Re: ASADA issues show-cause notices to Essendon players

Originally posted by Maddog37
    At the end of the day it's your Connors and your Pinwells and your Galeas that need to make the decisions.
    Nicely done Maddog

Back on topic, why would anyone be surprised that Essendon treats everyone else with contempt in relation to the top-up players situation? They've perfected the art in the last couple of years.

• Maddog37
      • Nov 2010

But if they have a contract with the club, then permission is required

I was just doing my best Ayres impersonation BAD.

Originally posted by Maddog37
        I was just doing my best Ayres impersonation BAD.
        sorry, didn't get the humour

PS: Just re read and very funny.

Originally posted by 1eyedog
          Will need to be significantly more to stop VFL players having an opportunity to play on an AFL stage. It's every players dream.
          SANFL players offered $2000 a match plus a salary for the duration of the time they are here. Estimates are they will receive around $3500 week - significantly more than they will receive playing at home.

• KT31
            • Jul 2008

Originally posted by 1eyedog
            SANFL players offered $2000 a match plus a salary for the duration of the time they are here. Estimates are they will receive around $3500 week - significantly more than they will receive playing at home.
            This would have to be included in Essendons salary cap, so if for a few games let alone a season how would they be allowed to do this ?
            Or are they so above the law that they can do what they plaese ?
            AFL needs to give them a long sabbatical now or forever be tainted with their crimes.
            On the plus side a mate of mine who is now an ex-dons member has come over to Light Side and joined up with us.

Originally posted by KT31
              This would have to be included in Essendons salary cap, so if for a few games let alone a season how would they be allowed to do this ?
              They get a special salary cap increase for exceptional circumstances....

• KT31
                • Jul 2008

They get a special salary cap increase for exceptional circumstances....
                Surely this would be classed as their own doing and could not be allowed ?

• KT31
                  • Jul 2008

Or are they so above the law that they can do what they plaese ?
                  AFL needs to give them a long sabbatical now or forever be tainted with their crimes.
                  On the plus side a mate of mine who is now an ex-dons member has come over to Light Side and joined up with us.

Hehe - good to see Danksy has finally reach the point where he knows Essendon and the players are stuffed and now he's thrown them all under the bus. My personal favourite comments:

"These substances are well and truly part of an established landscape in terms of medicine in this country and overseas. All of these substances have some sort of approval somewhere in the world, for use, both therapeutically and in a general medical sense" - wow, awesome reassurance there Danksy...."some sort of approval somewhere in the world". You couldn't make this shit up.

"There was certainly a tremendous amount of governance and diligence in relation to the program."
                    "The furphy that there was no record keeping, the furphy that no one knew what was happening, I mean, to be perfectly honest, they are just lies that have been propagated by both the AFL and ASADA to help construct an ending to suit their means."
                    "It was certainly left on the club intranet. "Those records recorded every player on a spreadsheet for every day, every week, every month of the season."
                    "You probably need to ask Essendon Football Club [where they are]."
                    - righto Essendon, it's your problem now. This is his way of coming forward and clearing the players.

Just wait until the names of all the current Essendon players charged is finally revealed. When the name Joe Daniher comes up, all hell will break loose. Watson simply has to lose his Brownlow, and any individual AA selections need to be rescinded. They are a shit-stain on the entire competition - I don't want to see anything less than 18 months backdated (12 months of actual playing time), with Crameri having hopefully complied with ASADA to get his penalty significantly reduced.

Shit is about to get real for the Bombres.

First time in a while I haven't listened to the party show RRR.

Essendon are in all sorts of trouble as it is, but if Joe Daniher is implicated it will add a whole layer of trouble for all concerned at the club. Will be very interesting to see if he is a late withdrawal from the first NAB Cup game with 'general soreness'

He wasn't on the list in 2012 so there's absolutely no reason for him to miss the first game - but I bet you he does anyway.
                        He hasn't been named, despite supposedly burning up the training track.

• anfo27

Originally posted by Greystache
                          He hasn't been named, despite supposedly burning up the training track.
                          Thought the same thing when i saw the squad.

• Ghost Dog
                            • May 2010

They will ask get off with a slap on the wrist. The AFL will safeguard their precious image.

I hope supporters of all colors start a campaign to give Hird heaps when he walks down those stairs.The court of public opinion is all we can rely on.

• KT31
                              • Jul 2008

D-Day for Bombers on March 31

Anti-Doping Tribunal to make decision two days before the season begins

Long overdue. Seems to be timed too perfectly for the start of the season.