• SonofScray
    • Apr 2008

Re: Campbell Rose - PR Flunky

Didn't go too well but I thought Rose did OK.

TFS set this up and we got sucked into a no win situation really. Anyone with half a brain will acknowledge that Rose did not get given the same liberties to speak freely and openly to the extent Aker did. To put him out there in between Sam and Aker was pretty poor on their behalf given Rose was prepared to go in and face the music in the first place.

Bunker down now Doggies, we owe no one else anything. Just the fans, with results.

• Lurgan

Originally posted by comrade
      Mate, you're as passionate as they come and it's great, but you've bought into Aker's victim act hook, line and sinker.

Rose is a professional and wasn't going to get drawn into a tit for tat verbal stoush on live TV, outlining Aker's every indiscretion.

The fact that Aker is trumpeting that he had no idea it was coming, and he wants proof says more about his almost narcissistic ability to deny anything is his fault and the constant blaming of everyone else for his woes. He even suggested he wasn't sacked from Brisbane!

Aker is a media personality and has the means to voice his side of the story - one that benefits him and him only. Don't forget there are two sides to every story.
      Agree completely. Yes, Rose was set up but he's a professional and he kept his cool and his dignity. According to Aker, he (Aker) never did nuffin', he was a team man, he was loyal and it all came as a shock... yeah, right. Pure narcissism, the second time around, too.

Enough of this nonsense.

Here's a good question my uncle asked me: If it turns out that Aker is what's been wrong with the playing group, and we now start to find form and play great footy again, will you be as angry about sacking him, and if not, is that really honest?

• Ghost Dog
          • May 2010

Originally posted by G-Mo77
          So what would you rather air more dirty laundry?

We were going to lose the PR battle from the get go, it was an obvious no win situation and Campbell Rose didn't not give those twits on the footy show anything at all. He was the best man for the job and I thought he handled it quite well.

While you might think the "Trust" issue is nothing there was a guy on the panel tonight from his old club who thought it was massive issue also. I'll take his word over anyone else on there tonight. Aker has been let go for the exact same reason from 2 clubs now. Once this all blows over, and believe me it will, Aker will come out looking like the dill not Campbell Rose and not the Western Bulldogs.
          I actually thought Jason was pretty restrained and Campbell was pretty congenial. I thought the part where he admitted his son wore Aker's number a nice touch.
          Both were decent enough, media will beat it for all it's worth.
          Nobody at the club could have done better in his position - other than a real, breathing player. That was never going to happen.

• Missing-Dog

Originally posted by AndrewP6
            Maybe I'd have had more luck listening to Rose if he was the slightest bit convincing.

One of the "reasons" given in the press conference was the series of breaches over a period of time. That's where the clean slate comes in. They gave his behavioural breaches (I think 18 months was the timeframe) as reasons for the sacking. Tonight Rose put it simply down to the loss of trust, and said nothing of the behavioural breaches.
            How about these behavioural breaches.
            1) The Gay player article that was printed was not the same as the one given to the club. Club asks Aker. Aker responds that the article was changed without his permission. Club then backs Aker to the point of his teammates allowing him to lead them out after winning their next game. Herald Sun called bullcrap on Aker. He then backpedals releasing a statement saying the article was changed with his permission making anyone who backed Aker, including his new best friend Sam Newman and the club look foolish and Aker look like a liar.

This incident alone elicited a punishment.

2) Aker then states in the media that he needed a break due to a hamstring injury that the match committee forced him to play with making the club look negligent.

3) After a weak arse performance in a huge Williamstown win and a 3 week media ban Aker made an inflammatory remark about a St Kilda rookie.

4)Aker discusses confidential club meetings with known media whores Sam Newman and Steve Price. This leads to a situation (which in my opinion was orchestrated by Aker to stir up public favour) where Adam Cooney ( who was apparently very unhappy) is grilled and totally blindsided by Newman.

That is just the stuff we definitely know about, and this is coupled with the fact that he continually would speculate in the media why he wasn't being played. How could you trust this guy.

Seriously he can't even get his story straight with Sam on whether he told him or Sam overheard him and he insists he wasn't sacked at Brisbane when every single comment from a former or current Lion player is along the lines of "Its deja vu". How much more in the right can the club be. Hell Aker even wanted to show Rose texts from players who supported him, yeah he's trustworthy that Aker.

