• Dry Rot

Dogs v Freo in Bunbury

Looks like Freo is fielding a strong team

FREMANTLE ruckman Aaron Sandilands expects to return for his side's NAB Challenge clash with the Western Bulldogs this Saturday as coach Mark Harvey starts assembling his best line-up ahead of round one.

Sandilands, who has played one shortened 40-minute match this pre-season, was rested for Fremantle's trip to Adelaide last Saturday along with key midfielder David Mundy.

Stephen Hill, Hayden Ballantyne, Luke McPharlin and Adam McPhee also missed the 74-point loss, while captain Matthew Pavlich spent the first half on the bench.
  • Cyberdoggie

Re: Dogs v Freo in Bunbury

Originally posted by Dry Rot

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsartic...1/default.aspx
    Perhaps they are desperate for a win?
    Haven't had a good pre-season results wise so far.

• Pedro Sanchez
      • Jan 2008

Anyone over in WA planning on going?

I saw that tickets were advertised in advance - would have thought this would have been a walk up game. Almost the type where you can bring an esky and drive the car in...

Anyone with experience at Hands Oval intel appreciated in advance...

• Scraggers
        Premiership Moderator

Originally posted by Pedro Sanchez
        Anyone over in WA planning on going?

I saw that tickets were advertised in advance - would have thought this would have been a walk up game. Almost the type where you can bring an esky and drive the car in...

Anyone with experience at Hands Oval intel appreciated in advance...

All members of both clubs get in for free (unless they want to pre-order a seat through Ticketmaster ... where you would pay a booking fee, I assume)

Hands Memorial reserve is the main footy oval in Bunbury and is used as the 'MCG' for the South West Footy League. It's not a bad oval, the Retravision Warriors played a one-dayer against Tassie earlier this year I think.

Some WAFL matches have also been played there. Only has the one real grandstand, so it can be affected by weather (particularly afternoon gales).

I will be making the trek (120+ kms one way) ... its a treat for me to see the Dogs 'live' three times in a year, let alone three times in 10 weeks.

• Pedro Sanchez
          • Jan 2008

Originally posted by Scraggers
          All members of both clubs get in for free (unless they want to pre-order a seat through Ticketmaster ... where you would pay a booking fee, I assume)

Hands Memorial reserve is the main footy oval in Bunbury and is used as the 'MCG' for the South West Footy League. It's not a bad oval, the Retravision Warriors played a one-dayer against Tassie earlier this year I think.

Some WAFL matches have also been played there. Only has the one real grandstand, so it can be affected by weather (particularly afternoon gales).

I will be making the trek (120+ kms one way) ... its a treat for me to see the Dogs 'live' three times in a year, let alone three times in 10 weeks.
          thanks for the info mate...

So from reading there is only one grandstand, plenty of room around the fence and outer?

• Scraggers
            Premiership Moderator

So from reading there is only one grandstand, plenty of room around the fence and outer?
            Most definitely ... think big country oval (or most WAFL ovals)

Looking forward to the first hand reports!

• cambo

See ya there Scraggers this will be the first time I only have to travel 15 mins to see the boys play. I live in Australind near Bunbury

i have been asked by the club to help out on the day, they maybe looking for more helpers as they are only bringing over a skeleton support crew, let me know if you are interested incase they ask tomorrow.
                Gets you into rooms before during and after game
                Cheers Ian

• cambo

Heaps of room around the oval, big grassed banks etc, remember its going to be hot and you are not allowed to take any of your own drinks into the ground.

• Missing Dog

and we are unbeaten there having beaten South Fremante by 9 points in a exhibition game in 1953 .
                    the dogs also played Sth Freo at Subiaco earlier on that trip amd lost.

I have the Footy Records from both these games,

always looking to add to my collection

• mjp

I have been involved in two WAFL games played at Hands Oval.

- It is massive.
                      - It has a turf wicket area.
                      - Facilities are nice enough I suppose but pretty rudimentary. Change rooms etc are typical country club stuff.
                      - Nice bar/presentation area for people wanting a beer.

I wonder what exactly is going on with the turf wicket? I wouldn't have thought it was totally great for footy with that in the middle of it. Last time I was there was July/August 2009 and the entire centre square was a muddy quagmire...given it hasn't rained here for a long, long time I dont think that would be a problem but could imagine it would be rock hard.

Another comment-long weekend in WA this weekend, Bunbury is the main town in the south west tourist zone and a big music festival is on. Don't be surprised if the crowd for this game is bigger than expected given there will be quite a few people looking for something to do on Saturday afternoon.

Originally posted by Dry Rot
                        Good to have some quality opposition after a half-strength Brisbane last week.

Originally posted by Mofra
                          Good to have some quality opposition after a half-strength Brisbane last week.
                          But we will be half strength.

(Report in todays paper is that we will be leaving 12 senior players home and taking all the kids/ fringe players.)

Squads:

FREMANTLE
                            1. Hayden Ballantyne, 4. Jayden Pitt, 6. Greg Broughton, 7. Nathan Fyfe, 8. Nick Suban, 9. Adam McPhee, 10. Rhys Palmer, 12. Jon Griffin, 13. Tendai Mzungu, 15. Ryan Crowley, 20. Viv Michie, 22. Jack Anthony, 23. Chris Mayne, 25. Josh Mellington, 26. Kepler Bradley, 27. Justin Bollenhagen, 28. Peter Faulks, 30. Zac Clarke, 31. Aaron Sandilands, 34. Nick Lower, 36. Alex Silvagni, 37. Michael Johnson, 38. Michael Walters, 39. Casey Sibosado, 44. Jesse Crichton, 45. Hamish Shepherd, 46. Clancee Pearce

WESTERN BULLDOGS
                            2. Robert Murphy, 3. Mitch Wallis, 4. Daniel Cross, 8. Mitch Hahn, 11. Sam Reid, 14. Callan Ward, 15. Ben Hudson, 18. Brennan Stack, 19. Liam Jones, 20. Josh Hill, 21. Tom Liberatore, 22. Dylan Addison, 23. Jordan Roughead, 24. Jayden Schofield, 26. Zephaniah Skinner, 27. Will Minson, 30. Christian Howard, 31. James Mulligan, 32. Patrick Veszpremi, 33. Nathan Djerrkura, 34. Jason Tutt, 37. Lukas Markovic, 39. Jason Johannisen, 41. Andrew Hooper, 43. Ed Barlow, 44. Brodie Moles, 48. Matthew Panos

---

Lots of changes to last weeks team.

Originally posted by Mantis
                              Squads:

FREMANTLE
                              1. Hayden Ballantyne, 4. Jayden Pitt, 6. Greg Broughton, 7. Nathan Fyfe, 8. Nick Suban, 9. Adam McPhee, 10. Rhys Palmer, 12. Jon Griffin, 13. Tendai Mzungu, 15. Ryan Crowley, 20. Viv Michie, 22. Jack Anthony, 23. Chris Mayne, 25. Josh Mellington, 26. Kepler Bradley, 27. Justin Bollenhagen, 28. Peter Faulks, 30. Zac Clarke, 31. Aaron Sandilands, 34. Nick Lower, 36. Alex Silvagni, 37. Michael Johnson, 38. Michael Walters, 39. Casey Sibosado, 44. Jesse Crichton, 45. Hamish Shepherd, 46. Clancee Pearce

WESTERN BULLDOGS
                              2. Robert Murphy, 3. Mitch Wallis, 4. Daniel Cross, 8. Mitch Hahn, 11. Sam Reid, 14. Callan Ward, 15. Ben Hudson, 18. Brennan Stack, 19. Liam Jones, 20. Josh Hill, 21. Tom Liberatore, 22. Dylan Addison, 23. Jordan Roughead, 24. Jayden Schofield, 26. Zephaniah Skinner, 27. Will Minson, 30. Christian Howard, 31. James Mulligan, 32. Patrick Veszpremi, 33. Nathan Djerrkura, 34. Jason Tutt, 37. Lukas Markovic, 39. Jason Johannisen, 41. Andrew Hooper, 43. Ed Barlow, 44. Brodie Moles, 48. Matthew Panos

---

Lots of changes to last weeks team.
                              With my rose coloured glasses on, it still looks like a pretty good team. I suppose the result will prove if it is my glasses or not !