2025 Draft Watch
Louis Emmett and Liam Hetherton on sliding down draft boards
Sullivan Robey has dominated draft discussion after rocketing into top-five contention from obscurity.
But for every uplifting draft bolter like Robey, there is a prospect left anxious and disappointed as they tumble down draft boards.
Looking for your name in power rankings and not seeing it there.
Years of dedication striving towards an AFL dream that might not be realised, sometimes merely through a stroke of bad luck.
We spoke to two 2025 draft sliders about how they’ve handled their draft year.
Louis Emmett came into 2025 a top prospect. Picture:
NO.1 CONTENDER TO INJURY-HIT
Louis Emmett entered 2025 a No.1 pick contender along with Willem Duursma, Cooper Duff-Tytler, Zeke Uwland and Dyson Sharp.
Boasting remarkable athleticism as ruckman, the Oakleigh Chargers talent had lofty expectation on his shoulders after a dominant bottom-age season.
It included some ridiculous performance where he ran rings around the opposition.
In consecutive Coates Talent League games last year, Emmett registered 20 disposals, 20 hit-outs, eight clearances and a goal against the Sandringham Dragons, 17 disposals and four goals in a win over Eastern Ranges, and then a lazy 28 disposals, 20 hit-outs and two goals in a loss to GWV Rebels.
The 199 centimetre prospect also shone as a bottom-ager with Vic Metro, tallying 25 disposals and 14 possessions in an encouraging display up against a ruckman one year his senior in St Kilda big man Alex Dodson.
But this year injury and inconsistency meant he was unable to showcase his best to recruiters.
“I think last year reflects a bit of what I can do. But obviously I was hoping to go into my top-age year and even be better, because that’s sort of how it works. Like, you’re at the top of the chain,” Emmett said.
“And I was disappointed when I couldn’t do that with injuries and a bit of inconsistency.
“Lot of interruptions, lot of injuries, couldn’t really have that consistent sort of form that I really like for going into the start of the year. I had a lot of high expectations on myself with the draft.
“So it was frustrating, but a lot of learnings came out of it.”
First, the Scotch College student dealt with quad and muscle fascia issues through the pre-season that heavily interrupted his pre-season training.
From there his rotten luck continued.
“Then got into the season, a few random corks at the start of the year and then had that major hip flexor injury or strain probably after the second AFL academy game,” Emmett said.
Emmett (R) during the Marsh AFL National Academy Boys. Picture: AFL Photos
“Slipped over at school training and it was an eight-weeker. So a lot of rehab, a lot of time out, missed a lot of school footy.”
“Just a hip flexor strain, so that took me out for a long time, missed school footy, missed the first game of national champs.
“And then had to get on top of that to sort of get back and play my best footy.”
Understandably, Emmett didn’t stuff the stat sheet like he did last year, with his influence also impacted by spending more time forward.
He finished the year with a reminder of his talents – 14 disposals, 28 hit-outs, and two goals against the Calder Cannons – but even then, he wasn’t at full fitness.
“Straight after the hip flexor injury I rehabbed that, but that was still sort of there – you’re not going to be 100%,” Emmett said.
“So I didn’t really have a really good run at it, to be honest, which is pretty frustrating. But then again, I’m really keen to hit pre-season hard and build strength up in my body so I can set myself up for a good season – hopefully on an AFL list.”
For Emmett, who models his game on Fremantle star Luke Jackson, there are questions marks from clubs on his ability to impact as a forward, given his smaller given stature as a ruckman.
This has been another reason for his slide, with Emmett determined to hone his forward craft.
“I know I’m not going to be that big 205cm sort of ruckman who can play pure ruck,” Emmett said.
“They’ve got to be able to go forward and offer a chop out for the ruckman.
“And so I just want to be able to go forward and always improve my leading patterns, my bodywork and competitive marking and aerial marking.”
‘SICKENING TO WATCH’
Liam Hetherton looks out at the MCG turf at the draft combine.
The marking forward has kicked three goals on the hallowed turf in the U17 futures match on AFL grand final day in 2024.
That and an encouraging bottom-age CV saw him earn a spot in the AFL Academy as one of the better key forwards in the pool entering 2025.
“I was just talking about it with my mate the other day that it was the best day of our lives playing at the MCG, grand final,” Hetherton said.
Hetherton playing on the ‘G. Picture: AFL Photos
There hasn’t been too many smiles from Hetherton since then.
The North Albury product first felt some pain in his back while playing a practice match against the Bendigo Pioneers in the pre-season, playing out the game despite being hampered.
“Then every game from then on, it built up and then just became unbearable in the last couple of games,” Hetherton said.
Those ‘last couple of games’, the 198cm spearhead slotted a bag of five goals against the Bendigo Pioneers and followed it up with three goals, 14 disposals and six marks (three contested) against Northern Territory.
It brought his tally to 11 goals in three Coates Talent League matches, all while being significantly affected.
“I’d probably say I was about 70 (per cent), and then slowly went down to about 60-50, so around there towards the end,” Hetherton said.
Hetherton hasn’t been able to push his draft case this year. Picture: AFL Photos
Having been passed fit by specialists, Murray Bushrangers coach Mark Brown forced him to get a scan.
“Saw a few physios and then it was disregarded really. They said there’s nothing wrong, which made it a little bit more disappointing that I found out the hard way with my coach, Browny, actually was the one who made me get the MRI in the end,” Hetherton said.
“He said I wasn’t allowed to play unless I got one, so disappointing when I found out about that. And then obviously I was looking forward to peak at nationals, which was my big goal for the year, to really have a good nationals and stand out there.
“But it was cut short of that. So all my goals have been changed, and just focus on the small things and getting back as good as I can.”
Hetherton’s family, friends – including 2024 GWS draftee Phoenix Gothard – the Bushrangers and North Albury provided a strong support network as he diligently attacked his rehab.
He went down to watch one Allies game at Marvel Stadium, one of many long drives to Melbourne with his dad, Steve to see specialists.
But otherwise he was forced to watch the national championships at home, while his Murray Bushrangers teammate Harry Dean bolted into top-10 contention.
“It was pretty sickening to watch all the boys go out there, with all the hard work I’ve put in through pre-season and throughout the year to then be cut short of that, hurt a lot,” Hetherton said.
“But just continued to get around the boys and support them and wish them the best for the year.”
“I really lean on Phoenix Gothard, who used to go to my school too, we used to be in the same homeroom. And he’s been a really good person that’s supported me as well throughout my rehab.
“Me and dad came to Melbourne probably six to eight times throughout the rehab journey, see the doctor and everything. So (my parents) were probably my big support crew.
“And even down at the local club, one of my really good mates, George Godde, who did his ACL as well, we’ve been doing a lot of rehab together and continuing that journey.”
Meanwhile, Hetherton was reduced to kicking 10-20 metres with a partner, unable to run, and stuck at home on the weekends as his school mates enjoyed the fun of 18th birthdays.
“I’ve been alone with myself because I wasn’t allowed to travel, go out to parties. It’s pretty hard when you’re in your 18th year and a lot of people are going out and everything,” Hetherton said
“So with my rehab, being diligent with that and staying home and really sticking to my routine was the most important part. And then continuing to just do that and keep my consistency for the three, four months that I was out put me in really good stead.
“And to not take everything for granted, especially in footy with injuries and dealing with all that, so I think it’s been my big part of my journey.”
SOCIAL MEDIA SLIDE
As Hetherton was sidelined and Emmett injury-affected, other talented prospects boosted their draft standing.
And with draft content and social media more popular than ever before, draft rankings are almost unavoidable for prospects.
Consequently, Emmett and Hetherton saw their own names plummet down the order through little fault of their own.
“It’s pretty disappointing, honestly, to deal with all that,” Hetherton said.
“I tried to stay away from that.
“Had a lot of talks with the health and wellbeing around at Bushies and national academy too. So basically just stopped looking at all that stuff when I started to obviously notice the drops in the ranks and everything.
“Unfollowed all those accounts, just to clear my head more, have a better mental space with that. “
However, the social media algorithm has a mind of its own.
“First of all, sometimes you can’t even control it. You’re just scrolling on Instagram and you see it pop up,” Emmett said.
“So it’s like, jeez, I’ve unfollowed this account and it’s still popping up in my feed, so a bit annoying.”
Then there’s the eager parents and friends following your draft journey just as closely.
“(My parents) they used to go on Instagram and see the same stuff I do and go, ‘Aw, there’s my son’, or ‘Where’s my son at’, all that sort of stuff,” Emmett said.
“Obviously it wouldn’t affect me, but they always knew not to really talk about it. They just knew that it was pretty frustrating for me being injured and they’re very supportive.”