I loved him as a player and he seems nice enough and I even feel sorry for him a little but unfortunately he couldn't keep his mouth shut when he needed to and it has cost him not once but twice.

• BulldogBelle

Also you must add the self promoting on radio. That he has done his time, that he has been down to Williamstown, Blah Blah Blah, don't know why I'm not getting picked,

This is terrible behaviour, it compromises the coach and selection committee and every other player who is trying to get a game. Aker could not see this.

I thought that Campbell Rose was good.

Obviously Aker asking for proof was a ploy. Obviously Rose could not and would not provide proof on the Footy Show. Obviously this would just escalate matters, that Rose didn't want to do. To me, therefore Aker's request for proof was just nonsense.

I disagree, I think Rose handled it well, however, Aker should not have been allowed to be on Camera or question Rose at all.
                I agree, under the circumstnces he handled the situation pretty good.

Originally posted by AndrewP6
                Don't know that he'd be capable of it...
                Why, because he didn't want to argue with that idiot. Aker will never get it.

• Missing-Dog

It was set up to be a bloodbath, a lose/lose PR disaster whatever happened because that is how TFS structured it. Sam feigning outrage.

I thought Rose was great. I also don't think it mattered what he said, he was going to get attacked before after or during and the scallops in the crowd were going to cheer like demented troglodytes whatever he said.

We sent the CEO of our club to do this unpleasant task, sparing the coach, football director and president from having to do the heavy lifting in a no win situation. It was the right thing to do.

After everything Aker still really didn't appear to get what the fuss was about so I can understand why he wasn't able to fix whatever he was presented with at any point. At some point you have to say to yourself, even though I don't think there is a problem, you 43 other people do so maybe I need to work on some of this stuff just because I'm in a team.

And Aker is now dumping on Johnno and whoever else he can find.

Sad.

• choconmientay

I thought Rose was calm and and handled all the attacks quite well. He however missed an opportunity to expose Aker when he offered Rose to see the "text messages from team mates who supported him but couldn't stand up" .... Wasn't Aker going to breach the trust of those team mates who trusted him by offering this?!
                    It always seems impossible until it's done. Nelson Mandela

Personally I'm not sure we needed to go on at all. It was never going to end well. Overall most of the footy media has supported us. The only group we were trying to win over by going on TFS are the same bogans who have booed Aker for years, and who now get whipped into a frenzy and whoop and holler their support for him because they are 'on the telly.'

I hadn't watched this show in years and could not believe how much it has degenerated, but is it really representative of most footy fans? Am I just being naive??

Originally posted by choconmientay
                        I thought Rose was calm and and handled all the attacks quite well. He however missed an opportunity to expose Aker when he offered Rose to see the "text messages from team mates who supported him but couldn't stand up" .... Wasn't Aker going to breach the trust of those team mates who trusted him by offering this?!
                        What does "support" mean anyway? It could've been a simple message from a player that just said "Good Luck and all the best for the future".

• Dancin' Douggy

I don't think we should have sent anyone.

Maybe some keystone cops with some big cream pies to throw around.
                          And funny horns and whistles.
                          Maybe a smoking Chimp on a tricycle with crazy wheels.

• Ozza

I thought Jono Brown made more sense than anyone last night.

• Dancin' Douggy

Originally posted by Ozza
                              I thought Jono Brown made more sense than anyone last night.
                              I've mentioned this on another thread but It looked to me like J. Brown wanted to punch the living shit out of Aker.

Originally posted by Kelvinator
                                The club did not have to publicly participate in Jason being hoisted on his own pittard.

Petard. It was an explosive that was attached to the door of a castle to blow it in. Medieval warfare is my passion. It'd take seriously big goolies to run up to the door of a castle with a live bomb while archers took potshots at you from point blank range. Anyway.

We couldnt just let Aker and Sam blow take potshots at the club with no reply at all. Rose was the correct choice because on three months no-one will remember that Rose was on TFS last night, what they will remember is Sam's Mea Culpa (great mate to have-"BTW mate, I betrayed your confidence on national TV and got you sacked. But dont worry it's everybody else's fault") and the differing and contradicting versions of events that Sa, and Aker offered up.