• Vred
    • Nov 2018

Nope. No extension. Call me a Bevo hater if you want - but he hasn't earned it.
    No top 4 finishes
    ANOTHER year of putting in a limp effort in a final and bowing out.
    I'm not buying it anymore and haven't since 2022.

If we are firmly squared away in a top 4 position come the bye, offer him an extension, for me anything short of that is a waste. So what if another club headhunts him? Take him, his been at the top job here for long enough and I honestly do feel some fresh eyes and ideas would do our group wonders.

Bevo said it himself in 2023 ''I'm very surprised they came to me with this contract extension''. I do not think he has earned another one.
    [I][B]"Its always good to win the Ashes test match'' - Libba, AFL Grand Final, 2016[/B][/I]

Originally posted by Vred
      Nope. No extension. Call me a Bevo hater if you want - but he hasn't earned it.
      No top 4 finishes
      ANOTHER year of putting in a limp effort in a final and bowing out.
      I'm not buying it anymore and haven't since 2022.

If we are firmly squared away in a top 4 position come the bye, offer him an extension, for me anything short of that is a waste. So what if another club headhunts him? Take him, his been at the top job here for long enough and I honestly do feel some fresh eyes and ideas would do our group wonders.

Bevo said it himself in 2023 ''I'm very surprised they came to me with this contract extension''. I do not think he has earned another one.
      Understandable position and unless there is some contract news before the start of the season they may as well ride it out and wait until much later.
      He hasn't lost his passion and desire to be successful so the club needs to determine if there are some better coaching options we could potentially bring in?
      I'm not against testing the market but sacking a long term coach who won a flag for us mid season isn't a great position for the club.

• Bulldog Joe
        Premiership Moderator
        • Jul 2009

I have been in the move Bevo on category since about 2019.

Even 2021 did not appease me as I felt that he cost us by allowing those losses to Essendon and Hawthorn that cost top 4 and resulted in us being worn out and depleted in the GF.

However, 2024 actually changed my view as I saw us look really capable for the latter part of the season.

The Hawthorn final was disappointing, but if we reproduce what we were doing for most of the previous 10 weeks we will be in the season.

We have a fixture that really should see us start with 3 wins and put the competition on notice.

• NAUGHTY100
          • Dec 2024

Originally posted by Grantysghost

I don't think he's that nice a guy that he would gamble with his career. I get the sentiment, and I'm sure that's how he would want it to be publicly however, I think that if it's controlled from Luke's side (which I doubt but anything's possible) then it maybe more to do with another offer. Eg inaugural Tassie coach.
          I agree that Bevos management would be firmly looking at the tassie job . Personally i would go to Bevo and say , do you want to continue coaching this side , if the answer is yes then give him a goal , top 4 , if he really wants to continue he will do everything in his power to achieve that KPI , if his a bit iffy or dosnt make top 4 , then maybe it is time to go our seperate ways , because i feel we have a list that should be top 4 , and maybe new eyes and new ideas will get us there .

Originally posted by Grantysghost

I don't think he's that nice a guy that he would gamble with his career. I get the sentiment, and I'm sure that's how he would want it to be publicly however, I think that if it's controlled from Luke's side (which I doubt but anything's possible) then it maybe more to do with another offer. Eg inaugural Tassie coach.
            If he left for the Tassie job, I would be happier than seeing him at one of the traditional clubs I hate.

No Treloar, no JUH, and possibly an underdone Naughton at the start of the season puts a lot of exposure on us early. JJ being out will be used by pundits as a big loss, but given his returns these past three years I'd argue against that being the case. A lot rides on Sam Darcy having a good start to the season, another injury to a key player and it's going to be tricky.

Win early and carry form irrespective of the patchy list health/ availability and he's looking good for an extension if he wants it. Lose early due to poor form and the same list health/ availability, things become very ambiguous if we can then bumble along and sit positive of the ledger. If we fall behind the ledger and don't look close to getting back to parity or positive, it might be curtains.

I don't see how signing him up now makes the last two of the above three scenarios more fun for anyone when we couldn't part ways (and actually save face in the process). If we sign him now and we're winning then we're all legends. Not signing him already brings on the pressure in each scenario, for sure, but we at least have the advantage of flexibility. Ride it out I say.

• Stevo

Originally posted by BiteNibbleChomp

If the club's decision is that this is his last year, I hope we'll at least let him see out the year. Even if we come last.

After all he's done for the club, I think we owe him better than to sack him in July.

- BNC
                Bevo shouldn't ever be sacked mid season. If he jumps then so be it but we should keep him for as much as the season as we can even if it was going poorly.
                Are there some good candidates out there?

• Stevo

Originally posted by Kingbiggs

I would say the metric to make a decision at round 10 wouldnt be solely the W/L column, but also our premiership profile. If we're miles off it and the W/L isn't great I'd say he's close to gone. If our premiership profile is looking good but our W/L's aren't as great I'd say the club keeps him.

