Re: Campbell Rose - PR Flunky

Campbell Rose was the perfect choice to go on last night precisely because he is not a nuts & bolts football person and could therefore take the emotional irrationality out of the decision, which I thought he did with aplomb and a touch of class. It was also important for all our leaders of the club to go public and provide a united front, so last night was Campbell's turn to take the mic. This shows the football world that this decision was not made by Smorgon, or Rocket, or the players, or the CEO, or the Footy Ops Manager. It was made by the entire club.

I initially thought we should just ignore TFS' request to appear on the show last night but in hindsight that would have been the soft option and would have given Aker/Sam full license and a free hit. As it turned out, they got some cheap points with their rent-a-crowd of "bogans and no-shows" but the 3 things that untimately stood out were 1) "at least I'll be remembered", 2) "now piss off" and 3) the not insignificant point that Aker leaked the information out directly to Sam, thereby confirming that Sam's poorly coroborated story last week was a stage-managed and concocted lie designed to save Aker's arse. All these 3 elements point to a person that is self-involved, self-absorbed, and has absolutely no concept of the team dynamic (as has been proven twice in 4 years by 2 separate and disparate football organisations).

Of course Campbell could not go into specifics about exactly what transpired to come to the decision to sack Akermanis (which of course disappointed the crowd baying for tidbits of juicy tabloid gossip), but that was a shallow and short-term victory for Akermanis if ever there was one. Everyone is entitled to their opinion but I thought last night went as well as can be expected - was great to see Aker take ther bait and foam off at the mouth again this morning, further eroding his dwingling credibility.

• Bulldog4life

Campbell Rose was the perfect choice to go on last night precisely because he is not a nuts & bolts football person and could therefore take the emotional irrationality out of the decision, which I thought he did with aplomb and a touch of class. It was also important for all our leaders of the club to go public and provide a united front, so last night was Campbell's turn to take the mic. This shows the football world that this decision was not made by Smorgon, or Rocket, or the players, or the CEO, or the Footy Ops Manager. It was made by the entire club.

I initially thought we should just ignore TFS' request to appear on the show last night but in hindsight that would have been the soft option and would have given Aker/Sam full license and a free hit. As it turned out, they got some cheap points with their rent-a-crowd of "bogans and no-shows" but the 3 things that untimately stood out were 1) "at least I'll be remembered", 2) "now piss off" and 3) the not insignificant point that Aker leaked the information out directly to Sam, thereby confirming that Sam's poorly coroborated story last week was a stage-managed and concocted lie designed to save Aker's arse. All these 3 elements point to a person that is self-involved, self-absorbed, and has absolutely no concept of the team dynamic (as has been proven twice in 4 years by 2 separate and disparate football organisations).

Of course Campbell could not go into specifics about exactly what transpired to come to the decision to sack Akermanis (which of course disappointed the crowd baying for tidbits of juicy tabloid gossip), but that was a shallow and short-term victory for Akermanis if ever there was one. Everyone is entitled to their opinion but I thought last night went as well as can be expected - was great to see Aker take ther bait and foam off at the mouth again this morning, further eroding his dwingling credibility.
      Great Post. Agree 100% with you Sedat.

• BulldogBelle

I also thought the Campbell Rose did very well.

To win the argument he had to maintain the Bulldogs line, prevent any new data from entering the fracas, not further denigrate Aker and make Aker feel as though he had a win.

I thought that Rose did this well.

Congratulations to the Bulldogs for being Pro-active in this one. I was dreading another disaster like that which befell Brisbane before Aker finally left them. The disruptions seemed to go on for months.

Learn from History, its very important.

• Curly5
          • Jul 2008

Originally posted by theimmortalmike

I loved him as a player and he seems nice enough and I even feel sorry for him a little but unfortunately he couldn't keep his mouth shut when he needed to and it has cost him not once but twice.
          That's how I feel now that the dust is settling.

Originally posted by James Cuming
          Also you must add the self promoting on radio. That he has done his time, that he has been down to Williamstown, Blah Blah Blah, don't know why I'm not getting picked,

This is terrible behaviour, it compromises the coach and selection committee and every other player who is trying to get a game. Aker could not see this.

I thought that Campbell Rose was good.

Obviously Aker asking for proof was a ploy. Obviously Rose could not and would not provide proof on the Footy Show. Obviously this would just escalate matters, that Rose didn't want to do. To me, therefore Aker's request for proof was just nonsense.

On Jason asking for proof and expressing how "shocked" he was, Smorgon has said Aker only needs to read through his file of correspondence over the past 2 years. It should have come as no shock whatsoever.

