• Hotdog60

Re: Assistant Coaches

Originally posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
    I'm going MJP...... when it's Late Feb and media reports of Jordon Sweet 'borderline flying at Port in early pre-season hit outs' stimulate a a sustained barrage of gas-filled, shit-post shells, lobbed by members of the WJSA - The WOOF Jordon Sweet Alliance.

I reckon Mike's for sure calling for any Sweet-related posts to be censured, very early on in pre-season, if that shit gets out of hand.

Oh you said players.. I thought you said 'posters'...

Right.

Ok, yeah I'm hoping its Bailey Smith....I want to hear he's 100% in the game and really feeling the burn this pre-season.

I gotta feeling a big driver of our overall chances next year (and hopefully beyond) come out of whether or not Smith can go to another level.
    Profound insights huh?.... Yep, you're all very welcome...
    As you were.
    Don't you whisper sweet nothings in my ear.

Originally posted by ledge
      I just read Dew looks like going to North, does that mean he turned us down for them or did we ever really go after him?
      It probably wasn't the right fit.

Things are a bit more positive around the place now post some appointments and decent comms from the club.

I think Dew is heading back to the Swans. Not sure he would have been the right man for us anyway
        God he just bought a house too next to your tent.

Glad we’ve got these appointments made, both sound like good additions.

I hope we can bring in 5 or so new players on top of Harmes & Coffield too. Things have stunk since the 2021 GF and hopefully 7 new players, the new coaches and specialists bring about a new culture/atmosphere around the place. As close to a fresh start as we can get. Hopefully it works as there’s not too many more to move on or sack now if we can’t get the results on the board.

• doggies ftw
              • Dec 2013

Originally posted by ledge
              I just read Dew looks like going to North, does that mean he turned us down for them or did we ever really go after him?
              What?s old mate Vreds strike rate this off season? Would think he threw enough darts at the dart board to land one but doesn?t seem like it 😂

• Stevo

Originally posted by doggies ftw
                What?s old mate Vreds strike rate this off season? Would think he threw enough darts at the dart board to land one but doesn?t seem like it ��
                Thats a hard view on Vreds comments. I enjoyed reading his input but it might not be for everyone. Its not like he was making the appointments, but he shared what he thought was being discussed at the club.

Originally posted by Stevo
                  Thats a hard view on Vreds comments. I enjoyed reading his input but it might not be for everyone. Its not like he was making the appointments, but he shared what he thought was being discussed at the club.
                  It's all in good spirit I believe.

If you're going to throw darts, peeps will want to see some hit!

Generates discussion which is the fun part.

Where is Vred anyway?

I need some more content.

• BornInDroopSt'54

I have to give it to Chris Grant, we've replaced some good footy folk with some good footy folk and have really brought in some specific skill sets that focuses on improvement and development. I agree with Rocket Science, Geary is likely to set a high benchmark for the players to reach.
                    So glad to agree.
                    Chris Grant was such a gifted and responsible player but this does not make a head honcho.
                    Despite losing a brownlow he lacked mongrel, all too fair perhaps.
                    Now he has shown real leadership and courage of his convictions.
                    Bravo Chris, a growing giant!
                    Footscray Football Republic.

Originally posted by BornInDroopSt'54
                      So glad to agree.
                      Chris Grant was such a gifted and responsible player but this does not make a head honcho.
                      Despite losing a brownlow he lacked mongrel all too fair perhaps.
                      Now he has shown real leadership and courage of his convictions.
                      Bravo Chris, a growing giant!
                      This is something I read often but it doesn't equate to the Chris Grant I saw play 300+ times. He'd run through a pack and slam opposition players, he'd often be first to fly the flag if one of our guys went down, he owned the nastiest pair of elbows I've seen and I wouldn't have liked to find myself between him and the ball.
                      Chris was/is a helluva nice guy but he did what was needed to be done to win a game of footy.

If you meant lacked mongrel in the fact of behind the play sniping yes he lacked it but he was hard in the play and extremely fair.
                        The loss of the Brownlow will always go down as a disgraceful act by the AFL to even look at it.

What?s old mate Vreds strike rate this off season? Would think he threw enough darts at the dart board to land one but doesn?t seem like it 
                          Any need for this sort of comment?

• BornInDroopSt'54

This is something I read often but it doesn't equate to the Chris Grant I saw play 300+ times. He'd run through a pack and slam opposition players, he'd often be first to fly the flag if one of our guys went down, he owned the nastiest pair of elbows I've seen and I wouldn't have liked to find myself between him and the ball.
                            Chris was/is a helluva nice guy but he did what was needed to be done to win a game of footy.
                            I defer to your reckoning thanks Twodogs.
                            Ok let us get our goal kicking straight this preseason assistant coaches!
                            Footscray Football Republic.

• Vred
                              • Nov 2018

What?s old mate Vreds strike rate this off season? Would think he threw enough darts at the dart board to land one but doesn?t seem like it 
                              When did BigFooty trolls start making their way here? Haven't posted here in a couple of weeks because I've been O/S for work but come back to see I'm living rent free in someone trolls head, good to know .

We were, as I'm told from someone who works at the club, in discussion with Dew about coming onboard but could not reach an agreement on salary, we were fairly down the line with him but ultimately the Dogs didn't want to pony up close-to-head coach levels of money for a senior assistant.

Short of showing you the text messages (I'm sure you'd say I faked them) that is basically word for word what I was told, and I' passed it on here, sorry for trying to bring some info to the board to discuss, I'll make sure to stfu from now on as it's clear no one can say anything without it being 100% correct at all times.

Peace.
                              [I][B]"Its always good to win the Ashes test match'' - Libba, AFL Grand Final, 2016[/B][/I]

Originally posted by Vred
                                When did BigFooty trolls start making their way here? Haven't posted here in a couple of weeks because I've been O/S for work but come back to see I'm living rent free in someone trolls head, good to know .

We were, as I'm told from someone who works at the club, in discussion with Dew about coming onboard but could not reach an agreement on salary, we were fairly down the line with him but ultimately the Dogs didn't want to pony up close-to-head coach levels of money for a senior assistant.

Short of showing you the text messages (I'm sure you'd say I faked them) that is basically word for word what I was told, and I' passed it on here, sorry for trying to bring some info to the board to discuss, I'll make sure to stfu from now on as it's clear no one can say anything without it being 100% correct at all times.

Peace.
                                Vred, hopefully you won't STFU. I enjoy the updates and thank you for your input to the site.