• dukedog
    • Dec 2014

I would pay him and he sits out the year with no footy. Just don't pick him in any team. Do that after draft. Then he goes into the mid season draft and pick him again and let him sook that up like a little B&tCH.

The money is irrelevant. getting a player or pick would be a bonus.

Originally posted by Bulldog Joe

Whatever the alleged illness is he is clearly able to get out and about and interact with others.

Deregistering him would not prevent him earning a living. He could work anywhere like a normal human.

He should not be funded for the lifestyle he has clearly chosen when he does not perform the basic requirements.
      I feel like sometimes people forget that's even an option once someone gets famous enough

Originally posted by hujsh

I feel like sometimes people forget that's even an option once someone gets famous enough
        For AFL footballers? If you're famous enough you can become a coach, or a pundit, or go on speaking tours or etc etc so you don't need to worry about a "normal" job.

If not the fame fades in time and of course they live normal lives. I've got 10-12 former AFL players at my work.

Marra has in no way left any kind of lingering memory that'll make him any more than a minor footnote in AFL fame. He'd be perfectly able to get a real job when his career eventually fizzles out.

I like that we are staying quiet for the time being. Just let Dimma pursue his vanity project and get JUH to nominate GC. Then I want Sam Power to stand his ground and remind the AFEL industry what we have done to support JUH, that he is a contracted player and that we require strong compensation to trade him (knowing we will get whatever we can to rid this bloke out of our club). The gutter scribes need a firm reminder that we have invested probably 6 years into this bloke before we even drafted him with pick 1, and then invested another 5 years while he was with us.

It doesn't serve us in the slightest to have 900k sitting on the pine in 2026. I don't actually care how successful he might be at Gold Coast - it's absolutely best for us to rid him now and invest that 900k into 100% invested and committed footballers.

• ArsenalFC
            • Dec 2024

I want the club to treat this as a business decision. Feelings will get hurt, that's business.

Originally posted by ArsenalFC
              I want the club to treat this as a business decision. Feelings will get hurt, that's business.
              That's exactly the way we should approach Marra. Make the best business decision and accept the consequences.

• The Adelaide Connection

Honestly, the best fit for him is probably not GC- I think it would be Port Adelaide.

Port have always had a strong Indigenous programme and usually have more Indigenous boys on their list than most. Shaun Burgoyne is working for the club in the Indigenous and development space and from all reports is a good egg.

He is *exactly* the player they need to help their forward group, so that box is ticked from their perspective.

It takes him away from Melbourne, but also places him in an environment where he won't be anonymous and will be accountable (is the GC party culture really the right option?).

NOW, maybe this helps us unlock Butters this year? JUH and a first rounder?

• The Underdog

That's exactly the way we should approach Marra. Make the best business decision and accept the consequences.
                  Would we pay a portion or all of his wage to get a better return on a pick?

Originally posted by The Underdog

Would we pay a portion or all of his wage to get a better return on a pick?
                    You would imagine all options would be on the table. There might be a chance that happens.

• Jeanette54
                      • Oct 2009

Having said all that I would be amazed if any club was prepared to offer him anything other than a one-year contract. Given he effectively still has a year to run on his contract with us, I imagine he might choose to stay, and continue to draw a salary with minimal effort. In that case what are our options, if any ?
                      The truth will set you free,
                      but first it will piss you off. ... Gloria Steinem.

Originally posted by EasternWest

For AFL footballers? If you're famous enough you can become a coach, or a pundit, or go on speaking tours or etc etc so you don't need to worry about a "normal" job.

If not the fame fades in time and of course they live normal lives. I've got 10-12 former AFL players at my work.

Marra has in no way left any kind of lingering memory that'll make him any more than a minor footnote in AFL fame. He'd be perfectly able to get a real job when his career eventually fizzles out.
                        You think he could handle a real job ? He would struggle just to turn up , he can’t turn up
                        now let alone a clock on clock off job

Originally posted by ledge

You think he could handle a real job ? He would struggle just to turn up , he can’t turn up
                          now let alone a clock on clock off job
                          Well that's a separate issue (also, no), but my point was 95% of players just go on to normal working lives.

Originally posted by EasternWest

Of course they do, my point was more around how its framed online and how some people seem to perceive it. Same thing with 'comedians' being 'cancelled' or small business owners losing their business. It's fine, just do a different job.

• NAUGHTY100
                              • Dec 2024

I do get the frustration but just on that very point that I have highlighted, what are acceptable outcomes for you (and others)?

1) Do you want him terminated without pay?
                              This likely means he goes anywhere else like Geelong or Collingwood and we get nothing plus we have to deal with any legal disputes that might follow.
                              2) We pay part of his salary to get him away from the club with a potential to get something back in terms of a draft pick from another club?
                              3) We keep him on the playing list and pay out his contract while he effectively stands out of football for another year?
                              4) The AFL de-rigsters him as a player and his only chance of a return is via the MSD? I don't know if this is possible.
                              5) Add whatever else you think is is a better solution.
                              Yeah i get exactly where your comming from Gary , its just utter frustration that we have spent so much time and money on this kid and he turns his back on us .
                              I know legally he has us over a barrel , but there must be a sensible solution to this saga , and the solution cant just be him walking out and us paying half his wage to play against us , there must be a fairer outcome ,
                              realistically we will get maybe a 3rd round pick and we will have to pay 200 or 300 thousand of his salary , which i wont like but we all will have to accept it , to finish this saga .
                              We cant keep him at the club he has literally shat in our faces and it wouldnt work , the players are probally still his freinds but i truly belive that he has lost their trust .
                              Keeping him at the club while he plays no games and we still pay his wage is a non starter , that wolud be very unsavoury .
                              The AFL wont deregister Marra , they have watched as he went about his bussiness and at no stage did he really try to get back , attending a retreat then coming back to training for a month then dissapering again isnt exactly being fair dinkum, he has made his feelings towards our club quite clear , he dosnt want to be here , the afl should have step in this year after his night clubbing and hanging around with some unsavoury people , but didnt .
                              Frustration anger and total disappointment , that we had a generational player that turned his back on us , why noone probaly knows apart from him , so we say good bye good luck and move on and try and get a replacment with the wonderful 3rd round draft pick we get for him .
                              All IN all its a salary dump no less no more .

• Uninformed
                                • Jan 2023

Originally posted by The Adelaide Connection
                                Honestly, the best fit for him is probably not GC- I think it would be Port Adelaide.

Port have always had a strong Indigenous programme and usually have more Indigenous boys on their list than most. Shaun Burgoyne is working for the club in the Indigenous and development space and from all reports is a good egg.

He is *exactly* the player they need to help their forward group, so that box is ticked from their perspective.

It takes him away from Melbourne, but also places him in an environment where he won't be anonymous and will be accountable (is the GC party culture really the right option?).

NOW, maybe this helps us unlock Butters this year? JUH and a first rounder?
                                With his family in Warnambool area, it should suit Marra as well. Seems like Port are not interested though. Perhaps their indigenous people have a better insight into what they are dealing with in this case than GC.