Really refreshing to have so many here backing Bevo, felt like I was the only one left supporting him after the hawks loss at Round 8 last year, so glad to know there was still a group somewhere.
                  People are far more possessive about some players than they are about coaches. I agree that after that Hawks loss it was hard to find many Bevo supporters.
                  As supporters we are hungry for success so the coach is always going to be under pressure.

• mjp

Originally posted by Stevo

Bevo shouldn't ever be sacked mid season. If he jumps then so be it but we should keep him for as much as the season as we can even if it was going poorly.
                    Are there some good candidates out there?
                    I was going to give this a thumbs up, but surely no-one things the coach should be sacked pre-season??

I've got no issues with the contract delay - after all, for all we know he has a contract in front of him - but I couldn't imagine him being relieved of control mid-season...he's clearly the best/most successful coach in the history of the club...I mean, he has surely done some interesting bordering on crazy stuff but he wins games of footy.

• mjp

Originally posted by Vred
                      No top 4 finishes.
                      I get this.

Brisbane finished 5th last year.

That cup in their cabinet? It doesn't have an asterisk on it...They came from 40+ points back to beat the Giants in a final - no-one is suggesting they ran out onto the field unprepared for the first bounce.

I'm fine with the "no extension" position you're taking but we've played in 2x grand finals in my life time (one I will even admit to remembering) and he led us to both. If you're going to go hard on the bad you have to acknowledge the good. I'm actually happy to let it ride this year but I'm pretty exhausted by the "Never finished top 4" narrative. We finished top 4 under Terry Wallace and never got to the Grand Final. We were DESPERATE for him to stay - the whole Sydney think felt like a massive kick in the teeth. We finished top 4 under Mick Malthouse but never got to the grand final...pretty sure I remember being pretty upset he was leaving to go to West Coast as well.

Other recent coaches? B-Mac. Peter Rohde. Happy with the 'make him wait' but let's assign credit where it's due...YES - things might be better without him...but they could also be a whole lot worse.

Originally posted by azabob
                        Bevo and Bont out of contract at years end.... everything is fine...
                        Can't wait for for Shocktober part 2

2015 and 2016 were great years. 2015 home away season was so enjoyable and the 2016 season the premiership of course.

It has been disappointing and frustrating since after winning the premiership to be honest.

5 elimination final defeats in 10 years is hard to take. You wonder how it would have gone had we finished top 4 in some of those seasons.

The only great year since then was 2021 to make another Grand Final and I feel Bevo got the new contract off the back of achieving making another grand final.

Bevo did very well last season with those positional changes that worked well and our form in the latter part of the season was very strong along with the Hawks and Lions. Just unlucky we played the Hawks in the elimination final as that matchup should have been better played deeper into the finals. Also our supporters got screwed over by the ticketing for that match. If we played Carlton in that first week I reckon we would have won considering how poor they were going into the finals.

Just need to let it play out in 2025 and see how it goes. We simply need to good start to the season and set ourselves up for a top 4 chance.

I wouldn’t be rushing in and renewing his contract just yet.

• Warrnambulldog
                            • Dec 2023

I wonder how intertwined Bevos and Bonts contracts are. As much as I want Bevo to try earn an extension this year, I want Bont to sign on whatever the cost. If his signature relies on Bevo staying or going, I’d be inclined to agree if I was Ameet and Co.

• Mitcha
                              • Mar 2009

As we all know "Crazy Bevo" usually uses the early rounds to try a few things in terms of selection integrity and positional movement before settling down and playing our perceived best 23 in their best positions and we generally finish off the second half of the season well after a bit of catchup footy early on. Not sure he can do that this season with our current injury list of Treloar, Johannissen, Jones, the uncertainty around JUH plus the possibly underdone English, Naughton and Weightman. If we start well and then get players feeding back into the lineup then Bevo should be fine but wouldn't want to be too far behind the pack by halfway.

Originally posted by Mitcha
                                As we all know "Crazy Bevo" usually uses the early rounds to try a few things in terms of selection integrity and positional movement before settling down and playing our perceived best 23 in their best positions and we generally finish off the second half of the season well after a bit of catchup footy early on. Not sure he can do that this season with our current injury list of Treloar, Johannissen, Jones, the uncertainty around JUH plus the possibly underdone English, Naughton and Weightman. If we start well and then get players feeding back into the lineup then Bevo should be fine but wouldn't want to be too far behind the pack by halfway.
                                We need a fast start no doubt and while it's a poor time with all the injuries for Bevo being in a contract year that's just the breaks and we cant cut him any slack for it.
                                He doesn't have time to experiment in the season if it runs risk of a couple of losses. It's a tough early draw for us so lets hope we have ironed out any issues and we can spend the balance of the preseason focused on a positive start right from round 1.