Re: Coronavirus Info & Helpful Direction

Who's working from home now? We have 50% of our team working from home each day and of course the other 50% is in the office
    Daily conference calls and plenty of communications throughout each day.
    I am as of yesterday. I think I'm getting more done than normal. Less interruptions, no pointless meetings.

Who's working from home now? We have 50% of our team working from home each day and of course the other 50% is in the office
      I have been working from home for almost 14 years now. Lucky I have some ongoing clients at this stage to keep the dollars ticking over, but getting new clients is a challenge as they are not in the mood to take on a new project. My wife was home the last two days, and may revert to full time at home from next week.

I'm at home, my partner is working 3 days a week (in a hospital!) and we have a school aged son. Keeping him occupied is my biggest challenge right now.

Yep. Not allowed in the office now. Video standups in the morning now which isn't too far from normal given our manager is in Sydney

• Topdog

Been WFH for the past 2 weeks now. Its going pretty well, 3 kids makes it hard at times

Originally posted by Topdog
              Been WFH for the past 2 weeks now. Its going pretty well, 3 kids makes it hard at times
              What is the range of ages?

WFH for the last week, but I can get to our office in Collingwood pretty easily from where I am in Richmond and it's normally deserted. However, given the situation I won't be going anywhere I don't really need to.

Definitely one of the lucky ones at the moment but I'm not expecting that to last. It was really sad seeing the massive lines out the front of the Centrelink/Medicare building the other day just around the corner from me. Seeing police enforcing the 1.5m rule among folks queueing up to see what benefits they're entitled to is definitely something that will stick with me for a while (not bagging the police here).

Administrator

My boss rang me this morning and said "can you cover this shift?" and is so used to me saying 'yes' that she had already put me down for it. She wasn't expecting me to say "Are you kidding? Even if we make the entire 4 hour shift internal then the other workers and I are unnecessarily exposing the residents to covid19" "I will take clients to really, really important medical appointments-but otherwise they are pleading with us to stay inside for a reason"

Woolworths hiring another 20,000 people.
                    We just took on 70 and have opened up night shift for at least a month, it’s casual contract for a year they have offered, which is probably perfect for people who will go back to their own jobs when it’s over.
                    I’m doing the nightshift it pays well if you can get into a DC.

• Ozza

Originally posted by ledge
                      We just took on 70 and have opened up night shift for at least a month, it’s casual contract for a year they have offered, which is probably perfect for people who will go back to their own jobs when it’s over.
                      I’m doing the nightshift it pays well if you can get into a DC.
                      Do you mind me asking what sort of industry you're in?
                      Great to hear of 70 ppl getting taken on. Any time I hear of companies taking on people right now - it is great news. Even if only temporary to get some folks through.

• Max469

WFH starting yesterday. By end of next week we will have almost 5000 employees Australia wide who will be WFH. Systems very slow. One of the lucky ones to still have a job and that is all that matters at the moment.

Stay safe everyone
                        [B][FONT="Book Antiqua"][COLOR="DarkOrchid"][I]I bleed Red,White & Blue[/I][/COLOR] [/FONT][/B]

• Bulldog4life

I was semi retired now retired full time. My wife's sold her share in a vintage shop recently so now we are hibernating. We both having underlying health conditions so apart from walking the dog and grocery shopping we are home. No visitors, even our 3 girls and 3 grandchildren unfortunately. We also have sold our home recently and in June are moving to Agnes Water in Queensland so that should be fun moving over the border. Hope all on WOOF stay very very safe. It is a crap time for all Australians...I should say the world.

Administrator

Originally posted by Ozza
                            Do you mind me asking what sort of industry you're in?
                            Great to hear of 70 ppl getting taken on. Any time I hear of companies taking on people right now - it is great news. Even if only temporary to get some folks through.
                            Correct me if I am wrong but Im pretty sure ledge works at the Coles distribution warehouse at the end of the road that runs up alongside the Merv G. Hughes oval up where Footscray Community College is and Kinneras Rope Works used to be.

I'm tipping Woolies

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
                                I was semi retired now retired full time. My wife's sold her share in a vintage shop recently so now we are hibernating. We both having underlying health conditions so apart from walking the dog and grocery shopping we are home. No visitors, even our 3 girls and 3 grandchildren unfortunately. We also have sold our home recently and in June are moving to Agnes Water in Queensland so that should be fun moving over the border. Hope all on WOOF stay very very safe. It is a crap time for all Australians...I should say the world.
                                Look after yourself mate. Hope you get to see your family soon.