2-3 makes sense with the “weaker” draft expected, we only have picks 10 & 28 currently, if we walk into the draft with our 1st, I still think we can grab someone to play as much as Hynes did this year.
then I assume just some other talent and then Will Darcy as a F/S
2025 List Management Thread
After some rookie upgrades we will only open up enough spots to draft 2 or 3 players.Leave a comment:
With 7 possible delistings,
I would expect 2-3 get delisted, while we likely lose Khamis in a trade and I assume JUH comes off our list as well?
so leaves us at 38 list spots.Leave a comment:
Just to keep track on the players we have been linked with via media sources.
Rowell*
Bergman*
Butters
Silvagni*
Eramus
Wehr
Budarick
T.Young
Wilkie
Ridley
* have either re-signed by their current club or have nominated someone else.
We have 7 players still out of contract.
Oskar Baker, Nicholas Coffield, Jason Johannisen, Liam Jones, Caleb Poulter, Anthony Scott, and Adam Treloar👍 1Leave a comment:
Just to keep track on the players we have been linked with via media sources.
Rowell*
Bergman*
Butters* Port have denied he will be traded
Silvagni*
Erasmus
Wehr*
Budarick
T.Young
Wilkie
Ridley
M.McGovern
* have either re-signed by their current club or have nominated someone else.
We have 7 players still out of contract.
Oskar Baker, Nicholas Coffield, Jason Johannisen, Liam Jones, Caleb Poulter, Anthony Scott, and Adam Treloar
Duryea has retired. Doubts on Marra and Khamis being at the club in 2026Last edited by GVGjr; 08-09-2025, 01:17 PM.👍 3Leave a comment:
What was the knock on Curtin? IIRC was he only playing as a defender?
He's the one that's hard to understand why we passed up. Early days Curtin was projected as top 5 but kept slipping, but he's bigger, faster, stronger, more versatile and a penetrating kick.
I know on exposed form Sanders went where he was anticipated to, but given clubs love the Curtin types, I find it interesting he slid a little.
Curtin was always a highly regarded talent. I can only expect the imminent Baz departure created that need for a mid as we were getting Croft as a taller player.👍 1Leave a comment:
He's the one that's hard to understand why we passed up. Early days Curtin was projected as top 5 but kept slipping, but he's bigger, faster, stronger, more versatile and a penetrating kick.
I know on exposed form Sanders went where he was anticipated to, but given clubs love the Curtin types, I find it interesting he slid a little.
He's just a good all round player. I can't recall any knock on him.👍 1Leave a comment:
I know on exposed form Sanders went where he was anticipated to, but given clubs love the Curtin types, I find it interesting he slid a little.Leave a comment:
I know on exposed form Sanders went where he was anticipated to, but given clubs love the Curtin types, I find it interesting he slid a little.👍 1Leave a comment:
I'm not that stressed and look at Sanders as a vastly improved player who's again not been given easy games like others of his ilk behind the footy or on the ball in a shite midfield. He's done it tough in the second rotation and in the hardest position in modern footy. And with Treloar and Libba on the way out, and Garcia just not being classy enough I reckon his inside opportunities will come quicker than some think. He just needs to get stronger and leaner this preseason like he did last.
We just need to coach the shit out of him and he'll return the favour, either by sticking with us or getting good enough to command a raft of good picks for his services. Hopefully his line coach hammers into him the fact he got lucky in not missing out on finals due to his late season lapses, and that he just can't afford to not be super fit and able to carry form throughout a full year as a third year player.
We ask a lot of young blokes these days, guys like Daicos and Sheezel have ruined it for everyone else (even if they did get to run about in defence in their first years racking up easy stats)!
Does he become better than nice, and we loose him.
We keep him, and he doesn't.
Lots to play out, but he is a good kid, I hope it works out for him either way.Leave a comment:
Probably unfairly, but the development of Sanders in the last 2 years has suffered in comparison to Freijah who was taken in the same draft. Sanders was the anointed one who was considered to be the golden ticket to our midfield regeneration - we traded up the draft to specifically get him (I don't think Watson was ever a realistic target as Hawthorn were going to get him a long way out from draft night - I'm sure we knew this). Freijah almost fell in our lap with Essendon bid on Lual at pick 39 (thanks for the parting gift Dodo), which allowed us to select Freijah at 43.
Sanders needs to use his elite foot skills more and also learn to leg-drive out of stoppage instead of taking the instinctive immediate handball option (often to a stationery target). He doesn't have enough hurt factor yet with his disposals - he is by no means a lost cause but he needs to keep working on aspects of his game to become a more damaging and rounded midfielder.
Leave a comment:
I think you're right about him. He needs intensive coaching. He's played some really encouraging games and then, as others have pointed out, he gets lost in play, looks confused and drifts out of the game. He needs discipline in his game whereby he does the right things instinctively. Whether he leaves or not for Tassie, we will benefit from focussing on his decision-making.👍 2Leave a comment:
In hind sight you pick Curtin every day of the week .
Sanders is a good neat footballer , but will he take that screamer and kick that 50 mt goal when needed ? , doubtful , but Curtin is the guy you could bank on doing just that .
Playing off the wing and driffting forward Curtin would be an instant upgrade on Sanders .
Even playing as that big mid Curtin has the attributes to be just about anything you need him to be .👍 1Leave a comment:
Leave a comment: