Re: WB Game Day V Port Adelaide R23 2021

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
    Geez I'm flat.

We need an overhaul; this happy handball game has to go for next year.

The ruck situation is diabolical, as we know, and Bevo keeps acknowledging it in the presser but how many years into this rubbish are we?
    Flat you say? It took me a hour to get off the couch.

Like everyone in Melb (and Syd) life is really tough at present and the Bulldogs playing is the one sense of normality… been such a great year and to watch it fall apart is deadset *!*!*!*!ing heartbreaking… just makes me sad.

• bulldogsthru&thru

Originally posted by SonofScray
      Do t reckon Lewis threw that footy for what it’s worth.
      He didn’t. But the fix was on.

Originally posted by Mantis

Like everyone in Melb (and Syd) life is really tough at present and the Bulldogs playing is the one sense of normality… been such a great year and to watch it fall apart is deadset *!*!*!*!ing heartbreaking… just makes me sad.
        Exactly the same. Just got off the couch, in between reading the forum and news on the incoming lockdown for regional Vic again.

It's really, really difficult. Struggling is putting it lightly!

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
          Exactly the same. Just got off the couch, in between reading the forum and news on the incoming lockdown for regional Vic again.

It's really, really difficult. Struggling is putting it lightly!
          Sorry to hear mate, DMs are always open if you or anyone needs to vent. A win would have done wonders for the supporters tonight, no doubt.

• bulldogsthru&thru

Originally posted by Mantis

It hurts. This club just continues to let its fans down. We’ve absolutely thrown away 20 rounds of hard work in 3 pitiful weeks. I’ve never seen anything like it.

But we’ll continue with no changes. Hoping, hoping a ruck or KPD will fix all our issues. But it won’t. We have issues up forward, down back and now in the middle. All over the ground we have glaring weaknesses. I’d love to see what another coach could do to turn this list around.

First time this season without a 30 possession game.

V/@AFL sides to go 0-3 when sitting in top spot on ladder with 3 rounds remaining
                1933 - GEEL
                1943 - ESS
                1960 - MELB
                1975 - HAW
                2021 - WBD

#AFLDogsPower

The worst part hope. Thinking this was different.

The season.
                  Leading Geelong at Geelong with 15 seconds.
                  1st coming into the last three games against not overly strong opponents.
                  Thinking we would finish top, or worst top 2.
                  Leading Port all night. Thinking we could still eck a QF-PF.

Hope that it would be different somehow. But we went from flag favourites to making up the numbers in 12 days. How are you meant to hope again, when 24 weeks of investment rips out yours guts and embarrasses what this playing group told every media outlet, every week what it stood for. It’s a blown opportunity. A ‘nearly’ season where we should just be happy to make up the numbers in the finals. We may never get an opportunity this perfect in our life times and as gutted as I feel, if there’s no sign from the club that things are going to change (either media or actions of Sam Power) then I was much happier without footy. We do this to ourselves voluntarily, week after week, decade after decade, with eternal hope it’s going to be different. For most of us, different has been once in our lifetime. The hope, the perfect opportunity of 2021 is in tatters. Unless Sam Power can bring in the types and quality of players that demonstrate the coach isn’t going to keep trying to outsmart the competition, and the club review everyone at every level, then I think Hope is misplaced.

• MrMahatma

So:

1. We lost
                    2. We played better than last week
                    3. Umps were shlt
                    4. We get Bont back next week
                    5. We get Martin back next week

Should’ve won.

Originally posted by Grantysghost
                      V/@AFL sides to go 0-3 when sitting in top spot on ladder with 3 rounds remaining
                      1933 - GEEL
                      1943 - ESS
                      1960 - MELB
                      1975 - HAW
                      2021 - WBD

#AFLDogsPower
                      So we smashed a 46 year record. Wow. So there’s people in their 50’s following this sport who can’t remember/didn’t witness what we have this passed 12 days. Wow.

Stop trying to cheer me up…

So we smashed a 46 year record. Wow. So there’s people in their 50’s following this sport who can’t remember/didn’t witness what we have this passed 12 days. Wow.

Stop trying to cheer me up…
                        I thought I'd seen it all but clearly hadn't (born in 75).

Originally posted by Grantysghost
                          I thought I'd seen it all but clearly hadn't (born in 75).
                          Me too. Of all the many records we set this year. What’s the bet this is the only one remembered?

Does it fit the definition of a ‘sporting choke’? (Albeit an emotive term)

I remember Brad Johnson saying that after the 1997 season prelim loss that Plough walked into the review with ‘we blew it’ written in black texta across his forehead.

That’s kind of how this H&A season review is free me. It’s all well and good to try your guts out for as long as you can and do your best. But ‘we blew it’.

Logged out of woof for the final quarter and just logged back in now.

So disappointing to lose that one tonight with so much on the line - a top 4 spot up for grabs and we bottle it after leading for the vast majority of the night. We move on now into a another final series possibly still top 4 if the Eagles do the job against the Lions if the Lions win then an elimination final beckons and i am hoping we can win our first final since the fantastic 2016 series.

• dog town

Me too. Of all the many records we set this year. What’s the bet this is the only one remembered?

Does it fit the definition of a ‘sporting choke’? (Albeit an emotive term)

I remember Brad Johnson saying that after the 1997 season prelim loss that Plough walked into the review with ‘we blew it’ written in black texta across his forehead.

That’s kind of how this H&A season review is free me. It’s all well and good to try your guts out for as long as you can and do your best. But ‘we blew it’.
                              It reminds me a little of the 2005 loss to Melbourne that would have sealed an unlikely finals appearance. Bit of Richmond Matty Knights return game about it as well.

Originally posted by dog town
                                It reminds me a little of the 2005 loss to Melbourne that would have sealed an unlikely finals appearance. Bit of Richmond Matty Knights return game about it as well.
                                2005 we were making a run and fell short… this year is like Jane Saville getting DQ’ed when leading into the stadium.

This doesn’t feel better the next day.

I was in a state of shock and disbelief last night… now I just feel anger towards our coach. This is all on him.