Re: 2022 Draft Watch

Originally posted by Axe Man
    I know there's a long way to go but some are projecting him from the second half of the first round. I know we may well start with a pick in that range but I'm not sure we will still have it after trade week if some of the mooted trades eventuate.

I would prefer a KPD or mid if we do have a first round pick.
    I think we'll still consider 'best available' at our first pick but I'd be disappointed if we didn't address needs later in the draft.

We have a habit of going for "ok, neat running type, safe APS kids" with later picks and I think we have enough vanilla on our list. Go boom or bust later on.

Took the trip to Geelong today and got to see both games
      Vic Metro vs SA and VIC Country vs WA.

I really hope we hold our draft picks as this could be a very good draft for us.

Reports to come.

Took the trip to Geelong today and got to see both games
        Vic Metro vs SA and VIC Country vs WA.

I really hope we hold our draft picks as this could be a very good draft for us.

Reports to come.
        So you don't think we should look to trade in then? Or is it just our first pick we should be looking to hold?

Originally posted by hujsh
          So you don't think we should look to trade in then? Or is it just our first pick we should be looking to hold?
          This is a challenge clubs face most years and an honest assessment on where the playing list is needs to be conducted before the trade period starts. Are we genuinely in the premiership window and just need an experienced player or two to really give us a chance or do we need to continue on the investment we have made in Ugle-Hagan and Darcy with top end talent?
          Before I'd trade draft picks for established players I'd really want to make sure we are getting the right player(s) for us.

I think this is a strong enough draft that we can take advantage of given our current position and it has a good mixture of players (talls and mids) that could strengthen our side.

Time will tell how the club assesses the playing list.

• The Doctor

A few impressions from the National Champs with a Bulldogs perspective I'd like to offer;

I think it's a great draft this year. Lots of everything on offer. It's a draft I think we can help fix deficiencies on our list. Of particular interest to me were small/medium forwards and defenders of any size generally. I get the impression it could be a good year to split a first round pick if a juicy enough offer comes along.

A few players who caught my eye that would look good in a Dogs jumper;

Aaron Cadman Vic C - tall forward who can also play in defence. Attacks the ball in the air very strongly and an excellent mark. Good at ground level too. Has a strong KP frame to develop. Good top 10 chance.

Lewis Hayes - Vic Metro - Tall defender. Good intercept mark and disciplined. Contests well in one on one battles. Looks a top 20 chance.

Josh Weddle - Vic Metro - One of my favourites in this year's draft pool. Tallish no nonsense defender. Stands his ground. Very good shut down player but offers good rebound as well. I don't think he likes forwards very much.

Small Forwards - there's a zillion of them. In no particular order Konstanty (VC), Hotton (VM), Drury (VM), Clarke (VC), were all damaging at times. Also Jones (WA) very clever rover type dangerous around goals.

If we were to make a power play in this year's draft it would have to be for Harry Sheezel. This guy oozes class and X factor. A matchwinner. I'd offer our 22 & 23 first rounders if it could get us the pick that would land him.

The player I most wanted to see Brayden George was injured for the carnival to date. Hopefully he'll be fit and in form for when Country play Metro later in the year.

For next year Harley Reid wow!
            Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket

Typically our club has gone for best available.

Anyone poster FOR the idea of stretching for a key defensive player if they are on our internal board?

For example we pass over 3 midfielders to grab a KDP.

Thanks for the terrific update Doc.

I'm right on board with you regarding Lewis Hayes. I've seen him a few times this year and I rate his athleticism and decision making. He could be a fine KPD. He might very well be the youngest player drafted this year so the upside is there.

James Van Es was also impressive. Decisive player good at the 1 v 1 contests as well as intercepting.
                In difficult conditions I thought they both acquitted themselves well.

I also agree about Harry Sheezel but I would imagine he will go very early and it would be difficult to get someone to part with a very early pick.

I thought some of the WA boys were impressive including Elijah Hewett but he doesn't appear to be quick and the one who's competitiveness just shone through was Reuben Ginbey.

SA with Mattaes Phillipou has an obvious link to us (Sam played 3 games) and Adam D'Aloia, Harry Lemmey and Isaac Keeler impressed with their potential.

Glad you mentioned Harley Reid, I take a close look a the Bendigo Pioneers players and he should be a ripper.

I've got some notes to share soon.

Originally posted by azabob
                  Typically our club has gone for best available.

Anyone poster FOR the idea of stretching for a key defensive player if they are on our internal board?

For example we pass over 3 midfielders to grab a KDP.
                  For mine it depends - okish midfielder who finds heaps of it or low production, high ceiling X factor mid who can play outside? Long term, we are going to need mids as Bont/Macrae slow down

Draft watchers seem to think there will be opportunities in the 2nd & 3rd rounds to go tall as well. We have North's third rounder this year so that's virtually a late second.

