• Axe Man
    replied
    Analysis of every AFL club’s veterans over 30 years old

There are currently 111 AFL players in their 30s — and some are ageing like a fine wine. But for others, it might be time to hang up the boots. Mick McGuane has his say on the league’s veterans.

Many footballers are defying their birth certificates and playing significant roles at AFL level well into their 30s these days.

As professional athletes who dedicate time and effort to their jobs – with the support of high performance and sports science staff – age is just a number for some.

Just look at how the likes of Scott Pendlebury (37), Dayne Zorko (36), Patrick Dangerfield (35) and Steele Sidebottom (34) have performed this year.

Of the 808 players on AFL lists, 111 are 30 or older as of today.

We got AFL analyst Mick McGuane to take a look at all of them and give his verdicts as to who still has fuel in the tank for 2026 and who should be waving goodbye to AFL football at the end of the season.

WESTERN BULLDOGS

Competition rank: 3rd

➡️ Average age of 2025 list: 25.3

➡️ Players 30 or above: Liam Jones, Taylor Duryea, Tom Liberatore, Jason Johannisen, Rory Lobb, Adam Treloar, Anthony Scott

At least three ageing Bulldogs should get a tap on the shoulder at the end of the year.
    Jones might have already had his papers stamped, given he has been left out of the side since round 6 as the likes of Lobb, James O’Donnell and Buku Khamis fill key roles down back.
    Younger defenders Luke Cleary and Jedd Busslinger have also been given opportunities and have shown promise.
    Duryea has offered great leadership since crossing from Hawthorn, but has spent most of this year toiling away in the VFL as his AFL career winds up, while other players have jumped ahead of Scott.
    I suspect there will be a strong discussion around Johannisen at the end of the year.
    He’s still got his speed and has averaged 17.1 disposals from seven games, but has been very injury prone over the past four years.
    Treloar is still in the Bulldogs’ best 22 when he’s fit, but three calf injuries this year at age 32 is not a good a good sign, so he is no certainty to earn a contract extension.

Leave a comment:

replied
    Dogs, Bont ready to start contract talks in earnest

MARCUS Bontempelli expects negotiations to go smoothly as talks finally ramp up on his next contract with the Western Bulldogs.

The Bulldogs captain, one of the greatest players in the club's history, said on Friday morning that talks will start in earnest next week.

The delay in that process inevitably has led to speculation about the 29-year-old's future, but Bontempelli is giving no signs he is looking elsewhere.

Coach Luke Beveridge noted this week that the star midfielder has had a lot on his plate this year - a pre-season calf injury, a marriage to plan and part-ownership of a Melbourne cafe.

"It's going well - obviously it's getting to the point now where things will start to open up," Bontempelli said.

"There was a lot going on in my life early on in the season and hence why - probably no different to other years - I took my time a little bit with it.

"But those conversations are definitely starting to take place, pretty much as of next week, so the ball can well-and-truly get rolling with that.

"I see it going quite smoothly."

Likewise, he is pleased that troubled teammate Jamarra Ugle-Hagan returned to the club this week and is back training.

"Ultimately, I want him to just enjoy being back in the environment - hopefully getting to the stage in the not-too-distant future where he can look at playing again."

Leave a comment:

• Countrydog5
    replied
    I think I read somewhere else the idea that we could potentially explore getting on the front foot with Sanders and his management.

Offer him an extension/ restructure 1 year past tassie entering the comp, with a modest but handy little pay rise and the promise he has our blessing and understanding to consider the tassie offer when it inevitably comes.

Win win for both of us. He gets a pay bump and flexibiltity and we get trade leverage when tassie is looking to poach players. Saves us from the free agent loophole they have proposed.

Leave a comment:

• Uninformed
    replied
    Originally posted by lemmon

That's my read on it too. He seems like a great young man, and I get the Launnie v Hobart thing, but I think there's every chance they offer both Sanders and McKercher well over 1 million each and the chance to be co-captains.

I just don't see how anyone says no to that.
    The amount will be a big factor. I don't think he is inclined to leave now, but a massive offer at the time could sway him. Ablett loved the Geelong lifestyle, had the father son connection to the club, was revered down there, had success and every indication of more success at Geelong, but still couldn't resist the Gold Coast money.

I think our best defence is some real success and the bonding a couple of premierships makes. (as well as the long term financial incentives of that success)

Leave a comment:

• lemmon
    replied
    Originally posted by Axe Man
    I think they will throw massive money at Sanders that we can't and shouldn't come close to matching. Possibly up to $1.5 million per season to be the main man in their midfield.

He will likely extend for 1 year or to whenever Tassie come in if it's pushed back with the stadium issues. I will be surprised if he is at the club after that.
    That's my read on it too. He seems like a great young man, and I get the Launnie v Hobart thing, but I think there's every chance they offer both Sanders and McKercher well over 1 million each and the chance to be co-captains.

I just don't see how anyone says no to that.

Leave a comment:

• Axe Man
    replied
    Originally posted by Bulldog Joe
    Depends on when/if Tassie do come in, but there are plenty of others around the league with Tas connections.

If I was looking at their recruiting I would be in the ear of a few older guys as well.

Alex Pearce at Freo and Jack Buckley at GWS have good family ties.
    Pearce is 30 and injury prone, doubt he will still be playing and on his last legs if he is.