Originally posted by firstdogonthemoon
          It was set up to be a bloodbath, a lose/lose PR disaster whatever happened because that is how TFS structured it. Sam feigning outrage.

I thought Rose was great. I also don't think it mattered what he said, he was going to get attacked before after or during and the scallops in the crowd were going to cheer like demented troglodytes whatever he said.

We sent the CEO of our club to do this unpleasant task, sparing the coach, football director and president from having to do the heavy lifting in a no win situation. It was the right thing to do.

After everything Aker still really didn't appear to get what the fuss was about so I can understand why he wasn't able to fix whatever he was presented with at any point. At some point you have to say to yourself, even though I don't think there is a problem, you 43 other people do so maybe I need to work on some of this stuff just because I'm in a team.

And Aker is now dumping on Johnno and whoever else he can find.

Sad.
          There's something very 21st century about the thrall the media has us in. We daren't make a move, utter a word, go out without our best face and clothes on, make a decision or have an opinion, in fear of the Media. When summoned we can't refuse but front up to be analysed, mocked, adored, disbelieved, abused, judged, slaughtered or worshipped. All by masses of the faceless, the uninformed, the wilfully ignorant, the disaffected or those just having a bad day. Welcome back to the Colosseum.

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
          Great Post. Agree 100% with you Sedat.
          Me three.

• Cyberdoggie

Originally posted by Lurgan
            Agree completely. Yes, Rose was set up but he's a professional and he kept his cool and his dignity. According to Aker, he (Aker) never did nuffin', he was a team man, he was loyal and it all came as a shock... yeah, right. Pure narcissism, the second time around, too.

Enough of this nonsense.
            Aker just shot himself in the foot by saying it was emabarrasing that they made "HIM" sit in front of the group "3 times".

At what point would anyone else register that there might be a problem with their behaviour?, after the first one?, the second? not even the third time did it seem to register with Aker that there was a problem. I tell you what if everyone in my work place did that to me i would be very concerned about things, but Aker just shrugged it off like it was a joke and that it was beneath him.

The other point was that he thinks trust is only earned on the footy field. What the!
            So potentially you can treat everyone around you like dogs and expect them to trust you on the field?

Then there was the comment about leaking confidential and secret information. Jason's response was i didn't leak anything, i just told my mates (Steve Price and Sam Newman).
            Hello......what part of confidential does he not understand?

I really feel sorry for him that it ended this way.

I have a question to everyone:

Do you think that Jose Mourinho would have appeared on a TV show to explain why he sacked Adriano from Inter Milan last year? Did anyone from the club? Did Sir Alex or the Man U CEO appear on TV to explain selling David Beckham?

The saddest thing out of all this for me is that the Western Bulldogs brand has been made to look so small. Brand Aker is almost as big as a club's, at least at this point in time. The Dogs have made their move to make themselves look like a big club. If non-Dogs fan reactions are anything to go by, this certainly hasn't happened (we're not exactly objective here). A big club would have shut Aker up, paid him off, got him to sign a confidentiality agreement, trotted out some line about him being injured, knocked it on the head, brought the captain on to talk about the game on the weekend, moved on. Instead this circus has been going on for weeks, and if his book comes out, will go on for another few months. We may have made our point, but we've lost our dignity in the process, I fear.

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by Lantern

Do you think that Jose Mourinho would have appeared on a TV show to explain why he sacked Adriano from Inter Milan last year? Did anyone from the club? Did Sir Alex or the Man U CEO appear on TV to explain selling David Beckham?
                That's 3 questions Lantern!
                [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
                  That's 3 questions Lantern!
                  Why use a few words, when you could use many

Lantern makes a good point. Our administration should have killed it.

Tend to disagree Lantern , I think Aker damaged himself bigtime last night, lies and just the whole its all about me and the piss off after shaking a mans hand wont sit with many, the thoughts of supporters will turn towards us more than him.
                    Rose did the official and proffessional way, not divulging all the indiscretions, 1 because it was probably a few 2 because thats sounds like 2 kids and 3 it gets you nowhere.
                    The more Aker whinges the more people will say get over it.
                    I must point out how he put such big dollars on himself, poor me i couldnt survive on 100,000-200,000 a year!
                    Thy also paid him out, so the next 6 weeks he is on money for nothing. He got his wage and all he was going to get because it was his last year of contract anyway.
                    Even though the club admitted he was sacked and apparently had legal advice they could sack him, thus not have to pay him out.
                    He was offered to take the retirement policy too so it didnt look bad and stopped this stuff happening, but noooo its all about Aker and he doesnt care who he steps on to get what he wants!
                    The public will wake up to it as I think a few of the media did last night.

The saddest thing out of all this for me is that the Western Bulldogs brand has been made to look so small. Brand Aker is almost as big as a club's, at least at this point in time. The Dogs have made their move to make themselves look like a big club. If non-Dogs fan reactions are anything to go by, this certainly hasn't happened (we're not exactly objective here). A big club would have shut Aker up, paid him off, got him to sign a confidentiality agreement, trotted out some line about him being injured, knocked it on the head, brought the captain on to talk about the game on the weekend, moved on. Instead this circus has been going on for weeks, and if his book comes out, will go on for another few months. We may have made our point, but we've lost our dignity in the process, I fear.
                      I think a lot of this is fair enough lantern except David Beckham is not a human hand grenade waiting to explode and take everyone else down with him like Akermanis is.

This is a gigantic mess no doubt but we are dealing with an absolute nutter here and im sure Aker would have found a way to go out with a gigantic bang no matter how we handled it or what we got him to sign.

• Missing Dog

Originally posted by comrade
                        Mate, you're as passionate as they come and it's great, but you've bought into Aker's victim act hook, line and sinker.

Rose is a professional and wasn't going to get drawn into a tit for tat verbal stoush on live TV, outlining Aker's every indiscretion.

The fact that Aker is trumpeting that he had no idea it was coming, and he wants proof says more about his almost narcissistic ability to deny anything is his fault and the constant blaming of everyone else for his woes. He even suggested he wasn't sacked from Brisbane!

Aker is a media personality and has the means to voice his side of the story - one that benefits him and him only. Don't forget there are two sides to every story.
                        FINALLY some common sense !!!

• choconmientay

Originally posted by Dancin' Douggy
                          I don't think we should have sent anyone.

A no show could also be seen as weakness. As a club with growing membership we have to be strong and be on top of these issues.

Fully agree with your view.

Also, I thought Aker was quite bitter and that can be read by everyone. Gary Lyon (to my surprise) was asking Aker some tough questions and did put thing in perspective.
                          It always seems impossible until it's done. Nelson Mandela

• Murphy'sLore
                            • Sep 2009

Question for Lantern: do you think Aker would have agreed to sign a confidentiality agreement? Or if he had signed, that he would have managed to adhere to it?

Originally posted by Murphy'sLore
                              Question for Lantern: do you think Aker would have agreed to sign a confidentiality agreement? Or if he had signed, that he would have managed to adhere to it?
                              Promise, last thing I'll say about the sorry affair:

If he signs one and doesn't keep his mouth shut, throw the book at him. There are legal channels. If we can't hold the nut to a confidentiality agreement, then we should have come out openly and said this is a business decision. Simple, professional, no need for all this lovey-dovey hypocritical trust crap.

I don't really care if Aker is right or wrong, or even about Aker himself very much, I just think we've damaged our club and our brand the way we've gone about it. Perception is everything, and the way it has been communicated and reported, it does seem like an underhanded, knee-jerk, petty, precious decision, which probably has some truth to it.

And as for those supporters (not you, ML) who can't seem to differentiate between supporting the club and blindly swallowing everything the administration of the club sells you, be very aware that mature supporters and clubs can handle violent disagreement without being called disloyal. In fact, those of us who care are those of us who say something -- are the Manchester United supporters who are criticising the board for the corporate takeover of their club disloyal? George W. Bush wanted everyone to think that criticising him as president was being disloyal to America. What rubbish. What are we, wingnuts?

I don't really care if Aker is right or wrong, or even about Aker himself very much, I just think we've damaged our club and our brand the way we've gone about it. Perception is everything, and the way it has been communicated and reported, it does seem like an underhanded, knee-jerk, petty, precious decision, which probably has some truth to it.
                                The wound is fresh and the issue is still on high rotation. Let's revisit this in a couple of weeks' time to see how the general public responds to incoherent rant after incoherent rant from Akermanis and his low-rating propaganda machine without any comments from the club to fan the flames and give this issue oxygen.

As an aside, isn't it incredibly amusing to see the "close bond" between Aker and Price blossoming before our eyes - Price is playing Aker like a 2nd hand fiddle to raise the profile of his low-rent and irrelevent network. When his morning shift moves from 1.1 to 1.2 in the next couple of ratings surveys and still sits behind the Bulgarian News Bulletin on SBS Radio, he will quickly tire of his special new bestest friend in the whole wide world