Re: Campbell Rose - PR Flunky

Campbell Rose was the perfect choice to go on last night precisely because he is not a nuts & bolts football person and could therefore take the emotional irrationality out of the decision, which I thought he did with aplomb and a touch of class. It was also important for all our leaders of the club to go public and provide a united front, so last night was Campbell's turn to take the mic. This shows the football world that this decision was not made by Smorgon, or Rocket, or the players, or the CEO, or the Footy Ops Manager. It was made by the entire club.

I initially thought we should just ignore TFS' request to appear on the show last night but in hindsight that would have been the soft option and would have given Aker/Sam full license and a free hit. As it turned out, they got some cheap points with their rent-a-crowd of "bogans and no-shows" but the 3 things that untimately stood out were 1) "at least I'll be remembered", 2) "now piss off" and 3) the not insignificant point that Aker leaked the information out directly to Sam, thereby confirming that Sam's poorly coroborated story last week was a stage-managed and concocted lie designed to save Aker's arse. All these 3 elements point to a person that is self-involved, self-absorbed, and has absolutely no concept of the team dynamic (as has been proven twice in 4 years by 2 separate and disparate football organisations).

Of course Campbell could not go into specifics about exactly what transpired to come to the decision to sack Akermanis (which of course disappointed the crowd baying for tidbits of juicy tabloid gossip), but that was a shallow and short-term victory for Akermanis if ever there was one. Everyone is entitled to their opinion but I thought last night went as well as can be expected - was great to see Aker take ther bait and foam off at the mouth again this morning, further eroding his dwingling credibility.
    Cant agree at all with this Sedat.

The club delivered a press conference and it should of ended there. Everything said at the press conference was parroted by Campbell on TFS. This why we have press conferences, they are controlled environments where we have our say and we call the shots. What happened last night was a disgrace and the footy show should be held in contempt, but it's our own fault.

So Aker takes a few cheap shots, he going to take many more in the coming days. The club does not have to continue in the slanging match which only creates more distraction and questions.

The club needed to stay right away last night and let those two bozo's tie the noose around their own necks

Originally posted by TAMA
      Cant agree at all with this Sedat.

The club delivered a press conference and it should of ended there. Everything said at the press conference was parroted by Campbell on TFS. This why we have press conferences, they are controlled environments where we have our say and we call the shots. What happened last night was a disgrace and the footy show should be held in contempt, but it's our own fault.

So Aker takes a few cheap shots, he going to take many more in the coming days. The club does not have to continue in the slanging match which only creates more distraction and questions.

The club needed to stay right away last night and let those two bozo's tie the noose around their own necks
      TAMA, I was also initially of the opinion we should not have gone on TFS, but then we would have appeared weak by doing so, not to mention give Akermanis and Newman a clear path to set their obvious agenda on what was going to be a high rating show. A few cheap thrills for their rent-a-crowd does not maketh a PR victory: the vast majority of clear-headed football and media personnel have been universal in their commendation of the decision by the Dogs to cut Akermanis loose, and of Rose's measured and impassive performance in what was a very hot kitchen last night.

Having made the decision to front up last night, and being an employer who has sacked a disgruntled and vocal employee, Rose could never go into any specific details for the public domain last night. He was on a hiding to nothing with the tools and the environment he had at his disposal but he never lost composure, never stooped to the denigratory levels of Akermanis or Newman, and he remained resolute to the club message throughout. Rest assured, the proper protocols were observed by the club in relation to all contractual matters, and Akermanis was given more opportunities than he could reasonably be expected to receive with which to redress his behavioural problems with his employer. Sadly, he took the soft option and paid the price accordingly. Make no mistake it took balls to front TFS last night when the safe option would have been not to front up, and it took balls to sack him when the safe option was to let him rot at Williamstown for the rest of the season. I am genuinely proud of the club for making a very difficult and not at all populist decision for the betterment of the club.

