Re: ASADA issues show-cause notices to Essendon players

Originally posted by 1eyedog
    Nah I read the article and surmised it was way too pro-EFC. I did some work on Graham Smith and found another article where he lambasted ASADA's take on the scandal from August last year. Seemed like a trend was developing. I did a further search on Smith and Essendon and found references to his support of the Bombers on the ASADA /AFL forum page on Big Footy. Not content on taking Big Footy's word for it I searched Smith and Clayton Utz and then searched their 'A' client list which includes Toll Holdings, Paul Little's company. I then put two and two together which essentially confirmed what one poster stated on BF.

I woke before the kids this morning so had a bit of time to dig a little. Just trying to source the correct info and report here Stache
    Haha. Sorry, I was actually just disparaging his comments in the article as something you'd read on Bomber Blitz. I didn't realise the research you'd done to see how biased his ridiculous comments are. That's hillarious!

Originally posted by Greystache
      Were those quotes lifted from Bomber Blitz?

It should all go away because it's interrupting the AFL season? What a ridiculous statement. We should turn a blind eye to any potential cheating because we don't want it getting in the way of "competition"? And if the authorities won't look the other way we should form our own authority that will. That's pretty embarrassing stuff.
      It's like an episode of the Office. That skin crawling feeling of watching David Brent try to justify something. And just as funny.

Anybody catch Peter Gordon's comments on 3LO this morning? I love what Peter has done for our club in both his tenures as president, but I am incredibly disappointed with his stance on the doping scandal. It smacks of self-interest because we have players implicated in this mess. Sport has no integrity if there are cheats gaining an unfair advantage through the use of PEDs. If the 34 players are found to have used unfair means to gain an advantage on the rest of the competition, they have no place in the game for a period of time.

Peter, you need to direct your anger at the EFC (in particular Hird, Little and Reid) for their brazen, arrogant and completely selfish actions in chasing success at any cost, to the extent of putting players under their care in potential danger.

WADA need to be allowed to do their job to find out what the hell happened at that club, because the EFC certainly don't know (or destroyed the records).

There may be an element of not burning bridges with the AFL as well. While I hope Gordon is disgusted with Essendon, what will happen with WADA and Worksafe (or is it Workcover?) will happen regardless of what he says in the media.

I'd also like to see him speak out against them, but not if it even complicates discussions around issues like say equalization.

• Topdog

Whately spoke over Robbo a couple of times. Virtually shooshed him when Robbo was a couple of sentences into a Dorothy dixer for Hird and asking his own question. The worm turns.
              Is this available for viewing anywhere?

Here's some more sooking:

Originally posted by Topdog
                  Is this available for viewing anywhere?

It keeps loading to my app and I can't work out how to get the URLs but put afl360 hird into google videos and theirs a full 17 minute version fourth one down

• Topdog

Largely a sook but I think we can all agree that the following was a disgrace

some of the newspapers have printed photos of my son outside my house with the address on the front page of the paper.

Originally posted by Topdog
                      Largely a sook but I think we can all agree that the following was a disgrace
                      I'd like to see the evidence of it. If it's true, then it's unacceptable, and it likely contravenes media laws. With that in mind, and the fact the Hird family seem quite litigious I'm sure action will have been taken or is just around the corner.

They take heaps of photos no doubt but only publish the appropriate ones .

• Topdog

I dont know how to prove it but I do remember seeing some photos that I thought were very much out of order.

Just finished watching that interview, Whately was fantastic, remained so poised throughout it all. Just a shame he didn't push on the excel spreadsheet.

Obviously if it is on excel they have a softcopy available.

• westdog54

Tim Lane sums it all up nicely here.

• Topdog

Originally posted by westdog54
                              http://m.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/...16-gh354d.html

Tim Lane sums it all up nicely here.
                              Fantastic article. Well done Tim.

• merantau
                                • May 2015

I quote from Tim Lane's article:

"Dank, who believes the records may have "disintegrated", was found guilty by the anti-doping tribunal of 10 charges of "trafficking, attempting to traffic and complicity in matters related to a range of prohibited substances""

So, if these weren't being given to the players who was being given them - the cleaning staff, office staff, the stats team, the bloke in charge of the drink bottles, the fellow who cuts up the oranges? James Hird is bitter than WADA is exercising its right of appeal. Didn't he use all legal means at his disposal to put his case. Was an odious regimen allowed free reign during that time, underpinned by the club's guiding principle at the time: "Whatever it takes."? I wonder how those words resonate with the hierarchy at Windy Hill these days? I guess WADA will take months to present its case and, in the meantime, that black cloud that appears in The Age cartoon alongside Tim Lane's article, will continue its low-altitude hovering above the heads of all involved.
                                [URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]