replied
    Originally posted by mjp

He runs ok. Not fast but I wouldn’t have said slow.
    Matt Boyd managed okay down back without being super quick. If Sellwood can read it as well as you say he won't need to be lightning quick

Leave a comment:

• mjp
    replied
    Originally posted by Countrydog5

Thanks mate, sounds like he has the potential to come on. No mention of his pace, so it must be just "ok"? Sufficient enough to go along with his reading of the ball, but nothing standout?
    He runs ok. Not fast but I wouldn’t have said slow.

Leave a comment:

• josie
    replied
    Originally posted by mjp

Why has he been overlooked?
    - Seriously - because I have genuinely no idea what recruiters want sometimes. Sellwood is a good player. He was playing senior footy before his 19th birthday - as for that matter was Jack Cleaver who just had 29 touches as an inside mid on the weekend in a top of the table clash - in a very good WAFL side. Playing regular league footy for an aligned club is NO JOKE. Well - at West Coast it is ha ha. But there have been no free games given to this kid - Fremantle appoint the coach of Peel and the Freo guys play first. In terms of playing half-back he has been fighting for his position against experienced AFL players including Aish, Hughes, Worner, Cooper Simpson, Wagner...all guys who either have or are now playing AFL Footy...I mean, he might be the same age as Simpson but he's younger than all those other guys...

WAFL teams playing Peel have to PLAN for Sellwood. You guys are probably calling BS on me right now but please take it as read - WAFL teams playing Peel PLAN for Sellwood. The planning is the same as that done for the best intercept defenders in the AFL - yes, I'm talking the likes of Steward and Taylor. He is a freaking pain in the arse when it comes to moving the ball inside 50. He reads the play incredibly well and is both fearless with the ball in the air and in possession of a great set of hands. He kicks the ball "WELL" - he doesn't overdo it so I'm not exactly sure how good by foot he 'could' be if he started to bite it off, but he follows the Freo game plan and finds a target. I could probably look it up - I'm not gonna - but I will say his disposal numbers are 85% + efficiency and he would be the leading interceptor in the WAFL as a 21 year old...

You watch me be wrong on both those stats but he is a very good player.

What doesn't he do? Play on someone. He plays the footy, not his man. In the 2024 state game when SA dominated they hit up through Sellwood's man all day. ALL DAY. But they had domination of the ball around the stop/contest - this rarely to never happens to Peel (they won the GF last year, runners up the year before) and it would have been one of the few times in his life that he got picked apart in that way...

What's gonna happen at AFL level? Goodness knows. But:

- He is a very good player - excellent at what he does.
    - He is young.
    - He is 'FIT' - I basically never remember him missing games.
    - He is accustomed to pressure - playing in WAFL grand finals/finals...it's not easy. His side won the GF last year - good on them - but more than that they kicked 2-goals in the last 90-seconds of an elimination game to make it...the kid is ice cold with his skill ex (he marked at half back and hit the outlet to springboard their last attacking drive).

Why was Sellwood not on a list? Why is Cleaver STILL not on a list?? Well...there is always the 'DH' factor that seems to hang over these kids heads. Sellwood got himself in trouble during the 2024 pre-season (you guys can look it up) and who knows if that 'stuff' is part of who he is...who knows if it's just 20-year-old kids being peanuts because they don't know any better.

Anyway...
    Thanks K2K for Q I was gonna ask. And Thanks to mjp.

These insightful posts (lots in training thread & elsewhere too) are why woof is so damned good.

Leave a comment:

• Countrydog5
    replied
    Originally posted by mjp

- Seriously - because I have genuinely no idea what recruiters want sometimes. Sellwood is a good player. He was playing senior footy before his 19th birthday - as for that matter was Jack Cleaver who just had 29 touches as an inside mid on the weekend in a top of the table clash - in a very good WAFL side. Playing regular league footy for an aligned club is NO JOKE. Well - at West Coast it is ha ha. But there have been no free games given to this kid - Fremantle appoint the coach of Peel and the Freo guys play first. In terms of playing half-back he has been fighting for his position against experienced AFL players including Aish, Hughes, Worner, Cooper Simpson, Wagner...all guys who either have or are now playing AFL Footy...I mean, he might be the same age as Simpson but he's younger than all those other guys...

WAFL teams playing Peel have to PLAN for Sellwood. You guys are probably calling BS on me right now but please take it as read - WAFL teams playing Peel PLAN for Sellwood. The planning is the same as that done for the best intercept defenders in the AFL - yes, I'm talking the likes of Steward and Taylor. He is a freaking pain in the arse when it comes to moving the ball inside 50. He reads the play incredibly well and is both fearless with the ball in the air and in possession of a great set of hands. He kicks the ball "WELL" - he doesn't overdo it so I'm not exactly sure how good by foot he 'could' be if he started to bite it off, but he follows the Freo game plan and finds a target. I could probably look it up - I'm not gonna - but I will say his disposal numbers are 85% + efficiency and he would be the leading interceptor in the WAFL as a 21 year old...

What doesn't he do? Play on someone. He plays the footy, not his man. In the 2024 state game when SA dominated they hit up through Sellwood's man all day. ALL DAY. But they had domination of the ball around the stop/contest - this rarely to never happens to Peel (they won the GF last year, runners up the year before) and it would have been one of the few times in his life that he got picked apart in that way...