The nuffies on BF, MTR and SEN, who combined would make up 2/5ths of stuff-all population, can talk all they like about the death of personality and other such tripe. Judging the winner of the PR battle against such a small and heavily skewed subset of the population is to give Akermanis far too much credit than he deserves. And on a good day, Steve Price would attract a daily audience of 3 men and a dog. Aker's rants will grow tiresome with each passing day, and there will be less and less media people reporting on the issue. The book release will heighten interest again for a short period when it comes out but then it's all over red rover after that. Football clubs last multiple lifetimes, players come and go every year. Aker is little more than just another ex player today, and one that has decided to shit on our monument as he walked out the door.

Where I am in complete agreeance with yourself, Lantern and TBB is that the playing group, in particular the leadership group, have to display absolute top shelf leadership out on the field of battle from this moment forward. There is simply nowhere to hide for them. They will rightly be scrutinised like never before, and for better or worse they will be stringently judged by the on-field results between now and the rest of the season, and their collective performances in the heat of the kitchen come September. That can only be a good thing for the supporters and the club, for we will either (finally) rise to the challenge or we will know specifically who cannot take us further.

Originally posted by comrade
        Mate, you're as passionate as they come and it's great, but you've bought into Aker's victim act hook, line and sinker.

Rose is a professional and wasn't going to get drawn into a tit for tat verbal stoush on live TV, outlining Aker's every indiscretion.

The fact that Aker is trumpeting that he had no idea it was coming, and he wants proof says more about his almost narcissistic ability to deny anything is his fault and the constant blaming of everyone else for his woes. He even suggested he wasn't sacked from Brisbane!

Aker is a media personality and has the means to voice his side of the story - one that benefits him and him only. Don't forget there are two sides to every story.
        Didn't see the show but I agree with the notion of the "victim" mentality that this self absorbed person.Akermanis and his "piss off" line just showed what a classless individual he really is

Interesting that a book that Aker claimed was merely 'notes' is now being pushed for publication prior to finals, with the ghost writer publicly stating it will be brutally honest regarding his former teammates. Wasn't brutal honesty a concept that Aker was indignant about and claimed was tantamount to workplace bullying?

Complete and utter narcissist.

Interesting that a book that Aker claimed was merely 'notes' is now being pushed for publication prior to finals, with the ghost writer publicly stating it will be brutally honest regarding his former teammates. Wasn't brutal honesty a concept that Aker was indignant about and claimed was tantamount to workplace bullying?
            It's much easier to hind behind words than to look someone in the eyes to deliver a message. ( Much like I'm doing - Oh the irony )

On the first point I guess the publisher must strike while the iron is hot because once the footy season is done Aker will be just another washed up footballer looking to make a $$, but with nothing but a loud mouth and an over enhanced opinion of himself to fall back on.

• The Pie Man

Originally posted by Mantis
              It's much easier to hind behind words than to look someone in the eyes to deliver a message. ( Much like I'm doing - Oh the irony )

On the first point I guess the publisher must strike while the iron is hot because once the footy season is done Aker will be just another washed up footballer looking to make a $$, but with nothing but a loud mouth and an over enhanced opinion of himself to fall back on.
              So true - his currency drops significantly following the close of this season.

• Before I Die
                • Jul 2008

Originally posted by Lantern
                And as for those supporters (not you, ML) who can't seem to differentiate between supporting the club and blindly swallowing everything the administration of the club sells you, be very aware that mature supporters and clubs can handle violent disagreement without being called disloyal. In fact, those of us who care are those of us who say something

Why do people feel the need to denigrate the opinion of others when giving their own opinions?
                The Angels have the phone box. [SIZE="2"]Don't blink![/SIZE]

My personal view is that the club came out of last night's TFS looking really bad. Campbell Rose may be a good administrator, but, to me, he came across about as convincing as Kevin Rudd or Julia Gillard giving their spin. All spin, just like the press conference.

Aker hurt himself with his P-off comment, but prior to that I thought he held himself quite well - put yourself in his shoes, if you'd been publicly sacked, had the world told you couldn't be trusted, etc, how would you feel? What would you say?

I also agreed with a lot of what Sam Newman said.

Just my two cents worth - I wish Aker the best for the future, am sorry I won't get to see him play for us again, and disappointed that he won't get a send off. The club will move on, hopefully the players stop the sulks, give their egos the punt, and start playing as a team till the GF.

Mate, you're as passionate as they come and it's great, but you've bought into Aker's victim act hook, line and sinker.

Rose is a professional and wasn't going to get drawn into a tit for tat verbal stoush on live TV, outlining Aker's every indiscretion.

The fact that Aker is trumpeting that he had no idea it was coming, and he wants proof says more about his almost narcissistic ability to deny anything is his fault and the constant blaming of everyone else for his woes. He even suggested he wasn't sacked from Brisbane!

Aker is a media personality and has the means to voice his side of the story - one that benefits him and him only. Don't forget there are two sides to every story.
                    Spot on I cound not have said it better myself

Thank god there is some one with a brain in this place

I was waiting for Cam Rose to ask Sam about my teeth. Disappointed. As there are updates!

Originally posted by way out west
                        Spot on I cound not have said it better myself

Thank god there is some one with a brain in this place
                        C'mon c'mon, let's debate this without getting personal with each other. We can't and won't always agree with everything, some will side with Aker, some against him. Both sides are passionate supporters with brains - end of story.

• Chicago1

I just watched the segment on the WWOS site. I thought Campbell Rose came off as professional and logical. He did not speak emotionally, but direct and rather detached, something needed by the club at this stage. He also appeared far more empathetic than I thought he would be. I was glad he didn't get into a tit-for-tat argument like Sam surely was hoping for. (Sorry, but Sam is one of the biggest asses I've ever seen on Australian TV.)

Someone from the club had to appear on TFS, I believe, otherwise the club would have come off as too scared to be confronted in a "neutral" setting. I think Campbell did a fine job on our behalf.

I also watched the segment where Gary Lyon interviewed Aker. I have to admit that I think Gary did a good job. Aker came across as playing the victim to me. He's not a very convincing actor, but much better than many on "Home and Away".
                          47 year Doggie member

I'm home...

We over this all yet? Last night was bad but its out of the way now, people keep coming out to bat for us in the media, and all will be forgotten in days/maybe 2 weeks max. Rose wasnt the right choice or maybe he was... he delivered without passion and from an organisational standpoint. Smorgon has too much heart and Bazza doesnt deserve the crap. Fantasia may have done better but lets get perspective, its nearly over. The only thing left is the 'book', how credible will it look to be the persecuted man at two clubs having shots at Lions and dogs players on the way out? The finals will galvanise the players or WTF are they playing for?
                            Aker was great for us, one of the best players ever but its over now, come finals he will be little more than a whisper to us. Rohan Smith will be a bulldog legend for ever.

• Missing Dog

Originally posted by MinsonWill
                              My personal view is that the club came out of last night's TFS looking really bad. Campbell Rose may be a good administrator, but, to me, he came across about as convincing as Kevin Rudd or Julia Gillard giving their spin. All spin, just like the press conference.

Aker hurt himself with his P-off comment, but prior to that I thought he held himself quite well - put yourself in his shoes, if you'd been publicly sacked, had the world told you couldn't be trusted, etc, how would you feel? What would you say?

I also agreed with a lot of what Sam Newman said.

Just my two cents worth - I wish Aker the best for the future, am sorry I won't get to see him play for us again, and disappointed that he won't get a send off. The club will move on, hopefully the players stop the sulks, give their egos the punt, and start playing as a team till the GF.
                              i agree with most of this except that bit about telling Rose to "piss off". IMO it enhanced Akers position. How many people do you know -or even yourself- who wish to be able to tell their A-hole of a boss in a suit to "piss off"? Its Australian as vegemite. 99% of the public would have love Aker "sticking it to the man".

Originally posted by Stefcep
                                i agree with most of this except that bit about telling Rose to "piss off". IMO it enhanced Akers position. How many people do you know -or even yourself- who wish to be able to tell their A-hole of a boss in a suit to "piss off"? Its Australian as vegemite. 99% of the public would have love Aker "sticking it to the man".
                                99% of the bogan Footy Show viewing public. Big deal.