Re: Retirements, Trades, Delistings and the Rookie list

Mate, I rate FB on many levels. Any interest groups contained within though, particularly aligned with football clubs will attract undesirables.

Twitter certainly isn't for me, especially when what's posted on Twitter fills up newspapers!
    Interesting, Im the other way.

Don't have a facebook account, but have a twitter account.

• Bulldog4life

Originally posted by Dry Rot
      Had a quick squizz and I suspect that the worst FB shit has now been removed.

However, anyone that spends time on FB or takes it seriously has had at least a lobotomy or serious shock treatment, or has a dreadfully low IQ.
      Agree entirely DR.

Originally posted by Maddog37
        Richmond, Melbourne.

They are players. Players come and go no matter what their background is.

The problem is we take speculative swipes at outrageously talented bush footballers and expect miracles. Fool me once(Thorne) shame on you, fool me twice (Zeph) yaddayadda yadda.......
        True, but then we took a 'moneyball' type option in Guy O'Keefe late in 2007 ND and that didn't work out either (due to f-wit factor of O'Keefe and his lack of commitment to addressing his physical limitations moreso than his talent level, which he could overcome at VFL level). Drafting continues to be an inexact science, but I concur that hail-mary plays like Skinner and Thorne are simply pissing draft picks (and more importantly, internal club resources and precious spots on the main list) down the drain.

• The Underdog

True, but then we took a 'moneyball' type option in Guy O'Keefe late in 2007 ND and that didn't work out either (due to f-wit factor of O'Keefe and his lack of commitment to addressing his physical limitations moreso than his talent level, which he could overcome at VFL level). Drafting continues to be an inexact science, but I concur that hail-mary plays like Skinner and Thorne are simply pissing draft picks (and more importantly, internal club resources and precious spots on the main list) down the drain.
          In what sense was O'Keefe a "Moneyball" pick. Wasn't he just a reasonable junior footballer who didn't work out for the reasons you've listed?

Originally posted by The Underdog
            In what sense was O'Keefe a "Moneyball" pick. Wasn't he just a reasonable junior footballer who didn't work out for the reasons you've listed?
            A natural footballer with physical limitations (no tank, one-paced) that Clayton assumed he would be able to overcome once in the system. Certainly knew how to play the game as evidenced by his superior form at the lower level.

• LostDog

I wouldnt be surprised if we see Zeph playing in a local league in Perth, I spoke with him last year at the Crown Perth he was there with Brad Dick, Nathan Krakouer and one of the Jetta's.
              Nathan is playing with Maddington under Derek Kickett lots of the Indigenous fellas from Perth want to play there Leon Davis is a regular there also.
              Its a different culture in WA, I have strong ties with the Indigenous communities here in WA
              Because you cant beat the boys of the BULLDOG breed!!!!!

Originally posted by LostDog
                I wouldnt be surprised if we see Zeph playing in a local league in Perth, I spoke with him last year at the Crown Perth he was there with Brad Dick, Nathan Krakouer and one of the Jetta's.
                Nathan is playing with Maddington under Derek Kickett lots of the Indigenous fellas from Perth want to play there Leon Davis is a regular there also.
                Its a different culture in WA, I have strong ties with the Indigenous communities here in WA
                Thanks LD. Let us know how he goes.

• Raw Toast

It has been better and worse in Perth than in Melbourne. Certainly back in the 80s and at least early 90s the racist abuse in the WAFL was greater than in Melbourne, at least that's what a number of Indigenous players said was their experience.

I think now though, there are better structures and support there than often here in Melbourne, for the Indigenous players from the North and West of Australia.
                  [SIZE="1"][B][CENTER][I]Although it broke our hearts it did not break our will[/I][/CENTER][/B][/SIZE]

• LostDog

I am an Indigenous Employment Recruiter over here in WA, and the happy go lucky attitude of the indigenous people you just cant help, football or big paying jobs it doesnt matter as family is more important to them.
                    I am actually a tassie aboriginal and related to Liam Jones we didnt get taught much about our culture and were raised white so no issues of cultural stuff, but in WA its different all together.
                    I could have reported Nathan Krakouer was gonna walk before he did, early October in Bunbury there is a Indigenous Football Carnival all the Noongar, Wongai and Yamtiji footballers play in it even the AFL guys, from that weekend on its party time for the next few weeks, Nathan just kept partying (I am friends with his cousin) plus these guys are like gods in there communities.

Thanks for sharing LD, really enjoyed reading that.

I am an Indigenous Employment Recruiter over here in WA, and the happy go lucky attitude of the indigenous people you just cant help, football or big paying jobs it doesnt matter as family is more important to them.
                        I am actually a tassie aboriginal and related to Liam Jones we didnt get taught much about our culture and were raised white so no issues of cultural stuff, but in WA its different all together.
                        I could have reported Nathan Krakouer was gonna walk before he did, early October in Bunbury there is a Indigenous Football Carnival all the Noongar, Wongai and Yamtiji footballers play in it even the AFL guys, from that weekend on its party time for the next few weeks, Nathan just kept partying (I am friends with his cousin) plus these guys are like gods in there communities.
                        Nice reading that Lost Dog. Thanks for your insight on the Indigenous communities.

• Maddog37
                          • Nov 2010

Thanks LD. interesting to read that type of info

Interesting stuff LostDog.

Thanks.

• LostDog

No worries fellas, it will be interesting next year now that the Dockers and Eagles have alligned themselves with WAFL Teams Peel and East Perth, lots of good Indig recruits will scatter about, more than likely Swan Districts