Re: New Members

Originally posted by josie
    Revolver and Rubber Soul I reckon are up there with the best albums of all time. Beg to differ they were over rated. So influential to other musicians then and now. Doubt there will be another band in my lifetime that reaches their compositional heights (IMO Steely Dan, Joni M, and Bacharach did but if you don’t like jazz or Latin American influences and a lot of folks don’t….) and bridges generations (Abba did and although I’ve got a big soft spot for them they were pure fun, albeit very talented, pop confection and not as varied in their compositions) and appreciated and adapted by musicians from different musical genres; classical, pop, rock and jazz.

Now I’ve got that off my chest… Big Welcome all new woofers. Wonderful to see such an influx, hardly surprising considering the excellent pre-season reports and friendly banter on all things footy and not.
    Nah it's fine that you've got a different opinion. It's ok to be wrong.

• josie
      • Oct 2012

Originally posted by EasternWest
      Nah it's fine that you've got a different opinion. It's ok to be wrong.
      Josie :)

Our day will come
      And we'll have everything.
      We'll share the joy
      Just like '54 again.

• jazzadogs
        • Oct 2008

My number one tip for new members navigating the site - rather than going to individual forums and looking for updated threads, use the 'new posts' button (look beneath the bulldog emblem, under HOMEPAGE).

• Bulldog4life

Most lot of new members I can remember since I have started on the mighty WOOF forum. Give yourself a clap.

Originally posted by jazzadogs
            My number one tip for new members navigating the site - rather than going to individual forums and looking for updated threads, use the 'new posts' button (look beneath the bulldog emblem, under HOMEPAGE).
            Yeah agree JD, or the activity stream which works well.

• Stevo

While I have been a member for a long while I havent always been a regular contributor. I love the analogies Gaz has used to try and encourage turning my many visits to WOOF in to some more regular contributions. One of them was something like
              "Stevo, the site needs more oars in the water and you cant be "lay down" Sally Robinson and expect the site to work"
              He was right and that one jolted me out of my lazy haze. I shouldnt take this site for granted.

Originally posted by Stevo
                While I have been a member for a long while I havent always been a regular contributor. I love the analogies Gaz has used to try and encourage turning my many visits to WOOF in to some more regular contributions. One of them was something like
                "Stevo, the site needs more oars in the water and you cant be "lay down" Sally Robinson and expect the site to work"
                He was right and that one jolted me out of my lazy haze. I shouldnt take this site for granted.
                Yeah Stevo, FFS.

Welcome back mate, dig your post.

Welcome to all recent new woof members.

• Missing Dog

Hello everyone, came across this forum by chance following links and enjoyed the preseason training summaries - thanks to all - so joined to keep up with great updates. Life time bulldog at 70. Go Dogs.

Originally posted by Matjoh
                      Hello everyone, came across this forum by chance following links and enjoyed the preseason training summaries - thanks to all - so joined to keep up with great updates. Life time bulldog at 70. Go Dogs.
                      Welcome aboard MatJoh.

Originally posted by Stevo
                        Giving away trade secrets there Stevo

• Uninformed
                          • Jan 2023

Hi Everyone. Been a regular reader for 10 odd years. Life long supporter. Grew up in Essex st. A walk to the ground, watching EJ, standing on the the VB cans of my father, a strategic mastermind who positioned us within the waft of the unique aroma of the E.J. stand dunnies. Still remember the best full back of the time, Dad of.. Dad of.., and the superb Johnny Jillard off the back flank.

Originally posted by Uninformed
                            Hi Everyone. Been a regular reader for 10 odd years. Life long supporter. Grew up in Essex st. A walk to the ground, watching EJ, standing on the the VB cans of my father, a strategic mastermind who positioned us within the waft of the unique aroma of the E.J. stand dunnies. Still remember the best full back of the time, Dad of.. Dad of.., and the superb Johnny Jillard off the back flank.
                            It's great to have a long term supporter of the club and a long term follower of WOOF on the board so a big welcome. I guess you are talking about Dave the father of Luke and grandfather of Sam?

I didn't see a lot of him but he was a beautiful kick.

• bulldogfan
                              • Jan 2023

Hey everyone I came across woof and I thought it would be cool to join I am. A massive bulldog fan I am 16 years old and I enjoy the preseason updates

• Uninformed
                                • Jan 2023

It's great to have a long term supporter of the club and a long term follower of WOOF on the board so a big welcome. I guess you are talking about Dave the father of Luke and grandfather of Sam?

I didn't see a lot of him but he was a beautiful kick.
                                Indeed. The great Dave Darcy. Magnificent drop kick. (Wha...?) But good in all facets of the game. Geoff Southby-like marking fullback. Never beaten. Short by Luke standards, but a good key back size in the day.