- He is young.
    - He is accustomed to pressure - playing in WAFL grand finals/finals...it's not easy. His side won the GF last year - good on them - but more than that they kicked 2-goals in the last 90-seconds of an elimination game to make it...the kid is ice cold with his skill ex (he marked at half back and hit the outlet to springboard their last attacking drive).

Why was Sellwood not on a list? Why is Cleaver STILL not on a list?? Well...there is always the 'DH' factor that seems to hang over these kids heads. Sellwood got himself in trouble during the 2024 pre-season (you guys can look it up) and who knows if that 'stuff' is part of who he is...who knows if it's just 20-year-old kids being peanuts because they don't know any better.

Anyway...
    Thanks mate, sounds like he has the potential to come on. No mention of his pace, so it must be just "ok"? Sufficient enough to go along with his reading of the ball, but nothing standout?

Leave a comment:

• whythelongface
    replied
    Great read MJP. Sounds like we have a good player on our hands. Hopefully he can make it at an AFL level. Sometimes you just need the opportunity.

Leave a comment:

• mjp
    replied
    Originally posted by Countrydog5

You mentioned you'd seen a bit of him mate? Do you think he has the attributes to impact at AFL level, and is there room for growth?
    Originally posted by kickit2Koly

Love the look of his highlights but what are the knocks on him? Why has he been past over until now?

- He is young.

Anyway...

Leave a comment:

replied
    Originally posted by doggies ftw

I agree with the sentiment in how most teams use the MSD but I disagree on Sellwood, I reckon he’s absolutely been picked up with an eye on filling a role this year. Bevo is not content with our small-med defenders, nor should he be, Doc, Bramble and to a lesser extent Cleary are our biggest weaknesses as a side by a mile right now
    Low key could probably add JJ into that bucket. Looks to be running on fumes. Every now and then he can get into top gear but it's rare to see now.

Leave a comment:

• doggies ftw
    replied

Outside of Essendon losing a batch of players and needing to find a couple a couple of quick fixes most clubs appear to use the MSD as a way trying to get a bit of a jump start on that years National Draft.
    I suspect that is exactly what we have done. Sellwood might get a game or two because he's a bit more advanced but a more realistic view is that we just get a good look at him at Footscray.
    Walker is probably not in contention for a senior game this year but we get him in early and help set-up him up for next year.

Currently we don't have a 3rd or 4th round pick at this years National Draft so bringing in Sellwood and Walker effectively helps fill those spots for us.

I don't believe we have drafted to fill any short term objectives or needs so it's going to be worth watching Footscray over the next few weeks to see hos the boys settle in.
    I wonder if Walker is used as a forward at Footscray despite being labelled as a defender.
    I agree with the sentiment in how most teams use the MSD but I disagree on Sellwood, I reckon he’s absolutely been picked up with an eye on filling a role this year. Bevo is not content with our small-med defenders, nor should he be, Doc, Bramble and to a lesser extent Cleary are our biggest weaknesses as a side by a mile right now

Leave a comment:

• kickit2Koly
    replied
    Originally posted by mjp

Sellwood is ready NOW. If he was putting up those wafl numbers in the vfl we would be screaming for his inclusion.
    Love the look of his highlights but what are the knocks on him? Why has he been past over until now?

Leave a comment:

• Countrydog5
    replied
    Originally posted by mjp

Sellwood is ready NOW. If he was putting up those wafl numbers in the vfl we would be screaming for his inclusion.
    You mentioned you'd seen a bit of him mate? Do you think he has the attributes to impact at AFL level, and is there room for growth?

Leave a comment:

• mjp
    replied
    I see Bevo has already fallen in love with his shiny new toy in Sellwood. You would have to expect a debut game sooner than latet

Leave a comment:

replied
    I see Bevo has already fallen in love with his shiny new toy in Sellwood. You would have to expect a debut game sooner than latet
    Oh? What's this based on?

Leave a comment:

replied

Leave a comment:

replied

Outside of Essendon losing a batch of players and needing to find a couple a couple of quick fixes most clubs appear to use the MSD as a way trying to get a bit of a jump start on that years National Draft.
    I suspect that is exactly what we have done. Sellwood might get a game or two because he's a bit more advanced but a more realistic view is that we just get a good look at him at Footscray.
    Walker is probably not in contention for a senior game this year but we get him in early and help set-up him up for next year.

Currently we don't have a 3rd or 4th round pick at this years National Draft so bringing in Sellwood and Walker effectively helps fill those spots for us.

I don't believe we have drafted to fill any short term objectives or needs so it's going to be worth watching Footscray over the next few weeks to see hos the boys settle in.
    I wonder if Walker is used as a forward at Footscray despite being labelled as a defender.
    I think you are right, both boys feel like they have been recruited for the longer term. Lots of clubs have recruited teenagers in the mid season draft.
    Hopefully Sellwood turns out to be similar to Davidson as a slightly more mature player and gets a go later in the year.

Leave a comment:

replied

Still reckon it's a big ask for immediate impact.
    For sure. But given Walker at our second pick 'immediate impact' isn't really an issue for us (North & West Coast on the other hand....)

Leave a comment: