originally posted by Rocco Jones
                So many vacancies...

Crows- Kyle Cheney
                Lions- Josh Walker
                Blues-
                Pies-
                Dons- Shaun McKernan
                Freo-
                Cats-
                Suns- Daniel Currie
                GWS- Dawson Simpson
                Hawks-
                North- Majak Daw
                Dees-
                Port-
                Tigers- Shaun Hampson
                Saints- Sam Gilbert
                Swans-
                Eagles-
                Bulldogs-
                Surely Josh Cowan gets a Guernsey for Geelong? 8 years for 16 games as a midfielder is HOF material!

• Axe Man

Originally posted by Greystache
                  Surely Josh Cowan gets a Guernsey for Geelong? 8 years for 16 games as a midfielder is HOF material!
                  As I posted on the previous page he's sadly been delisted so the eker title at the Cats is up for grabs.

• Scraggers
                    Premiership Moderator

Originally posted by Axe Man
                    Apeness a candidate for Freo? 4 years for 7 games. Very injury affected but well on the way to following in the footsteps of big man eker royalty like Currie.
                    Cam McCarthy??? If not for the man-bun alone !!

Rhys Stanley and Lachie Henderson have been bog standard for the majority of their careers and have both been at multiple clubs. Reckon they are both eker-worthy.

• Axe Man

Originally posted by Scraggers
                        Cam McCarthy??? If not for the man-bun alone !!
                        Man bun wearers are the polar opposite of ekers. Ekers are good honest hard working types, just lacking in talent. Man bun wearers are far too assured of themselves (often misplaced) to be a humble eker.

Besides McCarthy has played 20 and 19 games in the past 2 seasons he's played - hardly eker stats.

If we were compiling a biggest flog list at each club he could potentially be right up there though.

• Axe Man

Rhys Stanley and Lachie Henderson have been bog standard for the majority of their careers and have both been at multiple clubs. Reckon they are both eker-worthy.
                          I feel both have played too many games to qualify, particularly Henderson who will likely end up a 250 game player.

Originally posted by Axe Man
                            I feel both have played too many games to qualify, particularly Henderson who will likely end up a 250 game player.

Indeed. They may have the talent of an eker but they break the rules by playing too much.

• Bulldog Revolution

Another classic dimension of the asker is to have appeared at multiple clubs

Henderson is far too good to be considered one but if Stanley had played for another two clubs he'd be royalty

• westdog54

I think it's best to wait until the end of the DFA periods and PSD before making any eker calls.

You never know who will get thrown a lifeline.