• always right

Re: Retirements, Trades, Delistings and the Rookie list

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
    If he hadn't shown improvement, he wouldn't be in the team. As soon as he stops improving, he will be dropped. I'm dead sure the people at the club are pretty serious about fielding the best players possible. We saw this with Grant. He was dropped like a hot potato and sent back to the gym. I'm dead certain they will drop Skinner just as fast if he slacks off.
    On this basis is doesn't matter if you play crap as long as it is marginally less crappy than the previous week.

I'm hoping the MC have simply said.....let's play him in the seniors where he has good players around him and see if he shows anything. On what I have seen the last three weeks, he has very little to work with.
    I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.

• LongWait
      • Sep 2009

Originally posted by metal
      I think some posters are looking at Skinner through a different prism. Clearly the MC are playing him to fast track his development even though he is not ready. The best way to improve his ability to cope with the tempo of the game, to learn how to lead and where to run, how to position himself and to learn what defenders do is to PLAY HIM in blocks of games.

If we look at Skinner throughout the prism of a development continuum and not through a judgemental one of where he is at now, we can arrive at a different conclusion about him.

Of course he is poor in many areas but that is not what this is about. It's about what he learns each week and whether he can implement any of it the next week.

Against Richmond I saw him lead more than he has before…and get in front…and get free kicks. Against the Swans he took a strong contested mark in the forward line. Each one of these represents small steps in his development.

I will be disappointed if the club move him on as it would mean we are looking at players as to how they are performing now and not how we can develop them. Nevertheless I can understand the club saying that there are better opportunities out there to develop…….and we need to go after the best available. But that is not an exact science is it?

I'd give him another preseason and then evaluate if the progress he has made is sufficient for an AFL footballer.
      Agree with your views here Metal: I think that the MC look at Skinner's upside potential and are prepared to give him every chance to develop.

Players with Skinner's potential (there's that dirty word again) are rare commodities and should not be discarded lightly. Team selection and list management are not dictated solely by the current performance levels of players.

• Ghost Dog
        • May 2010

Originally posted by always right
        On this basis is doesn't matter if you play crap as long as it is marginally less crappy than the previous week.

I'm hoping the MC have simply said.....let's play him in the seniors where he has good players around him and see if he shows anything. On what I have seen the last three weeks, he has very little to work with.
        As long as he's not going backwards. But then again, you are 'always right'

• always right

Originally posted by LongWait
          Agree with your views here Metal: I think that the MC look at Skinner's upside potential and are prepared to give him every chance to develop.

Players with Skinner's potential (there's that dirty word again) are rare commodities and should not be discarded lightly. Team selection and list management are not dictated solely by the current performance levels of players.
          What actually is his potential? What attributes do you think he has...apart from his ability to jump?

From what I've seen so far;
          1. he isn't quick
          2. he doesn't have great stamina
          3. he isn't strong
          4. he isn't a strong overhead mark
          5. he doesn't have a penetrating kick
          6. he isn't particularly agressive

I concede that he can fix 2 and 3 through hard work. I reckon he is starting off from a very low base in regard to the rest.

Don't get me wrong.....I want him to succeed. I just don't see what others seem to see. What attributes does he have that make him a better prospect than say Tom Hill who has yet to be given an opportunity?

• Missing Dog

Have also heard a rumour that Brett Mongomery is on the way out & Cameron Mooney is coming in as replacement. I'd be happy if that is true !!

From what I've seen so far;
              1. he isn't quick
              2. he doesn't have great stamina
              3. he isn't strong
              4. he isn't a strong overhead mark
              5. he doesn't have a penetrating kick
              6. he isn't particularly agressive

I concede that he can fix 2 and 3 through hard work. I reckon he is starting off from a very low base in regard to the rest.
              I'll bite simply because Skinner is an interesting player to discuss:

1. He's quick for his height and seems fairly agile
              2. Agree - he can improve but it will never be a strength
              3. Fixable
              4. He has woeful hands*
              5. Given time on the left he can load up - under pressure is another kettle of fish
              6. Agree

* Is the reason why I think he will struggle. He's dropped some sodas at AFL level and his ball handling under pressure is not good. At the top level where a fraction of a second in handling the ball can make a huge difference under pressure it is a massive concern.

He will get most of the way there, but for mine he needs to demnonstrate an ability to mark and handle the ball under pressure before we really factor him into our long term plans.

• always right

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
                As long as he's not going backwards. But then again, you are 'always right'
                It's an annoying user name isn't it? It was more designed for the Big Footy forum.

Originally posted by OLD SCRAGGer
                  Have also heard a rumour that Brett Mongomery is on the way out & Cameron Mooney is coming in as replacement. I'd be happy if that is true !!
                  Interesting, I never thought much of Mooney until he started (and still is) doing special comments on ABC radio.

Before he retired they interviewed him and it was very late in the season and it was just when Hawkins was starting to find form and become Geelong's number one tall target, and the commentry team were feeling sorry for Mooney and asking him are you sad that you won't get back in the team due to Hawkins form?

His response made me nearly fall of my chair, basically he said no way in hell, I couldn't be prouder and happier for Hawkins. We have been working closely and hard together to try and bring his game to the next level.

His repsone was genuine, you couldn't fake it.

Can he coach? No idea!

Originally posted by azabob
                    Interesting, I never thought much of Mooney until he started (and still is) doing special comments on ABC radio.

Before he retired they interviewed him and it was very late in the season and it was just when Hawkins was starting to find form and become Geelong's number one tall target, and the commentry team were feeling sorry for Mooney and asking him are you sad that you won't get back in the team due to Hawkins form?

His response made me nearly fall of my chair, basically he said no way in hell, I couldn't be prouder and happier for Hawkins. We have been working closely and hard together to try and bring his game to the next level.

His repsone was genuine, you couldn't fake it.

Can he coach? No idea!
                    Another mate of the coach

• Ghost Dog
                      • May 2010

It's an annoying user name isn't it? It was more designed for the Big Footy forum.
                      haha Nah, I like it. It encapsulates the egocentric football male poster perfectly! ( myself included from time to time! )

• Desipura

Speaking of the coach, a person I know who has worked at the club for a long time absolutely loves BMac as a coach, cannot speak highly enough of him.

Another mate of the coach
                          It is a fine line isn't?

It can be seen as jobs for the boys, but on the other hand if you feel they are the best people (we can affoard) for the job why not hire them.

Originally posted by azabob
                            It is a fine line isn't?

It can be seen as jobs for the boys, but on the other hand if you feel they are the best people (we can affoard) for the job why not hire them.
                            I still feel we need a really good experienced senior assistant, especially to help out on match day.

Gary Ayres?

Originally posted by ledge
                                Gary Ayres?
                                100-1.
                                A younger ex senior afl coach to be 2ic to McCartney?