Re: 2022 Draft Watch

Im all for live trading aggressively. But the other buyers, vendor and auctioneer can fight among themselves imo.

I trust Power 100%. But I’m not sold the value and the price are aligned.

I’d rather let Melbourne go hard at that pick, and be the main suitor for Sydney’s late firsts with Melbourne out of our way.

• The Doctor

What if Melbourne came for our pick 11?

what should we be asking?
      Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket

• Bulldog Revolution

Originally posted by Grantysghost
        Must admit I love everything about the draft these days. Maybe with the exception of the two nights.
        The draft over two nights is moronic - hate it

Good food for thought but perhaps we aren't enamored with the 10 to 14 range of players we have on our list and want to dip our toe in.
        Getting an outcome with Essendon won't be easy given their win screw approach to everything so I wouldn't put money money on it happening.
        Id imagine its more about who we want to jump up and grab, rather than not liking who is in our range.

Will Essendon really trade the pick? I doubt they will

• kruder

I wonder if its the go home factor of having Basslinger and Alan at out pick also. We have done pretty well with it so far but its always a risk.

I know the swans are very keen on Humphrey, they are also good judges I reckon he could make an impact straight away.

Originally posted by Mofra
            Doubt it, considering Melbourne's offer of pick 13 and two future picks was rejected by Essendon
            AFL.com are reporting that this might get the deal done for Melbourne

Melbourne has continued to show interest in the Bombers' selection, however, adding its pick 13 in this year's draft to the two future first-round choices as part of a swap of selections that would see it take Essendon's prized No.4 pick as well as pick 22.

• bulldogsthru&thru

Melbourne has continued to show interest in the Bombers' selection, however, adding its pick 13 in this year's draft to the two future first-round choices as part of a swap of selections that would see it take Essendon's prized No.4 pick as well as pick 22.
              That is a lot to pay for pick 4. Must be someone clubs really like there. Surely it's Humphrey.

• Dry Rot

With the two night format, how many picks are made tonight?

Originally posted by Dry Rot
                  With the two night format, how many picks are made tonight?
                  Just the first round. Everything else on night 2.
                  Rookie draft on Wednesday

Fox Footy

WESTERN BULLDOGS — JEDD BUSSLINGER

Position: Key defender
                    Size: 196cm, 82kg
                    Clubs: East Perth/Coolbinia/WA
                    AFL player comparison: Darcy Moore

A rangy 195cm defender who reads the ball superbly in the air and has great defensive nous and composure, Busslinger is widely regarded as the best tall back in this year’s talent pool. He made the All-Australian team — despite playing just two champs games after undergoing shoulder surgery — as he showed off his intercept, rebound and ball-winning abilities against Vic Metro and the Allies. Busslinger might take some time to mature physically at AFL level — especially after his shoulder surgery — but his height and footy smarts have recruiters excited about his potential.

In the mix: The word is the Dogs are weighing up between a key defender and a midfielder with their first pick — and they’re more likely to get a higher-quality defender with their first selection rather than their second-rounder (Pick 21). But if they go for a midfield/hybrid type, Oliver Hollands would be a strong chance to go should the Blues not pounce on him with the previous pick.

The Dogs have also put a lot of work into WA bolter Ed Allan, who was a standout at October’s national combine after an injury-interrupted 2022 campaign. If they opt for a different key defender to Busslinger, Lewis Hayes or Josh Weddle would be their best options.

There’s even been a few whispers top Tasmanian prospect Lachie Cowan — a rebounding defender in the Bailey Dale mould — is in the Dogs’ sights, but that could be more likely with their second-rounder.

SOLD! To the flog in navy blue and red sweater vest.

As far I see it, that pretty much has as the main buyer to Sydney’s First/s being sold. That’s more than fine by me.

• Dry Rot

Just the first round. Everything else on night 2.
                        Rookie draft on Wednesday
                        Thanks

• josie
                          • Oct 2012

SOLD! To the flog in navy blue and red sweater vest.

As far I see it, that pretty much has as the main buyer to Sydney’s First/s being sold. That’s more than fine by me.
                          Maybe that’s our real focus.
                          Josie :)

Our day will come
                          And we'll have everything.
                          We'll share the joy
                          Just like '54 again.

Originally posted by josie
                            Maybe that’s our real focus.
                            Could be. Looking at the draft order and future picks swapped already, I can’t see too much competition for Sydney’s picks if we decide we would like to live trade with them. The obvious competition was Melbourne. But if they’re selling the farm for Pick 4, then I guess Essendon could live trade those Future Firsts in get another first this year. But Pick 13, Davey (maybe a late first), brother Davey and maybe Munkara, and three firsts next year is a insanely strong draft hand so I’m not sure why Dodoro would want to deal with Sydney.

Not sure we will trade with Sydney. But if it’s an option, it’s nice to not have too much competition forcing up the buying price.

• kruder

Originally posted by The Doctor
                              What if Melbourne came for our pick 11?

what should we be asking?
                              That 2021 premiership?

• The Doctor

Originally posted by soupman
                                I don't love it. We have had two off seasons now of getting a super top end talent and the rest just being late picks. We have a chance of putting 2 or even 3 top 25 talents on the list this season and while i am all for grabbing a future star I'm worried when we look at Footscray again mid next year it'll be a bunch of maybes and safe bets again.
                                I'd do it for Sheezel.
                                Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket