Re: Season over

Originally posted by comrade
    I don't disagree but we're going to get belted every week if we tip a bucket on the 1999-2001 guys and just play the kids.

I've reached the point where I'm not expecting to win now so I can accept getting enjoyment from watching the kids develop but I'm not sure most other supporters will.
    Making a call on a few of them will make a big difference to the salary cap next year.

Of Murphy, Gia, Gilbee, Hargrave, Cross, and Hudson, only Murphy really has much to offer us going forward. You don't want to cull everyone all at once but we could easily drop 4 of them.

Originally posted by Greystache
      Making a call on a few of them will make a big difference to the salary cap next year.

Of Murphy, Gia, Gilbee, Hargrave, Cross, and Hudson, only Murphy really has much to offer us going forward. You don't want to cull everyone all at once but we could easily drop 4 of them.
      I think Hargrave can offer us something, be it as a HBF, winger or HFF. Had a poor game today, but players often do in their second game back. I still think he can contribute in future year(s) though.

Agree with the rest and really hope we can make the right call on the rest of them. Particularly Cross.

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
        I think Hargrave can offer us something, be it as a HBF, winger or HFF. Had a poor game today, but players often do in their second game back. I still think he can contribute in future year(s) though.

Agree with the rest and really hope we can make the right call on the rest of them. Particularly Cross.
        Yeah Hargrave was the other I'd keep in the team, not sure about next year though.

I would say the jury's out on Hargrave, he may have some good footy left in him, he showed last week that he can be an important link man. Murphy has had a great year though today, like everyone else, he was poor.

Gia and huddo's decline has been swift. Today Gia almost reminded me of Jono 's decline when age and injury suddenly wrecked the 'one thought' decision making. It's that which makes them look slow.

Playing in Perth really highlighted how slow we have become. When did that happen ..

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite

You're right, I reckon the footy department will struggle with a decision on Cross.

The reality is Libba has come in and already shown himself to be a much better all round inside midfielder who will only improve in time. With a midfield chock full of plodders, we need to make a call on our weakest link (moving forward) which I think is Cross.

Being Boyd's best mate adds to the complexity.

• DOG GOD
              • Jul 2007

Let's be honest here. Gia and Cross will play EVERY game in 2011 unless theyre injured. Our MC doesnt have the guts to drop them...end of story.

• Ghost Dog
                • May 2010

Originally posted by DOG GOD
                Let's be honest here. Gia and Cross will play EVERY game in 2011 unless theyre injured. Our MC doesnt have the guts to drop them...end of story.
                So you think they are sacred dogs...erm... cows eh Dog God?
                It seems that way.

• westbulldog
                  • Sep 2009

Well that was the worst performance I have seen in 50 years as a supporter.
                  Liam Jones showed some class as did Libba whilst Murph tried very hard against the odds.
                  Check how many marks that mob took inside 50, says it all. Who were we playing guys - the untouchables or what ?

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by BILLY THE KID
                    He did win the spoon and also got them a Flag. Got rid of their best player and got the bloke who kicked 10 against us today
                    Judd? IIRC, he wanted out.

• Dogmatic

Disgraceful effort today! Heads must roll! People are kidding themselves if they think we can scrape into the finals and expect to be dangerous in September. We are such a lazy team and I think it's the coaches role to keep the players motivated and working hard. Rocket is going to feel the heat.

• Ghost Dog
                        • May 2010

Originally posted by AndrewP6
                        Judd? IIRC, he wanted out.
                        Andrew! Long time no see. Wish I was greeting you under different circumstances.
                        According to the OP, our season is over. Whaddyareckon?

I know posted this in the other thread but it's relevant here to

At this time we just have to accept the reality that injuries have interrupted our season so far , this means we just havn't had the structure Rocket wanted , we have been forced to rotate young players with players coming back from injury , at the moment I,m waiting for the admittance that we are rebuilding for another crack at the finals next year, the chance to get more game time into Ward, Libba and Wallis , another pre-season into Jones, Howard, Tutt, Schofield, Dahlhous ,Skinner and Cordy will see our list rejuvenated , Panos is also in the mix as the longer term replacement for Hall

Today's result was awful but the future isn't bleak

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
                            Andrew! Long time no see. Wish I was greeting you under different circumstances.
                            According to the OP, our season is over. Whaddyareckon?
                            haha..thanks for the welcome. Have been around, just kept in the background a bit.
                            As regards the OP, I fear it might be on the money. I can't see us getting back amongst the thick of things from here.

• boydogs
                              • Apr 2009

Was everyone thinking the same way last week? Didn't think so.

We just had a bad game. Perth doesn't suit us, and 3 of our best players were out.

This result will put a lot of pressure on, but so did the Aker fiasco last year before we came out and smashed Freo.

• Scraggers
                                Premiership Moderator

Originally posted by gogriff
                                Was everyone thinking the same way last week? Didn't think so.

We just had a bad game. Perth doesn't suit us, and 3 of our best players were out.

This result will put a lot of pressure on, but so did the Aker fiasco last year before we came out and smashed Freo.
                                best post I've read tonight