Whats our bigger issue?
Re: Whats our bigger issue?
I have more faith in Dalrymple hitting the mark than Clayton did. Thus far, I think Dalrymple's picks have been pretty solid (minus Howard).
We are suffering right now because Clayton stuffed up a hell of a lot from that 02-08 mark.W00F!Comment
This is one thing we can all agree on.
I have more faith in Dalrymple hitting the mark than Clayton did. Thus far, I think Dalrymple's picks have been pretty solid (minus Howard).
We are suffering right now because Clayton stuffed up a hell of a lot from that 02-08 mark.More of an In Bruges guy?Comment
I know it's early days but Clayton had 7 of the first 10 picks in 2010 and missed both Gaff and Heppell. Are there any tall KPP's that Clayton drafted to GC that are coming along well?"Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
Which holds us in good stead as long as we take the best couple of run and carry players available with our two first rounders. Assuming we bottom out and get picks 4 and 5, if you add a Pendles and a Fyfe with those two picks and Cordy, Roughy and Jones continue on with it then we've got a very strong list by 2015/16. Cooney, Griffin, Libba, Smith, Dahl, Pendles, Fyfe, Wallis kind of works for me as the foundation for a flag... Have to get it right and I seriously hope we are overinvesting in our draft analysis this year. It's as critical as anything we'll see on the field.Comment
We know whoever Macca decides to take in the draft will be hard and a good role model outside of footy.
So next draft if we are undecided on a choice of two those will be the deciding factors I would imagine.Bring back the biffComment
Neither have set the world on fire yet.Western Bulldogs: 2016 PremiersComment
Either way I think Fyfe would be great, Menzel looked good when he played and Pittard maybe.Comment
Probaby would still be at the kennel. Whist his recruting was a little hit and miss, he was a brilliant contract negotiator. We've certainly missed that skill in the last 3 years, either paying overs for some key players players or losing some altogether.
I know it's early days but Clayton had 7 of the first 10 picks in 2010 and missed both Gaff and Heppell. Are there any tall KPP's that Clayton drafted to GC that are coming along well?
Plus he is all about 'best available' with high picks, saving 'team balance' for poor picks, which I think is exactly arse about. Its certainly the most defensible philosophy to have for the recuriter himself, but its not the best for the team.
Anyway, we wont have that 'best available' conundrum this year at least - the lsit is overflowing with young talls and we depserately need some clasy mids, so the 'best available' is also likely to be the type of player we need.Comment
Fyfe was a good pick, but look at Dalhaus for a rookie pick. Sometimes players dont show what they can do until after draft day.Comment
Our biggest issue is getting the fans to the games. And once we are there we dont make enough NOISE!! I want to hear everybody fired up especially at a home game! I reckon the West Coast cheer squad was louder then all the bulldogs supporters we had there.. Lets get behind the boys we cant expect them to fire up and want to play if we dont have all the supporters behind them.
Then we can start picking on players and ask them the question why they arnt performing.
Dahlhaus gets a buzz when he hears the crowd roar when he gets the ball, dont see why its any different with any of the other players.Comment
We were looking for very good kicks of the ball as a first priority with Howard and Tutt -- this strategy might still pay off if you consider where our team is currently at.Comment
To me, our bigger issue seems to be the older players, will they be part of our next rise up the ladder, clearly now in a rebuilding phase.
Not sure about Gilbee, seems to be stuggling alot with the old mans injury, Crossy seems to be in danger with quite a few kids prepared to get their hands dirty [a good thing], Murph is still class but getting on, same with Gia.
Another issue may be, do we have too many fringe type players, DJ, Moles, Sherman [he's had one decent season at the Lions], Dickson [may be harsh but can notice definate limitations to his game], Markovic [very handy with the injuries to Williams and Morris, but again, more of a spare parts tall]. Addison, Vezspremi, Hooper.
Kicking for goal, especially our young tall forwards coming through, Grant seems to always be very hit or miss, Jones isn't that much better, Roughead [as a resting forward] can definatly take some nice grabs, but again seems to miss alot of goals, Panos is one that is a very good set shot, but will he be good enough to make the grade?Comment