Blocking out the noise and focusing on the advice of those that matter most – coaches and AFL recruiters – is easier said than done.
But the social media slide Emmett and Hetherton have experienced has them better prepared if a draft opportunity comes their way.
“Unfollowing is probably the major one, just don’t even see it on your feed. But then again, it’s more the mental way of approaching it,” Emmett
“If you do see it, just don’t let it affect your brain, your confidence or anything. Just know that when you’re out there, you have a good output and just control the controllables.
“Initially, when I did sort of buy into sort of that external stuff, it was pretty frustrating. Like, I wasn’t even playing, so I couldn’t really do anything about it.
“But looking back, I learned a lot from this year. And one of those was to block out all the external noise and just control what I can control. So that’s the big one, really.
“Especially now, I just don’t really listen to that sort of stuff.”
RANKINGS VERSUS REALITY
Injuries can often take a toll. When a prospect is out of sight and out of mind, they can be easily forgotten – at least in the public conversation.
But the best AFL scouts can take this into account and project the improvement that could be to come.
Emmett and Hetherton haven’t made headlines this year and may not be in everyone’s top 30, but they are certainly still in the thoughts of clubs as they sniff a bargain.
The pair have met with every club except Gold Coast, with Hetherton meeting with 12 sides at the draft combine alone.
Port Adelaide and Geelong are among the clubs who could look at Hetherton in the back-half of the draft.
Hetherton even received words of reassurance from scouts during the year.
“Early on I had a few calls from the clubs and recruiters. Obviously, positive news saying ‘We believe you’ve done enough’,” Hetherton said.
“Some say, ‘We hope you’ve done enough’, but honestly, you don’t really know until the draft night, so it is obviously a bit worrying until that happens.
“But will just play it day by day and see what happens. But it’s pretty good news and feedback from the clubs surrounding that.”
Emmett has also had his concerns eased in his conversations with clubs.
“Clubs are really understanding of the injuries, because injuries are a part of the game,” Emmett said.
“And my injuries have been pretty unlucky, to be honest. Like slipping over, a few impact injuries, so it’s not really a problem related to stress or overload or anything.
“I’m not sure about (where I sit in) the pecking order, but they could definitely see me at one of their clubs, hopefully, in the future.”
Hetherton has been back running since September and should in full training by the end of December.
Meanwhile, Emmett showed off his running gifts at the combine with a blistering 2km time trial, finishing third overall with a time of 6 minutes 7 seconds behind midfielders Jack Dalton and Sam Grlj.
“I sort of shocked myself a little bit, because obviously I had a few injuries. Couldn’t really get a long training block in, only had four weeks,” Emmett said.
“And I wasn’t really sure how I’d go. I just sat at my PB pace and see how long I could hold it for.
“And honestly, I feel like I had more in me by the end of the race. Like, I wasn’t even that cooked, so maybe could have kicked a bit earlier.
“So maybe could have followed Jacko and Sammy Grlj. But can’t really say that now!” he added with a laugh. More Coverage
Highly-touted at the start the year, Emmett remains confident he can transform from a draft slider into a draft steal.
“I strongly believe that I have the ability to be at the top-end of the draft class,” Emmett said.
“And I know if I’m lucky enough to get to an AFL club, I can get there and work hard and outwork everyone in this draft class and maybe put myself up a few spots in a few years, let’s see what happens.”
Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"👍 2Comment
Thanks for all with insight for what you've been sharing.
I think bringing in one of Dovaston or Pickett is a good priority for us to have.
Lindsay doesn't appeal - we need a harder edge. You can argue about whether Clay Smith was the most talented guy available at his pick, but he was absolutely the right guy to help set standards on field. Is there anyone like Clay, in terms of mentality, that could be available?Comment
Clay was a throwback player when he was drafted, I seem to recall we were interested in Crozier that year as well who went a few picks later to Freo.Thanks for all with insight for what you've been sharing.
I think bringing in one of Dovaston or Pickett is a good priority for us to have.
Lindsay doesn't appeal - we need a harder edge. You can argue about whether Clay Smith was the most talented guy available at his pick, but he was absolutely the right guy to help set standards on field. Is there anyone like Clay, in terms of mentality, that could be available?
There would be plenty of players who have a harder edge but few would be like Smith.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"👍 2Comment
I think it's probably due to overall production. He's got really nice attributes (although his kciking is a little rudimentary), but he hasn't demonstrated the ability to dominate games. Also at his height, he's probably not a number #1 ruck at AFL level.
I actually like him as a key defensive prospect.
On another note, I want us to stay away from Lindsay and to take Thredgold. He's the key defender we need.👍 3Comment
With Smith making the progress he has this year do we need another ruckman to bide his time in the seconds waiting for an opportunity that may not come for 2 or 3 years , or do we use that draft pick on a player that maybe ready to play senior football earlier ?.
List spots are becoming more valuable , so do we draft for the future or do we draft for a player that will break into the side early ? .👍 1Comment
I don't believe the fact he's from Tassie and they're close to bringing in a side will scare off the recruiters.
He apparently is prepared to commit to any club that drafts him.
Looks to be an exciting player and plenty of upside.
He's got some AFL traits about him.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
Yeah. If we think Smith will make it and be an injury back up for Tim then best to use the pick for more immediate needs. Do you think Smith could be the long term replacement for Tim, a top level AFL ruck? Or do we need a major talent we can spend a few years preparing for when Tim retires? May still be a bit early for that consideration though I guess.
With Smith making the progress he has this year do we need another ruckman to bide his time in the seconds waiting for an opportunity that may not come for 2 or 3 years , or do we use that draft pick on a player that maybe ready to play senior football earlier ?.
List spots are becoming more valuable , so do we draft for the future or do we draft for a player that will break into the side early ? .👍 1Comment
Picking up another young developing ruck would be an unwelcome surprise imo.
I generally think you should be hesitant about drafting them as 18 year olds. Their first few years are such low output as to be useless, and there is little upside to clogging up your list with a skinny beanpole when you can just grab one from another club who has already put the work in for a future 3rd.
Considering we also have chosen to run very thin for backup ruck options in the past it would be a real change of list approach to double up on developing rucks now.I should leave it alone but you're not right👍 2Comment
Chris Cavanagh has updated his Phantom Draft
Pick 17#
image.png
JOSH LINDSAY
183cm Defender/Midfielder, Geelong Falcons
Drafted: WESTERN BULLDOGS
We say:
The Bulldogs are looking closely at halfbacks, having also been linked to Jacob Farrow, Oskar Taylor and Lachlan Carmichael. But Lindsay might be their man if he gets past the likes of Melbourne and Greater Western Sydney. One of the best kick’s in the draft pool with a laser-like left-foot, he has drawn Christian Salem comparisons and showed this year that he can be a damaging player with his ball use and run and carry off halfback. Scouts had Lindsay pegged as a top-10 prospect earlier in the year, but have been some questions over his athleticism and ability to play other roles. Still, what he is good at would excite the Dogs, who would pack some real halfback punch by pairing him with Bailey Dale over coming years.
Pick 29#
image.png
MARCUS KRASNADAMSKIS
201cm Ruck, Eastern Ranges
Drafted: WESTERN BULLDOGS
We say:
This is another Ranges product who could be a bolt from the blue. Rival clubs believe the Bulldogs are eyeing Krasnadamskis, who shapes as a potential second-round surprise. Krasnadamskis was playing state-level basketball last year before deciding to switch his attention back to football this season. He made a mid-season debut for the Ranges in the Coates Talent League and served as the side’s No. 1 ruckman for the remainder of the year, showing himself to be an athletic and mobile player who glides across the ground, can jump and follows up well at ground level including by applying pressure. Krasnadamskis’ efforts at the Victorian state draft combine only further elevated his standing as he shone in the vertical jump and 20m sprint tests. He is more of a long-term project player, but one who has the potential for a big pay-off. Some recruiters wouldn’t be surprised to see him taken in the 20s amid a surge in interest and this looms as the Bulldogs’ only other pick outside of father-son prospect Will Darcy.
Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"👍 2Comment
A few things about Krasnadamskis.
He tested very well in the State Combine.
This included the Vertical jump, both the left and right Running Vertical jump and in the 20mt sprint.
He only re-joined the Ranges during the season
Late in the the season he probably got the better of Copper Duff-Tytler in one match.
As soupman indicated it's a surprise we are apparently interested in a ruck man and especially someone we will have to put a lot of development intoWestern Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"👍 1Comment
Even more surprising when we already have Croft and Smith as long term tall projects, and Will Darcy coming in as another long term tall project. How many talls who aren't ready for AFL can a finals contender carry on their list?👍 1Comment