Re: Pubs and Bars

You must be getting on a bit E-Dawg, how old are you now?

I like a parma too mate, I think one of the things that draws me to them is how ordinary most pub menus are and how much I don't want what's on them rather than how much I want a parma!

My local is the Terminus in Abbotsford, and the parma there is OK or just a bit better than OK. I reckon that's the best you can ask for, with the salad being well above average and the chips pretty good.
    Have you been to Bodriggy Brewing on Johnston street? I've had a few drinks there but not food - which looks ok.

Caretakers Cottage - smallest pub in Melbourne

see here

Originally posted by azabob
        Have you been to Bodriggy Brewing on Johnston street? I've had a few drinks there but not food - which looks ok.
        No I haven't, but I've purchased wine from the wine store next door before......which was really good and not your typical wine store variety wise.

Originally posted by Eastdog
          Thanks TD. Yep driven past the Yarraville club on Stephen Street. A nice Bulldog mural on the side.
          I saw Jake Stringer and his two daughters in there a few years ago. Must have been his first year at Essendon and not very long after he'd broken up with his wife.

Caretakers Cottage - smallest pub in Melbourne

see here
          Looks good. I'm meeting up with an old friend in the city soon and I might suggest it to her

Had a Porterhouse steak today at the Station Hotel in Footscray.

Looks very nice.

Originally posted by Grantysghost
                Looks very nice.
                Went down very well.

Reckon you may have been given a scotch fillet there ED........probably a bonus as some think it's a nicer cut and it usually costs more than a porterhouse!

And has Easty gone for a 'well done'?

Will give him the benefit of the doubt and suggest a "medium" selection.......they put them on the char at The Station so looks might be deceiving.

But we should keep an eye on him.

Porterhouse well done I ordered.

Easty your should try medium

Originally posted by azabob
                            Easty your should try medium
                            I’ll give that a try next time

Easty, You should ease your way to more of a medium so a 'medium to well done' might be the starting point next time.

Don't let these do-gooders and hippies con you into thinking medium rare is the way to go.

To be honest (I'll let it slide this time ) but I wasn't happy to see you went for the chips and salad.
                              Chips and Veges or just Veges is the way better option. Mushroom or a good old fashioned Onion gravy is the go as well.

I am glad you didn't go for the Parma or as they say in Geelong a Parmi.

Easty, You should ease your way to more of a medium so a 'medium to well done' might be the starting point next time.

Don't let these do-gooders and hippies con you into thinking medium rare is the way to go.

To be honest (I'll let it slide this time ) but I wasn't happy to see you went for the chips and salad.
                                Chips and Veges or just Veges is the way better option. Mushroom or a good old fashioned Onion gravy is the go as well.

I am glad you didn't go for the Parma or as they say in Geelong a Parmi.
                                Medium well is not a bad step down and movement towards medium which is my go to.

So juicy Easty!

If you want a good country pub the Victoria Hotel in Woodend is a ripper. Ex chef from the Hilton (or one of those posh joints) owns it.