• FrediKanoute

Re: Icc cricket world cup 2015

Yep. Looking forward to see him bowl in England. 151 never but Starc on a hatrick at the death put the cat amongst the pigeons...

• lemmon

Can't wait to dig up a replay for this one. I wouldn't be throwing the baby out with the bathwater though, Faulkner is still to come in to the XI and I imagine we'll be seeing Bailey in for Watson with Smith to 3 which looks like a far more balanced side.

How long before David Warner comes under pressure? It's easy to assume Test and T20 form will translate onto the ODI arena but this is a man who averages 32 with 3 hundreds from 56 ODIs

Originally posted by lemmon
        Can't wait to dig up a replay for this one. I wouldn't be throwing the baby out with the bathwater though, Faulkner is still to come in to the XI and I imagine we'll be seeing Bailey in for Watson with Smith to 3 which looks like a far more balanced side.

How long before David Warner comes under pressure? It's easy to assume Test and T20 form will translate onto the ODI arena but this is a man who averages 32 with 3 hundreds from 56 ODIs
        Starc's bowling was fantastic today and he nearly won it for us. Those last two wickets with yorkers was just brilliant.

His inswinging yorkers at 150km were magnificent but I reckon the best ball he bowled all day was the hostile bouncer at Ronchi's head that nearly knocked him into next week. That was a nasty and hostile ball at searing pace that Ronchi did well just to avoid and get a feather of a glove on it.

Yes that was a ripper as well.

Too bad Cummins ball was hit for a six, it could have been the greatest one day victory of all time.

• dog town

Not sure why but Warner seems to completely lose his shape when he is playing in ODI format. His front leg goes almost to the leg side even when playing through cover. He simply doesn't need to go that hard. If he plays cricket shots as he does in the test format he will still score at a run a ball. With the field up he needs to just play regulation shots.

• whythelongface

Starc would have to be the most improved bowler in world cricket. That was an absolutely scintillating spell by him to drag us back into it. Serious pace with swing in the air makes for a devastating combination.
                If only he could bowl like that in the longer form of the game. But agree he was brilliant and looked unplayable at times.

Yes that was a ripper as well.

Too bad Cummins ball was hit for a six, it could have been the greatest one day victory of all time.
                  I reckon over in NZud they probably think it was.

You are probably right. It was funny they spent the day laughing and carrying on and generally being smart alecks. The look on their faces when Starck got those last two was priceless.

That's why cricket is such a great game. Even in it's worse format it can produce finishes like that. Even though I was at the footy and missed it.

Good to see Warner bashing up Afghanistan. Nothing like a minnow to get a poorly performed bat back into form.

Really?

2 hundreds in his last 6 innings. 2 hundreds and 2 50's in his last 12 ODI innings, and only 3 scores under 20. All but today against South Africa, England, NZ, and India.

That's why cricket is such a great game. Even in it's worse format it can produce finishes like that. Even though I was at the footy and missed it.
                            I was also at the Footy, I watched the highlights.

I didn't even know it was so close. I knew we'd made 151 and when I left for the footy NZ had mini collapsed to 4/74? Anyway we were still in with a chance because we'd ckawed the momentum back. But I saw 152 next yo NZ and was to disappointed to bother checking how many wickets they had lost. Imagine my surprise when I read the match report the next day.

Originally posted by Greystache
                                Really?

2 hundreds in his last 6 innings. 2 hundreds and 2 50's in his last 12 ODI innings, and only 3 scores under 20. All but today against South Africa, England, NZ, and India.
                                I thought he looked ordinary and well out of sorts against NZ, while I was told he wasn't flash against England either (though I didn't see the game). My comments were specific to the World Cup.