Buckley has a family connection and would be a great get for them, but may have no desire to move somewhere he has never lived before.

Of course they will go after any suitable players regardless of Tassie connections that may be swayed by bucket loads of cash. However I would be surprised if Sanders and McKercher aren't near the top of their list.

Leave a comment:

• Bulldog Joe
    replied
    Depends on when/if Tassie do come in, but there are plenty of others around the league with Tas connections.

If I was looking at their recruiting I would be in the ear of a few older guys as well.

Alex Pearce at Freo and Jack Buckley at GWS have good family ties.

Leave a comment:

replied
    Originally posted by Axe Man
    I think they will throw massive money at Sanders that we can't and shouldn't come close to matching. Possibly up to $1.5 million per season to be the main man in their midfield.

He will likely extend for 1 year or to whenever Tassie come in if it's pushed back with the stadium issues. I will be surprised if he is at the club after that.
    That would be a massive deal. There is no way we could get close to that.

Leave a comment:

• Axe Man
    replied

Leave a comment:

replied
    Originally posted by hujsh

He's also been in Melbourne since before his draft year right? So he's more adapted to the city than a guy from rural WA
    From memory he boarded for 2 years in Melbourne before we drafted him and has been with us for 18 months.
    I'd imagine he has some strong ties here.

Leave a comment:

replied

Smads and I talked to his father a while back at one of the training sessions. At the time his father didn't think the lure of Hobart was that strong for players from the Launceston region
    Hobart is more than a 2 hour drive from Launceston and the old Old North South divide in Tasmania is a real consideration.

A godfather offer could change everything but I would suggest he's pretty happy here and we are in a great position to retain his services.
    We would also be well compensated if he did leave.
    He's also been in Melbourne since before his draft year right? So he's more adapted to the city than a guy from rural WA

Leave a comment:

replied
    Originally posted by Uninformed
    Reading that, I don't think he will leave. Might leverage his salary a bit with the possibility, but think he will stay.
    Smads and I talked to his father a while back at one of the training sessions. At the time his father didn't think the lure of Hobart was that strong for players from the Launceston region
    Hobart is more than a 2 hour drive from Launceston and the old Old North South divide in Tasmania is a real consideration.

A godfather offer could change everything but I would suggest he's pretty happy here and we are in a great position to retain his services.
    We would also be well compensated if he did leave.

Leave a comment:

• Uninformed
    replied
    Reading that, I don't think he will leave. Might leverage his salary a bit with the possibility, but think he will stay.

Leave a comment:

• Axe Man
    replied
    SANDERS WILL NEED TO MAKE TASSIE CALL

Western Bulldogs youngster Ryley Sanders admits he will “have to make a decision” if his home state Tasmania enters the AFL in 2028 as he shrugs off impending speculation about his future.

The former No. 6 pick will be right up near the top of the wishlist when the Tasmania Devils begin recruiting, having begun his footy career with North Launceston.

As an early draft pick, Sanders holds the customary three-year contract, which will end in 2026.

He said he doesn’t read much media, so Dogs CEO Ameet Bains was keeping him in the loop on the crisis in his home state that threatened the future of the Devils in recent weeks.

But if the Devils do get off the ground, Sanders is aware he will be a target.

“I don’t think about it too much because you don’t know how you are going to feel at the time,” he told this masthead.

“It is still ages away. If it goes ahead then I am going to have to make a decision. I love the Dogs, obviously I live with Ads Treloar and love him and his family to death.

“It would be hard to leave this club, I will tell you that. But you don’t know, I would obviously have that drawcard of being with my family.”

Sanders said any impending Devils interest would leave him with “a good decision to have”.

“I know there is going to be talk about myself and Colby (McKercher of North Melbourne) and a few of the boys that went high in the draft about the Tassie team given we are local boys,” he said.

“But there is speculation all the time … I’m pretty chill man.”

Even though Sanders knows call is coming, the Dogs No. 9 said it would be near impossible to give up the chance of playing with locker mate, Sam Darcy.

“I’m pretty keen to share the locker next to him for the next while, I won’t be leaving if I get to play with him for the rest of my career,” he said.

Sanders had been frustrated playing at half-forward in his first AFL season, given he was a prolific inside midfielder as a junior, but has come to terms with biding his time waiting for a crack in the centre square.

“I obviously struggled with it last year because I want to play midfield,” he said.

“I think this year, having some really good role models, just talking with them and understanding I don’t have to be a full time midfielder in my second year.

“I understand how fortunate I am to be able to play with these great players, especially older players. A guy like Ads (Treloar), he is getting older and I would do anything to play in a premiership with him.

“Hopefully down the track when all these older boys are done, I can step in (to the midfield) for them.”

Leave a comment:

• NAUGHTY100
    replied

The Bont is going no where apart from the clubs honour roll , as he acquires at least another 2 Charles Sutton medals .
    Bontempelli would have to be one of if not the most loyal guys in the AFL .
    His contracts have been no fuss , giving and getting what he deservers . He will re-sign .
    He knows he could get 1.5 two 1.75 million a year if he decided to leave , but he'll settle on a figure that suits him and the club , no doubt in my mind .
    Marcus Bontempelli is a bulldog through and through , and by the time he retires he will be the best of all time .

Leave a comment: