Re: ASHES 2023 - 2nd TEST JUNE 28 - JULY 3, LORDS

An interesting stat:

After two Tests, Australia have faced 654 more balls to score 45 more runs than England, losing the same number of wickets.

An interesting stat:

After two Tests, Australia have faced 654 more balls to score 45 more runs than England, losing the same number of wickets.
      I was listening to Craddock today and he mentioned that we will have run Anderson and Broad into the ground a bit and also because England are batting so quickly the're not get an extended break. The short break and their age might mean one of them needs a break.

• macca

I was listening to Craddock today and he mentioned that we will have run Anderson and Broad into the ground a bit and also because England are batting so quickly the're not get an extended break. The short break and their age might mean one of them needs a break.
        this is type of workload that will cause breakdown in fast bowlers, especially ones who don't have the muscle endurance built in or recovery ability.

1st innings difference, England bowled 24.2 overs more
        2nd innings difference, England bowled 20.2 overs more. They bowled more maidens in the second innnings, which could suggest more control.

In total they bowled 44 more overs. I am going to make assumption anything above 20 overs is a big load in an innings.

So be interesting to see how Anderson and Broad fare in pace in next test in terms of recovery for their age. I would be concerned as a young bowler ( Ollie Robinson) who has played a few back to back tests with big workload, to be susceptible to break down i.e muscle strain, back stress etc...

look at their workload breakdown below:

Aust 1st innings
        BOWLING O Maidens
        James Anderson 20 5
        Stuart Broad 23 4
        Ollie Robinson 24.4 3
        Josh Tongue 22 3
        Ben Stokes 3 1
        Joe Root 8 1
        Total : 100.4 overs

Aus SEcond innings O Maidens
        James Anderson 19 4
        Stuart Broad 24.5 8
        Josh Tongue 20 4
        Ollie Robinson 26 11
        Ben Stokes 12 1
        Total 101.5 overs

England 1st innings total 76.2 overs bowled by aus, head bowled 7 overs
        England 2nd innings total 81.3 overs

In both innings they batted for less than 85 overs, thats kinda less than 1 day of batting.

It would have been a total different game if england bothered to bat another 20 overs, thats 10 overs each innings to get that 43 runs !
        Yes it may silly as it sounds, cricket is a game of statistics tragics like myself.

• D Mitchell
          • Jan 2023

Bairstow Dismissal. All those years ago, the convention was, well at the modest level at which I played, to warn a batsman who strayed over the crease, usually at the bowlers end. If he persisted then fair game. I didn?t mind Stokes? position. A mate of mine was in the Long Room at the time. He told me that the level of hostility towards the players was something he?s never seen at a cricket match.

Bazball is incredibly taxing on the bowlers, and to be honest it is not sustainable unless you have a large squad of bowling depth to choose from. The most insane example was in Pakistan last year when England bowled 106 more overs in the test after scoring a ridiculous 506 runs on the first day (they won that test late on day 5).

There will have to be at least a couple of changes to England's bowling line-up for Headingley.

Originally posted by D Mitchell
              Bairstow Dismissal. All those years ago, the convention was, well at the modest level at which I played, to warn a batsman who strayed over the crease, usually at the bowlers end. If he persisted then fair game. I didn?t mind Stokes? position. A mate of mine was in the Long Room at the time. He told me that the level of hostility towards the players was something he?s never seen at a cricket match.
              Except Bairstow was batting and should have not strayed - you would never warn the batter in that situation.

British PM has also said his two bobs worth - what a DH

Except Bairstow was batting and should have not strayed - you would never warn the batter in that situation.

End of the over it does happen a bit. A warning would've been appropriate however the Aussies have always played on the edge.

The more fascinating thing for me is the ability for this to have caused such division. Incredible really.

I don't like it, flog act, however I really don't care that much it's one wicket amongst 40 odd.

Great for the rivalry. Bring on the next match! Shame Archer isn't playing... Injured in the IPL (another flog act).

Originally posted by Grantysghost
                  End of the over it does happen a bit. A warning would've been appropriate however the Aussies have always played on the edge.

The more fascinating thing for me is the ability for this to have caused such division. Incredible really.

I don't like it, flog act, however I really don't care that much it's one wicket amongst 40 odd.

Great for the rivalry. Bring on the next match! Shame Archer isn't playing... Injured in the IPL (another flog act).
                  Flog Act - that is really taking it too far. You don't think all keepers do the same? It is part of the game and well within the rules.

Not nice act?

Can't agree. It is not about being nice or not, it is about winning within the rules.

Win at all costs I think that's the Aussie way!

Fair enough BAD.

Wonder how often the Poms will try it now. We will see the difference between playing nice and not nice now I think.
                        Can't be bad for us spectators.

Fair enough BAD.

Wonder how often the Poms will try it now. We will see the difference between playing nice and not nice now I think.

Hahahaaaaa. Wrong but funny.

So Albo is a DH for tweeting his support too? Angus Taylor too?

Nah. Albo is wealthy, Sunak is crazy rich. To connect with the great unwashed masses you talk about the things they?re talking about. Politics 101. Sunak especially needs to trying to talk to the common man.

Honestly, I don?t understand how this has the life force it has. It?s ****ing ridiculous that it?s dominating the media and political landscape?s of two first world countries. They have the worst inflation rates in the G20 and insane cost of living crises. But yeah, let?s all bang on about this. It?s mind numbing FFS. Stupid beyond words. Not proportionate to the act. I wish the media and pollies would all STFU and leave sport to us all. Argh!

Rant over.

Fair enough BAD.

Did I not read earlier they've already done/tried this? EG in NZ? You can claim not to like it but you can't claim England are any better. They're just complaining better which seems to appeal to your dislike of the current Australian team.

I've not watched any of the Ashes because I can't be bothered setting up FTA but in the time I have been paying attention to cricket the English have always been just as keen to bend the rules and get any advantage they can as Australia (maybe short of the sandpaper incident though I recall claims other teams like India also had players caught doing similar so maybe England have too IDK)