2025 AAMI Community Series - Hawthorn V Western Bulldogs Thu 27/2/25 UTAS Stadium, Launceston 5:20PM AEDT

It's funny how guys like Poulter just can't get a break with umpires at the senior level. Every club has one or two fringe players who never seem to get rewarded with say, front on contact, but definitely get pinged on a touchy holding the ball.

Very happy with how we rallied in the last quarter and held it together to score and regain the lead. Hopefully the guys take a bit out of it.

Today was a timely reminder of how annoying the Hawks are as people on the field. Nick Watson had to go all tough guy, McDonald had to bring a bit of Hokwank into a celebration. It'll be nauseating if it continues all year, because it was already getting well shit last year.

• HOSE B ROMERO
      • Mar 2012

Rapt with the work ethic.
      Injuries create opportunities so chuffed to see Davidson, McNeil, Cleary, jones and even Garcia in the final quarter shine.
      And how bloody good is it beat those mongrels.

It's funny how guys like Poulter just can't get a break with umpires at the senior level. Every club has one or two fringe players who never seem to get rewarded with say, front on contact, but definitely get pinged on a touchy holding the ball.

Very happy with how we rallied in the last quarter and held it together to score and regain the lead. Hopefully the guys take a bit out of it.

Today was a timely reminder of how annoying the Hawks are as people on the field. Nick Watson had to go all tough guy, McDonald had to bring a bit of Hokwank into a celebration. It'll be nauseating if it continues all year, because it was already getting well shit last year.
        Prediction - one hit wonders.

• Stevo

Originally posted by Aidan7557
          Might be pessimistic here but that team on paper is not great. The big thing that stands out is how many "iffy" players we have right now. Go through Collingwood's team last night without de goey, mitchell and maynard. It is loaded from player 1 to 22. Feel like even with adz, red, weightman and jones back we still are about 4 or 5 players off the mark compared to the best teams. I feel like the only way we challenge this season is guys like sanders, davidson, mcneil, west etc go from D or C players to B's and our top line play out of their minds. Overall feeling like we are in a transition period with the list as a whole and it might be a frustrating season or two. Not saying we will be bad but all this is in the context of challenging for a premiership. Lots of good teams this year and looking at the Pies team on paper last night really woke me up to see we are a bit off their pace right now.
          You would have to be happy with the way the backs, mids and forwards connected today?
          JOD more than solid,. Cleary hardly put a foot wrong. McNeil damaging, Croft showing spirit and a touch of mongrel.
          Naughton and Darcy dangerous up forward. Liberatore showing what a great leader and motivator he is. Sander and Davidson were huge for us and Harmes and Kennedy adding plenty to our midfield.

jeemak commented
            Editing a comment
            The team looked extremely well coached, prepared and disciplined for much of the game. Having so many of our first choice players out meant we'd be relying on all of those things to be competitive and we were.
        • Stevo

Originally posted by lemmon
          Wonder how set we are on playing Poulter as the third tall in round 1? Hasn't worked at all tonight
          I don't think we will.

• Stevo

Originally posted by Virgin-Dog
            So weird how as soon as Davidson is near the ball, I’m more confident. He hasn’t even debuted yet and already looks like he’ll be one of our most important players this year.

who’s overreacting to a practice match?
            Probably but there is not reason not to get excited.

Watching the replay now. Recorded it.

Thanks for the updates. Nice win. Sounds like we had a decent hitout.

Hope Bont and VDM are ok.

• Stevo

Originally posted by Bulldog Joe

How would a Victorian even know
                Tassie weather absolutely better than Melbourne
                If they have ever lived in Ballarat they're qualified

• Prince Imperial

We haven't won a close match (under 14 points) at AFL level since Round 4, 2023.

This was only a practice match but it's encouraging that we found a way to win when the Hawks were piling on the pressure and hit the lead.

Very happy with Cleary, Jones and Davidson who only have 21 AFL matches between them.

• Stevo

Originally posted by doggies ftw
                    Sanders has been super disappointing to be honest, he really just needs to get back basics and start hunting the footy on the inside. You’re the main man in there today really stop skirting around the packs, needs some more power and urgency in his game desperately
                    Gotta disagree with that D FTW. Got plenty of it, got a heap of tackles. He's far from the finished product but I wasn't disappointed.

jeemak commented
                      Editing a comment
                      Agreed. Wasn't perfect, wasn't great, but wasn't disappointing to me. I got plenty o worries, Sanders ain't one.

• Smads57
                      Smads57 commented
                      Editing a comment
                      Sanders second only to Libba on the tackle count (8)
                  • Geejay
                    • Jan 2025

Likes, Davidsons first half,showed some flair,played himself into team against North. Josh Dolan , encouraging not quite there, looks to hav a future. Luke Cleary , serviceable backup, reads it well, tidy player but can he provide point of difference.Arty Jones, provides a spark,brings energy , reckon he get in the side,Disapointments, Sanders,seemed to not run hard enough a few times from the tv vision., works hard in dose but currently lacks strength to get clean clearances like Libba. Tackling , we can’t we stick tackles and allow teams to get a handball off too regularly..no. Improvement from prior seasons

Originally posted by Stevo

I don't think we will.
                      If we want a fringe tall runner, I'd play Croft (who needs another year of development) ahead of him.
                      With Matt Kennedy playing too, I think we can get away with two talls anyway.

We have plenty to come back into the side - Bont & Richards, West forward, Dale probably in round 2 in defence. That's before Weightman/Treloar/Marra/Liam Jones comes back.

• Dazza
                        • Mar 2009

Rapt with tonight really. Very happy with a few young guys, Naughton looks fit and ready to go, Darcy looks imposing.

Couple of concerns for mine were Gallaghers use from the back half and Sanders being pushed off the ball a bit too easily. Crofty seems a little way off too but I'm not sure we are using him correctly.

Davidson looks like he'll improve our wing problems which is great. Couldn't fault him other than a couple broken tackles. Looked 100% ready to go rd1.

A.Jones provided a spark when he came on. Took a few good marks too.

Dolan showed enough I thought. Clean with the ball.

Freijah is a star in the making. Very very solid player at this stage of his development.

Was happy with ODonnells game at full back too. Few times he should have punched instead of going for a mark but that will happen.

Cleary played a Cleary game. He always plays pretty well IMO. Tidy defender who could maybe replace Duryea one day.

All in all I was very happy with the younger guys which is what I mainly watch for in a practice game.

• Stevo

Originally posted by Aidan7557
                          Naughton and Darcy how good....... sometimes less is more.
                          They've got some synergies haven't they? That Naughton pass to Darcy was a bit good.

Originally posted by SonofScray
                            What weight, if any are we putting on this hit out?
                            I put some weight on it from a fringe player perspective. I was really surprised and happy with Cleary's game. Davidson played himself into a round 1 lock, and Dolan had some really good moments too but was understandably gassed by the end of the game.

Arty had an excellent second half and with his energy and pace, he might be just experienced enough to be an excellent sub option. If VDM has any lingering symptoms, Arty surely comes in. And Croft showed a few glimpses of what he'll become, in time.