• The Adelaide Connection

Best Eats in Melbourne

As a pretty frequent visitor I have a pretty good feel for Melbourne, but would love to have some suggestions on where people think are the best cafe/restaurants.

As someone who is pretty passionate about breakfast, the two suggestions I would put forward are:

Tropicana, Elizabeth Street City. Have been going to this place for years. The English bloke that runs it is energetic, passionate and the place has an excellent selection of All day Breakfast/light lunch options. But the real drawcard are the juices and smoothies. Try the "South American" juice with a "Big Deal" (comes with Bacon, Eggs, Sausage, Beans, Tomato and Turkish Bread, and either a Large juice or a small juice and tea/coffee). Think its about $13 or $14. They also do "Not so big deals" for those with a smaller apetite. Great place.

Gridhouse, Carlisle Street St. Kilda. Ate here a few times last weekend and their breakfasts are first rate. Went with a group of friends and we all had something different and it was all gold. Would probably go the Pancakes or the Bacon & Eggs et al. Not sure what business the Vego Nasi Goreng has on the breakfast menu, but that is probably the only foot wrong this place makes
    Nice little alfresco area out the back and booths inside. Cant go wrong.
  • Missing-Dog

Re: Best Eats in Melbourne

Pepper in Pin Oak Crescent in Flemington is good for breakfast/lunch coffee etc, it is very accessible to public transport as Newmarket station is opposite and the 57 tram stops near by as well.

The Roti Man in Middle Park is awesome if you are a fan of Indian/Malay food.

Also the Town Hall hotel in Errol Street, North Melbourne -YUM!
    Last edited by Missing-Dog; 31-03-2010, 11:03 AM. Reason: ,..

• Rocco Jones

You have stolen my thunder NoName, I love Pepper, fantastic atmosphere. Pepper has a Pizza night on Wednesday nights, with a beer and a pizza for $10. Living in Flemington, we are blessed with a few good cafes.

Town Hall Hotel is lovely, great meals. Did you ever go to their Sumo nights in the bar on Wednesday nights a few years back? I think you have inspired me to have dinner there tonight. Either that or the cheap pizza.

The Pickle Barrel in Williamstown has fantastic coffee and good breakfast, my partner their scrambled eggs. The Corner Shop in Yarraville has impressed me when I have been there, I liked anywhere that has great baked eggs. It has the former owner of La Chien.

Chop Chop is a bit of a hidden gem for me in Racecourse Rd, Flemington. Located in a bit of a dingy arcade, opposite the always busy Laksa King. Fantastic Chinese and decently priced.

Thaila Thai, Lygon St (Brunswick end)

Best value Thai in Melbourne (in my opinion). Fresh, delicious and cheap - a Pad Thai and Green Curry, with some rice to share will set you back less than $20.

It's always packed to the brim with punters looking for an easy feed, and you may have to wait a couple of minutes for a seat, but it's always worth it.

When finished, you can walk a couple of doors up to the gelati bar and end the night with a dessert.

Tom Phat, Sydney Road

If you're looking for a different type of breakfast, this Asian restaurant is fantastic. The Roti Omelette is a staple - a mixture of scrambled eggs, bacon, herbs and roti bread.

A cool, hipster vibe and a kicking soundtrack make it a nice place to spend a lazy Sunday morning.

Originally posted by comrade
          Thaila Thai, Lygon St (Brunswick end)
          Was a favourite haunt of my wife and I when we were living in Brunswick in the early 00's.

The Wild Yak is a Tibetan restaurant in High St Northcote (it used to be in Smith St Collingwood) that does a cracking good cheap eat. If you are like me and are into fiery hot chillies, they do this ripper fried chicken wing dish full of onions, chillies and coriander that packs a lot of heat. Most mains are around $10. Then grab a drink up the road at the Northcote Social Club (hopefully with a gig on) and your job is done.
          Last edited by Sedat; 31-03-2010, 04:22 PM.

• mighty_west
            • Feb 2008

Best Chinese restaurant EVER...like ever ever has to be Panda's in Glenferrie Rd Kew, used to go there alot when we lived in that area.

The Lion Dance in Willy is also very good.

Boys For Brekky in Mornington [for those around the Peninsula] makes the best poached eggs, sausages & baked beans brekky.

The Pig & Whistle in Red Hill is also very good, the atmosphere very chilled, relaxed, meals are nothing out of the ordinary, but with a few friends, cold beer, outside in the garden area, very nice place to spend a lazy sunday arvo.

• Rocco Jones

Tiamo in Lygon St is another one of my favourites. A true Italian cafe restaurant. Very hard to get a table at times though and they don't take bookings.

The Station in Footscray offers great pub meals. They offer both pub meals and fine dining. Their burger is sublime.

+ 1 for Wild Yak, in fact most of the food on High St Northcote is top notch. Wild Yak is also great if you are looking for food that is cheap and healthy.

For some good Japanese:

Wabi Sabi Salon, Smith street Collingwood - japanese tapas style at night and bento boxes for lunch
                Momotaro Rahmen, Bridge Rd Richmond - fantastic Japanese noodle soups at bargain basement prices

• The Adelaide Connection

Cheers for that guys. Looks like I have a few places to get crossed off. Hopefully this thread continues to grow, I find Melbourne can be the sort of place where an epic place sits next door to a place that is rubbish and prices will be identical, so it is good to have any sort of heads up you can.

You guys are pretty lucky, the restaurants up here are nothing flash(apart from my deli/cafe which is awesome). So I'm happier just to cook the meal myself.

When I get to go out in Melbourne I love a walk down China Town, lots of options there.

Haven't been to restaurants lately but for those who live in the area here is a recommendation: Piccolino's Restaurant, Blackburn Road, Glen Waverley.
                      Last edited by Eastdog; 20-05-2012, 11:55 PM.

Originally posted by Rocco Jones
                        You have stolen my thunder NoName, I love Pepper, fantastic atmosphere. Pepper has a Pizza night on Wednesday nights, with a beer and a pizza for $10. Living in Flemington, we are blessed with a few good cafes.

Town Hall Hotel is lovely, great meals. Did you ever go to their Sumo nights in the bar on Wednesday nights a few years back? I think you have inspired me to have dinner there tonight. Either that or the cheap pizza.
                        Love Flemington (just around the corner in Kensington), visit Laksa King at least once a week, the mix & match meal at Old Town Kopitiam is excellent value, and have given Vy Vy a flogging over the years too.

Townie is an old favourite, was practically my living room a few years back (and I play footy for them too )

Cafe Lalibela in Irving Street, Footscray, for Ethiopian cuisine. They've got some great Ethiopian beers as well - try the St. George. Lots of options for both vego's and us carnivores. If you haven't tried Ethiopian before, give it a go at Lalibela.

Attica.

Originally posted by chef
                              Attica.
                              Good Choice.