• The Doctor

I thought some of the WA boys were impressive including Elijah Hewett but he doesn't appear to be quick and the one who's competitiveness just shone through was Reuben Ginbey.

SA with Mattaes Phillipou has an obvious link to us (Sam played 3 games) and Adam D'Aloia, Harry Lemmey and Isaac Keeler impressed with their potential.
                    After the first game I thought Hewitt was a certain top 3 pick. Rarely do you see a player dominate against a top shelf Metro midfield like that. Ginbey was terrific throughout, just not sure he would interest us unless he slipped to late draft position which is why I didn't mention him.

Phillipou should be another father/son for us after Sam's mighty 3 games for us. WE HAVE BEEN RIPPED OFF AGAIN BY THE AFL. It's a conspiracy. In all seriousness he is a jet. A better kicking version of Dunkley is how I see him. I wouldn't complain if we selected him but I think we have other priorities.

I thought Lemmey was disappointing. I really like Keeler as he has some quality about him. Kicks goals and rucks and can play any KP from my vantage point. Again I wouldn't complain but I would prefer Cadman, although a different player, for his harder attacks on the ball as a KP.

I should mention a couple of my Tassie boys. Cowan and McCallum both dynamic off half back. Will Edwards from NSW is a big lad who was awesome at fullback v WA. Not sure if he is tied to Sydney or not. Could be one of those late pick gems.
                    Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket

From now on we should just give every player 100 games.

• Axe Man

Originally posted by Happy Days
                        From now on we should just give every player 100 games.
                        Stef Martin will be 60 by the time we nurse him through to 100!

Originally posted by Axe Man
                          Stef Martin will be 60 by the time we nurse him through to 100!
                          Is he not already 60?

Originally posted by The Doctor
                            After the first game I thought Hewitt was a certain top 3 pick. Rarely do you see a player dominate against a top shelf Metro midfield like that. Ginbey was terrific throughout, just not sure he would interest us unless he slipped to late draft position which is why I didn't mention him.

Phillipou should be another father/son for us after Sam's mighty 3 games for us. WE HAVE BEEN RIPPED OFF AGAIN BY THE AFL. It's a conspiracy. In all seriousness he is a jet. A better kicking version of Dunkley is how I see him. I wouldn't complain if we selected him but I think we have other priorities.

I thought Lemmey was disappointing. I really like Keeler as he has some quality about him. Kicks goals and rucks and can play any KP from my vantage point. Again I wouldn't complain but I would prefer Cadman, although a different player, for his harder attacks on the ball as a KP.

I should mention a couple of my Tassie boys. Cowan and McCallum both dynamic off half back. Will Edwards from NSW is a big lad who was awesome at fullback v WA. Not sure if he is tied to Sydney or not. Could be one of those late pick gems.
                            Thanks Doc, I roughly know what picks we have now but that is likely to change a lot if we are into Lobb. It's why I'm casting a wider net and not specifically looking at players that might be available at our current picks.
                            I like the Phillipou and Dunkely comparison but maybe that should be Bontempelli?

Regarding Gibney I see him as a taller version of Clay Smith especially given the way he tries to rip the ball out of the hands of his opponents.

Keeler is a fair way off the mark at the moment but the potential is certainly there.

What were your thoughts on James Van Es and Noah Long?

Ollie Hollands, Henry Hustwaite and Mitch Szybkowski are also impressive types.

It's going to be an interesting draft. There is a fair bit of talent to monitor.

One who didn't play should be around the mark at the draft is Bailey Humphrey. One to keep an eye on as he was on fire early in the season before an injury.

As for Lemmey, there is something about him that I think will develop in time. Like a lot of the taller boys their form can dip from time to time. He might drop back a bit this year but in a couple of years time look like a real steal.

I know Hustwaite has his fans. Seems like a lot of varied opinions after the first 7 players.

• Hotdog60

From the ROAR

10. Western Bulldogs
                                Brayden George, Murray Bushrangers

Dear Footscray list management team: do not send Aaron Naughton back. Leave him forward with Josh Bruce and develop Jamarra Ugle-Hagan. Don’t go after Rory Lobb. and give Sam Darcy some games down back. The draft isn’t going to solve your key position problems, so go get some real X factor who can be alongside Cody Weightman and give some headaches to opposition coaches.

George makes you respect him in the air, where he has a great ability, but he will make you look silly on the ground, as he is silky smooth and has some Josh Rachele about him.

Yours sincerely (and I’m happy to come on board as a full-time recruiter),
                                Daz